Options for an oil burner

Status
Not open for further replies.
A friend of mine has a 2011Toyota Prius 3 : 2ZR-FXE : 1.8L 4 cyl. with 95k on it. He’s having to add about 1 quart every 900-1000 miles, it holds 4.4Qts of Ow-20. Second owner at 50k. He says there are no leaks he can see on the driveway or elsewhere. From what he’s told me it sounds like the engine has always been driven very easy, all low rev’s. I’m no mechanic but it sounds like carbon / gunk formed on the piston rings or ring lands. The way they get driven it seems like destiny. Any options for him ? I’ve heard the Kroil application mentioned in the past. Thanks

Get a leakdown test and find out exactly what is worn. Next best option is a compression test. Perhaps consider using a 0w30 like Amsoil or even a 5w30 to slow the oil consumption rate.

If there are no drips on the ground then he needs to look at rings, stem seals, guides and PCV.
They're the only places the leak can happen.

Mechanical repairs > bottled snake oil.

Edited this after reading (below) that there was a recall. Get that done first IMO!

Toyota has updated piston rings for this issue. Not sure if they extended the warranty like they did on the 2.4l engine

There is a TSB on this.

Long story short - defective pistons and rings need to be replaced.

A friend of mine picked one up last year for very cheap to find out later why it was so cheap.

Oh man, he’s not going to like that. Sounds like people past the warranty are on their own. Maybe I’ll have him start with the PCV valve and see what happens from there. It’s probably never been changed. There are also people posting about using 0W-40 with some success. I didn’t realize so many Toyota’s were oil burners.

my neighbour's toyota yaris has the same problem, she is out of warranty and simply can't afford to fix the engine. it drank oil like a freshman at a keg party

I changed the oil and put in a HDEO CJ 15w40 and the oil consumption stopped entirely