Recent Topics
Break in filter cut open/ Filtermag
by UncleDave
06/23/18 10:36 AM
Changed coil pack, now throwing cat code
by llmercll
06/23/18 10:36 AM
07 V6 Mustang oil leak.
by aquariuscsm
06/23/18 10:33 AM
Windows 10 Update, version 1803
by Sayjac
06/23/18 09:55 AM
Super Tech Euro Spec Synthetic
by Snagglefoot
06/23/18 09:48 AM
Super Tech Conventional 15w40 HDEO. CK-4/SN
by Snagglefoot
06/23/18 09:38 AM
1 gallon jug of Sta-bil for $7 at Rural King
by classic70
06/23/18 09:34 AM
Anger on BITOG
by Gebo
06/23/18 08:55 AM
2010 Acura MDX w/ 3.7 lire oil consumption issue
by Varbill
06/23/18 08:45 AM
Surprising oil filter service interval.
by jakewells
06/23/18 08:12 AM
World Population
by CourierDriver
06/23/18 08:11 AM
SBC Finned Aluminum Dress Up Kit $32
by hatt
06/23/18 07:35 AM
Meguiars
by dslofti
06/23/18 07:20 AM
Roller Bearing Setup For Dillon Shellplate
by billt460
06/23/18 05:59 AM
Omnia - the band
by Shannow
06/23/18 02:58 AM
Guest's devices cannot connect to my WiFi
by boulderdentist
06/23/18 12:54 AM
Battery stuck in flashlight.
by Chris142
06/22/18 11:53 PM
Must read for everyone watching their diet
by JLTD
06/22/18 11:28 PM
2014 Mazda5 Valvoline Synpower 0W-20 7500 miles
by PWMDMD
06/22/18 10:54 PM
VOA Ravenol ECS 0W-20
by PWMDMD
06/22/18 10:47 PM
Newest Members
azzid0906, OilGeek91, DRancher, Newuser, Varbill
65299 Registered Users
Who's Online
84 registered (4WD, 2002 Maxima SE, ArrestMeRedZ, aquariuscsm, advocate, andyd, 10 invisible), 1607 Guests and 30 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65299 Members
67 Forums
285845 Topics
4770259 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4567995 - 11/08/17 03:47 PM DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds.
Kibitoshin Offline


Registered: 04/19/16
Posts: 696
Loc: Kaiōshinkai
Welp after owning my SB6190 for a year it's time to upgrade again since I received a notice from TWC that 1Gbps internet speeds are available in my area. It also noted that I need a DOCSIS 3.1 modem despite the SB6190 supporting 1.2Gbps speeds (D3.1 uses narrower channel spacing so it requires a different tuner hardware, etc.)

Right now there are only 3 DOCSIS cable modems out from ARRIS, Netgear and Motorola and they use a Broadcom chipset vs the old Intel Puma chipset which some people are claiming it's problematic.

Since I'm familiar with ARRI's products I'll pickup their SB8200 and slap a fan on it and we'll see if I can reach those delicious gigabit speeds.
_________________________
Shin Gekiretsu Shin'ou'hou
01 Toyota Tundra 2WD V8 4.7L - 170k mi
02 Chevy Silverado C1500 V8 5.3L 154k mi

Top
#4568011 - 11/08/17 03:59 PM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin]
xshoex Offline


Registered: 06/18/15
Posts: 459
Loc: Brunswick, GA
May I ask what you do/ why you need or desire a speed that high? Just curious. I have comcast 25mb plan and that's probably to much for me by myself lol
_________________________
11 Sorento 3.5 87k Napa Syn 5w30 & Beck Arnley
00 BMW 323i e46 143k CarQuest Euro 5w40 & MANN

Top
#4568025 - 11/08/17 04:12 PM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin]
StevieC Offline


Registered: 08/21/08
Posts: 17116
Loc: Ontario, Canada
My dad is using the Motorola Docsis 3.1 and is happy.
_________________________
'15 Dodge Journey - 90,000 KM's - SSO 5w20
'06 Hyundai Santa Fe - 535,000km - SSO 0w30 (R.I.P)

