Recent Topics
Mattress shopping .....
by dblshock. 12/18/18 04:57 AM
AmazonBasics Oil May Drive Prices Down
by knerml. 12/18/18 04:45 AM
Hemi MDS issues are how common?
by Gasbuggy. 12/18/18 03:21 AM
Why use Redline and Redline Clone oils...
by burla. 12/17/18 11:38 PM
Tire choice
by CincyReds. 12/17/18 11:14 PM
Transmission fluid leak
by dawgn86. 12/17/18 07:53 PM
QuickJack BL-5000SLX and my Optima...
by WhizkidTN. 12/17/18 07:23 PM
Champion Air Filter Opinions?
by JerryBob. 12/17/18 06:18 PM
Tundra transfer case plug torque (Borg Warner)
by Idlewild294. 12/17/18 06:03 PM
Winter tire question?
by Muskieteer. 12/17/18 05:31 PM
Who makes good ball joints these days?
by GSCJR. 12/17/18 04:51 PM
Bought a used Ford Fusion
by krismoriah72. 12/17/18 04:14 PM
Valvoline NextGen Tech Oil
by DirtyOilGuy. 12/17/18 04:08 PM
Witty comment regarding a lame car
by Number_35. 12/17/18 03:43 PM
'80s oil literature
by Number_35. 12/17/18 03:26 PM
Recommend on oil for 2017 Kia Sportage 2.4
by SlavaB. 12/17/18 02:57 PM
No more Delo at my Costco. T4 now
by BeerCan. 12/17/18 02:16 PM
Found this
by davedude. 12/17/18 02:15 PM
Newest Members
hopsofir, genera2800, oghl, hdlss, dsmdylan
66711 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
45 registered members (alarmguy, Char Baby, bullwinkle, AZjeff, Ctreasure, 5 invisible), 1,056 guests, and 46 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics295,207
Posts4,929,909
Members66,711
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. #4567995
11/08/17 03:47 PM
11/08/17 03:47 PM
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 782
Specific Ocean
Kibitoshin Offline OP
Kibitoshin  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 782
Specific Ocean
Welp after owning my SB6190 for a year it's time to upgrade again since I received a notice from TWC that 1Gbps internet speeds are available in my area. It also noted that I need a DOCSIS 3.1 modem despite the SB6190 supporting 1.2Gbps speeds (D3.1 uses narrower channel spacing so it requires a different tuner hardware, etc.)

Right now there are only 3 DOCSIS cable modems out from ARRIS, Netgear and Motorola and they use a Broadcom chipset vs the old Intel Puma chipset which some people are claiming it's problematic.

Since I'm familiar with ARRI's products I'll pickup their SB8200 and slap a fan on it and we'll see if I can reach those delicious gigabit speeds.


Shin Gekiretsu Shin'ou'hou
01 Toyota Tundra 2WD V8 4.7L
02 Chevy Silverado C1500 V8 5.3L
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4568011
11/08/17 03:59 PM
11/08/17 03:59 PM
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 459
Brunswick, GA
xshoex Offline
xshoex  Offline
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 459
Brunswick, GA
May I ask what you do/ why you need or desire a speed that high? Just curious. I have comcast 25mb plan and that's probably to much for me by myself lol


11 Sorento 3.5 87k Napa Syn 5w30 & Beck Arnley
00 BMW 323i e46 143k CarQuest Euro 5w40 & MANN
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4568025
11/08/17 04:12 PM
11/08/17 04:12 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 21,323
ON, Canada eh?
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 21,323
ON, Canada eh?
My dad is using the Motorola Docsis 3.1 and is happy.


'18 Dodge Grand Caravan GT - AMSOIL SS 5w20
'06 Santa Fe - 535,000km AMSOIL SS 0w30 / ATF
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4568081
11/08/17 04:58 PM
11/08/17 04:58 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 14,567
Silicon Valley
PandaBear Offline
PandaBear  Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 14,567
Silicon Valley
From what I heard if you want to stream 4K HDTV you will need a very high speed.


"You keep asking questions PandaBear and you'll end up a vegetarian like my wife" - Camu Mahubah
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: PandaBear] #4568084
11/08/17 05:03 PM
11/08/17 05:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 664
MN
14Accent Offline
14Accent  Offline
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 664
MN
Originally Posted By: PandaBear
From what I heard if you want to stream 4K HDTV you will need a very high speed.


4k on Netflix or Amazon will stream fine with a 25 meg connection, better with 50+.


2013 Chevrolet Volt - Saves enough in fuel to pay for itself!

2003 Cadillac Seville STS - The winter "beater", it uses the Volt's fuel
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4568088
11/08/17 05:06 PM
11/08/17 05:06 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,540
Illinois
javacontour Offline
javacontour  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,540
Illinois
300mb down and up is fine. I have AT&T gigapower and I didn't need to go with the full 1gb.

And oilBabe is big into streaming...
I d/l patch sets and software that runs in the multiple gbs.

Such speeds are nice for work at home scenarios.


network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: PandaBear] #4568132
11/08/17 05:55 PM
11/08/17 05:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 21,323
ON, Canada eh?
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 21,323
ON, Canada eh?
Originally Posted By: PandaBear
From what I heard if you want to stream 4K HDTV you will need a very high speed.


I do it on a 50/10 VDSL connection that is always busy with network traffic but I do it with good quality gigabit switch and PFSense router, not consumer stuff which has consistently let me down.

