Recent Topics
MG 201-7, 7,500 MILES CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 09/25/18 04:44 PM
MG 301-1, 10,800 miles CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 09/25/18 04:34 PM
Anyone regret their electric OPE?
by dlundblad. 09/25/18 04:21 PM
Which Performance Filter?
by rooflessVW. 09/25/18 03:33 PM
Optimal Compression Ratio for 91 Octane Fuel
by NICAT. 09/25/18 02:01 PM
Anyone used Amsoil DZF 0w40 ?
by ofelas. 09/25/18 01:33 PM
No more Turo - What now?
by dogememe. 09/25/18 01:08 PM
Military small arms ammo
by Camprunner. 09/25/18 12:03 PM
Pennzoil must not be selling , OR ?
by Kjmack. 09/25/18 11:51 AM
New black car, light swirls and water spots
by Redright9. 09/25/18 11:37 AM
Rust Belt vs Sun Belt cars
by ZZman. 09/25/18 11:33 AM
Enginer rebuilder's view of GDI intake issues
by Brigadier. 09/25/18 11:09 AM
Oil for '84 Caddy w/HT-4100
by StillLearning. 09/25/18 10:41 AM
Interesting video of diff with clear cover
by mrdctaylor. 09/25/18 10:15 AM
The death of American footbal
by Brigadier. 09/25/18 10:01 AM
Tire leaking from bead/rim
by Brybo86. 09/25/18 09:39 AM
2000 4Runner 3.4L
by ka9mnx. 09/25/18 08:59 AM
Newest Members
Peppz, Jfa02, ibsfusion, Fearcat707, Perseo
66069 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
100 registered members (Audios, 28oz, 53' Stude, Ablebody, ad244, 2004tdigls, 8 invisible), 1,548 guests, and 33 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics291,000
Posts4,854,146
Members66,069
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. #4567995
11/08/17 04:47 PM
11/08/17 04:47 PM
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 753
Specific Ocean
Kibitoshin Online content OP
Kibitoshin  Online Content OP
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 753
Specific Ocean
Welp after owning my SB6190 for a year it's time to upgrade again since I received a notice from TWC that 1Gbps internet speeds are available in my area. It also noted that I need a DOCSIS 3.1 modem despite the SB6190 supporting 1.2Gbps speeds (D3.1 uses narrower channel spacing so it requires a different tuner hardware, etc.)

Right now there are only 3 DOCSIS cable modems out from ARRIS, Netgear and Motorola and they use a Broadcom chipset vs the old Intel Puma chipset which some people are claiming it's problematic.

Since I'm familiar with ARRI's products I'll pickup their SB8200 and slap a fan on it and we'll see if I can reach those delicious gigabit speeds.


Shin Gekiretsu Shin'ou'hou
01 Toyota Tundra 2WD V8 4.7L - 170k mi
02 Chevy Silverado C1500 V8 5.3L 154k mi
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4568011
11/08/17 04:59 PM
11/08/17 04:59 PM
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 459
Brunswick, GA
xshoex Offline
xshoex  Offline
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 459
Brunswick, GA
May I ask what you do/ why you need or desire a speed that high? Just curious. I have comcast 25mb plan and that's probably to much for me by myself lol


11 Sorento 3.5 87k Napa Syn 5w30 & Beck Arnley
00 BMW 323i e46 143k CarQuest Euro 5w40 & MANN
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4568025
11/08/17 05:12 PM
11/08/17 05:12 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,747
Ontario, Canada
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,747
Ontario, Canada
My dad is using the Motorola Docsis 3.1 and is happy.


'18 Highlander - AMSOIL SS 0w20 / ATF / Severe Gear
'06 Santa Fe - 535,000km AMSOIL SS 0w30 / ATF (R.I.P)
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4568081
11/08/17 05:58 PM
11/08/17 05:58 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 14,424
Silicon Valley
PandaBear Offline
PandaBear  Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 14,424
Silicon Valley
From what I heard if you want to stream 4K HDTV you will need a very high speed.


"You keep asking questions PandaBear and you'll end up a vegetarian like my wife" - Camu Mahubah
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: PandaBear] #4568084
11/08/17 06:03 PM
11/08/17 06:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 560
MN
14Accent Offline
14Accent  Offline
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 560
MN
Originally Posted By: PandaBear
From what I heard if you want to stream 4K HDTV you will need a very high speed.


4k on Netflix or Amazon will stream fine with a 25 meg connection, better with 50+.


2013 Chevrolet Volt - Saves enough in fuel to pay for itself!

2003 Cadillac Seville STS - The winter "beater", it uses the Volt's fuel
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4568088
11/08/17 06:06 PM
11/08/17 06:06 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,434
Illinois
javacontour Online content
javacontour  Online Content
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,434
Illinois
300mb down and up is fine. I have AT&T gigapower and I didn't need to go with the full 1gb.

And oilBabe is big into streaming...
I d/l patch sets and software that runs in the multiple gbs.

Such speeds are nice for work at home scenarios.


network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: PandaBear] #4568132
11/08/17 06:55 PM
11/08/17 06:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,747
Ontario, Canada
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,747
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: PandaBear
From what I heard if you want to stream 4K HDTV you will need a very high speed.


I do it on a 50/10 VDSL connection that is always busy with network traffic but I do it with good quality gigabit switch and PFSense router, not consumer stuff which has consistently let me down.

Last edited by StevieC; 11/08/17 06:56 PM.

'18 Highlander - AMSOIL SS 0w20 / ATF / Severe Gear
'06 Santa Fe - 535,000km AMSOIL SS 0w30 / ATF (R.I.P)
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: xshoex] #4568152
11/08/17 07:24 PM
11/08/17 07:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 753
Specific Ocean
Kibitoshin Online content OP
Kibitoshin  Online Content OP
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 753
Specific Ocean
Originally Posted By: xshoex
May I ask what you do/ why you need or desire a speed that high? Just curious. I have comcast 25mb plan and that's probably to much for me by myself lol


Just for shorter download times for huge game files since most games sizes are already 70+GB in size. Right now they haven't released pricing for the 1Gig service but I'm content with the 300/20 speeds I have now. Getting the modem now is great for futureproofing and getting the latest modem hardware.

The new modems are using Broadcom's BCM3390 vs Intel's laggy Puma chipset thats in the SB6190 I have now, heck even modem manufacturers are avoiding the intel chipset.

https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/04/11/intel_puma_6_arris/

Last edited by Kibitoshin; 11/08/17 07:28 PM.

Shin Gekiretsu Shin'ou'hou
01 Toyota Tundra 2WD V8 4.7L - 170k mi
02 Chevy Silverado C1500 V8 5.3L 154k mi
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4568157
11/08/17 07:28 PM
11/08/17 07:28 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,747
Ontario, Canada
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,747
Ontario, Canada
Don't forget a lot of servers throttle download for fairness so while you might have a gigabit connection you might not get full download speeds you are capable of receiving everywhere.

It's great though for congested networks with multiple users downloading from multiple servers and streaming all at the same time. wink

Last edited by StevieC; 11/08/17 07:29 PM.

'18 Highlander - AMSOIL SS 0w20 / ATF / Severe Gear
'06 Santa Fe - 535,000km AMSOIL SS 0w30 / ATF (R.I.P)
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: StevieC] #4573298
11/13/17 10:21 PM
11/13/17 10:21 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 3,801
New England
madRiver Offline
madRiver  Offline
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 3,801
New England
Originally Posted By: StevieC
Originally Posted By: PandaBear
From what I heard if you want to stream 4K HDTV you will need a very high speed.


I do it on a 50/10 VDSL connection that is always busy with network traffic but I do it with good quality gigabit switch and PFSense router, not consumer stuff which has consistently let me down.


I have no issue with 4k on consumer grade wireless router and switch (TP Link AC1900 and ethernet with a $50 gigabit switch). I have 100/5 speed from cable. Typically the 4k another two computers run 1080p while I chatting away on video conferencing.

I floored cheap stuff actually works.

Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4575895
11/16/17 11:00 AM
11/16/17 11:00 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 12,907
NE,Ohio
Rand Online content
Rand  Online Content
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 12,907
NE,Ohio
I'm just glad we finally got a decent upload here..

Had 1/15, then was paying extra for 5/30

now "free" update to 10/100.

The 100MBIT down is great but the 10mbit up is much more needed.

I'd probably pay another 10-15$ a month for 100/100 or 50/300 but
in the TWC/Spectrum NE OHIO we have nothing faster available than the base 10/100.

I have the SB6183 so IIRC I'm good for upto 100/300


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4575948
11/16/17 11:56 AM
11/16/17 11:56 AM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,747
Ontario, Canada
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,747
Ontario, Canada
Yeah I don't know what it is with ISP's being stingy on the upload speeds and forcing you into a higher plan to get a decent one. I have 50/10 service currently and the 10 is painful for uploading to my data center for backup.


'18 Highlander - AMSOIL SS 0w20 / ATF / Severe Gear
'06 Santa Fe - 535,000km AMSOIL SS 0w30 / ATF (R.I.P)
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: StevieC] #4575988
11/16/17 12:40 PM
11/16/17 12:40 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,211
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Online content
OVERKILL  Online Content
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,211
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: StevieC
Yeah I don't know what it is with ISP's being stingy on the upload speeds and forcing you into a higher plan to get a decent one. I have 50/10 service currently and the 10 is painful for uploading to my data center for backup.


Asymmetrical speeds mean lower total band allocation, which is in theory, cheaper for the ISP. Since most consumers primarily download, this is generally the angle taken. If you've got 60Mbit total for a given range, breaking that up as 50/10 is generally the preferred method by your typical end-user rather than 30/30, in which the upstream portion of it will be rarely, if ever, used to its potential.

I was given the option as to how I'd like it split back when I had VDSL for example, by my ISP, who I was working closely with.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4575997
11/16/17 12:45 PM
11/16/17 12:45 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,747
Ontario, Canada
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,747
Ontario, Canada
Wish I had the option... I could go with Rogers Cable which has higher upload speeds but we all know how they are.... No thanks.


'18 Highlander - AMSOIL SS 0w20 / ATF / Severe Gear
'06 Santa Fe - 535,000km AMSOIL SS 0w30 / ATF (R.I.P)
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: StevieC] #4576004
11/16/17 12:51 PM
11/16/17 12:51 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,211
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Online content
OVERKILL  Online Content
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,211
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: StevieC
Wish I had the option... I could go with Rogers Cable which has higher upload speeds but we all know how they are.... No thanks.


I'm actually quite fond of Rogers, I have several of their fiber installs and also use their SIP trunking service extensively. They just gave us a "free" upgrade to 200/200 at a couple of our sites and actually reduced our bill from what we'd been paying for 100/100.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™