Last edited by StevieC; 11/08/17 05:56 PM.

'18 Dodge Grand Caravan GT - AMSOIL SS 5w20
'06 Santa Fe - 535,000km AMSOIL SS 0w30 / ATF
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: xshoex] #4568152
11/08/17 06:24 PM
11/08/17 06:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 782
Specific Ocean
Kibitoshin Offline OP
Kibitoshin  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 782
Specific Ocean
Originally Posted By: xshoex
May I ask what you do/ why you need or desire a speed that high? Just curious. I have comcast 25mb plan and that's probably to much for me by myself lol


Just for shorter download times for huge game files since most games sizes are already 70+GB in size. Right now they haven't released pricing for the 1Gig service but I'm content with the 300/20 speeds I have now. Getting the modem now is great for futureproofing and getting the latest modem hardware.

The new modems are using Broadcom's BCM3390 vs Intel's laggy Puma chipset thats in the SB6190 I have now, heck even modem manufacturers are avoiding the intel chipset.

https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/04/11/intel_puma_6_arris/

Last edited by Kibitoshin; 11/08/17 06:28 PM.

Shin Gekiretsu Shin'ou'hou
01 Toyota Tundra 2WD V8 4.7L
02 Chevy Silverado C1500 V8 5.3L
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4568157
11/08/17 06:28 PM
11/08/17 06:28 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 21,323
ON, Canada eh?
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 21,323
ON, Canada eh?
Don't forget a lot of servers throttle download for fairness so while you might have a gigabit connection you might not get full download speeds you are capable of receiving everywhere.

It's great though for congested networks with multiple users downloading from multiple servers and streaming all at the same time. wink

Last edited by StevieC; 11/08/17 06:29 PM.

'18 Dodge Grand Caravan GT - AMSOIL SS 5w20
'06 Santa Fe - 535,000km AMSOIL SS 0w30 / ATF
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: StevieC] #4573298
11/13/17 09:21 PM
11/13/17 09:21 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 4,039
New England
madRiver Offline
madRiver  Offline
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 4,039
New England
Originally Posted By: StevieC
Originally Posted By: PandaBear
From what I heard if you want to stream 4K HDTV you will need a very high speed.


I do it on a 50/10 VDSL connection that is always busy with network traffic but I do it with good quality gigabit switch and PFSense router, not consumer stuff which has consistently let me down.


I have no issue with 4k on consumer grade wireless router and switch (TP Link AC1900 and ethernet with a $50 gigabit switch). I have 100/5 speed from cable. Typically the 4k another two computers run 1080p while I chatting away on video conferencing.

I floored cheap stuff actually works.

Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4575895
11/16/17 10:00 AM
11/16/17 10:00 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,147
NE,Ohio
Rand Offline
Rand  Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,147
NE,Ohio
I'm just glad we finally got a decent upload here..

Had 1/15, then was paying extra for 5/30

now "free" update to 10/100.

The 100MBIT down is great but the 10mbit up is much more needed.

I'd probably pay another 10-15$ a month for 100/100 or 50/300 but
in the TWC/Spectrum NE OHIO we have nothing faster available than the base 10/100.

I have the SB6183 so IIRC I'm good for upto 100/300


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4575948
11/16/17 10:56 AM
11/16/17 10:56 AM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 21,323
ON, Canada eh?
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 21,323
ON, Canada eh?
Yeah I don't know what it is with ISP's being stingy on the upload speeds and forcing you into a higher plan to get a decent one. I have 50/10 service currently and the 10 is painful for uploading to my data center for backup.


'18 Dodge Grand Caravan GT - AMSOIL SS 5w20
'06 Santa Fe - 535,000km AMSOIL SS 0w30 / ATF
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: StevieC] #4575988
11/16/17 11:40 AM
11/16/17 11:40 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,967
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,967
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: StevieC
Yeah I don't know what it is with ISP's being stingy on the upload speeds and forcing you into a higher plan to get a decent one. I have 50/10 service currently and the 10 is painful for uploading to my data center for backup.


Asymmetrical speeds mean lower total band allocation, which is in theory, cheaper for the ISP. Since most consumers primarily download, this is generally the angle taken. If you've got 60Mbit total for a given range, breaking that up as 50/10 is generally the preferred method by your typical end-user rather than 30/30, in which the upstream portion of it will be rarely, if ever, used to its potential.

I was given the option as to how I'd like it split back when I had VDSL for example, by my ISP, who I was working closely with.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin] #4575997
11/16/17 11:45 AM
11/16/17 11:45 AM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 21,323
ON, Canada eh?
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 21,323
ON, Canada eh?
Wish I had the option... I could go with Rogers Cable which has higher upload speeds but we all know how they are.... No thanks.


'18 Dodge Grand Caravan GT - AMSOIL SS 5w20
'06 Santa Fe - 535,000km AMSOIL SS 0w30 / ATF
Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: StevieC] #4576004
11/16/17 11:51 AM
11/16/17 11:51 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,967
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,967
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: StevieC
Wish I had the option... I could go with Rogers Cable which has higher upload speeds but we all know how they are.... No thanks.


I'm actually quite fond of Rogers, I have several of their fiber installs and also use their SIP trunking service extensively. They just gave us a "free" upgrade to 200/200 at a couple of our sites and actually reduced our bill from what we'd been paying for 100/100.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™