Top
#4568081 - 11/08/17 04:58 PM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin]
PandaBear Offline


Registered: 08/05/02
Posts: 14220
Loc: Silicon Valley
From what I heard if you want to stream 4K HDTV you will need a very high speed.
_________________________
"You keep asking questions PandaBear and you'll end up a vegetarian like my wife" - Camu Mahubah

Top
#4568084 - 11/08/17 05:03 PM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: PandaBear]
14Accent Offline


Registered: 08/03/17
Posts: 392
Loc: MN
Originally Posted By: PandaBear
From what I heard if you want to stream 4K HDTV you will need a very high speed.


4k on Netflix or Amazon will stream fine with a 25 meg connection, better with 50+.
_________________________
2013 Chevrolet Volt - Saves enough in fuel to pay for itself!

Top
#4568088 - 11/08/17 05:06 PM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin]
javacontour Offline


Registered: 06/26/03
Posts: 10306
Loc: Illinois
300mb down and up is fine. I have AT&T gigapower and I didn't need to go with the full 1gb.

And oilBabe is big into streaming...
I d/l patch sets and software that runs in the multiple gbs.

Such speeds are nice for work at home scenarios.
_________________________
network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH

Top
#4568132 - 11/08/17 05:55 PM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: PandaBear]
StevieC Offline


Registered: 08/21/08
Posts: 17116
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: PandaBear
From what I heard if you want to stream 4K HDTV you will need a very high speed.


I do it on a 50/10 VDSL connection that is always busy with network traffic but I do it with good quality gigabit switch and PFSense router, not consumer stuff which has consistently let me down.


Edited by StevieC (11/08/17 05:56 PM)
_________________________
'15 Dodge Journey - 90,000 KM's - SSO 5w20
'06 Hyundai Santa Fe - 535,000km - SSO 0w30 (R.I.P)

Top
#4568152 - 11/08/17 06:24 PM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: xshoex]
Kibitoshin Offline


Registered: 04/19/16
Posts: 696
Loc: Kaiōshinkai
Originally Posted By: xshoex
May I ask what you do/ why you need or desire a speed that high? Just curious. I have comcast 25mb plan and that's probably to much for me by myself lol


Just for shorter download times for huge game files since most games sizes are already 70+GB in size. Right now they haven't released pricing for the 1Gig service but I'm content with the 300/20 speeds I have now. Getting the modem now is great for futureproofing and getting the latest modem hardware.

The new modems are using Broadcom's BCM3390 vs Intel's laggy Puma chipset thats in the SB6190 I have now, heck even modem manufacturers are avoiding the intel chipset.

https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/04/11/intel_puma_6_arris/


Edited by Kibitoshin (11/08/17 06:28 PM)
_________________________
Shin Gekiretsu Shin'ou'hou
01 Toyota Tundra 2WD V8 4.7L - 170k mi
02 Chevy Silverado C1500 V8 5.3L 154k mi

Top
#4568157 - 11/08/17 06:28 PM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin]
StevieC Offline


Registered: 08/21/08
Posts: 17116
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Don't forget a lot of servers throttle download for fairness so while you might have a gigabit connection you might not get full download speeds you are capable of receiving everywhere.

It's great though for congested networks with multiple users downloading from multiple servers and streaming all at the same time. wink


Edited by StevieC (11/08/17 06:29 PM)
_________________________
'15 Dodge Journey - 90,000 KM's - SSO 5w20
'06 Hyundai Santa Fe - 535,000km - SSO 0w30 (R.I.P)

Top
#4573298 - 11/13/17 09:21 PM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: StevieC]
madRiver Online   content


Registered: 07/11/15
Posts: 3542
Loc: New England
Originally Posted By: StevieC
Originally Posted By: PandaBear
From what I heard if you want to stream 4K HDTV you will need a very high speed.


I do it on a 50/10 VDSL connection that is always busy with network traffic but I do it with good quality gigabit switch and PFSense router, not consumer stuff which has consistently let me down.


I have no issue with 4k on consumer grade wireless router and switch (TP Link AC1900 and ethernet with a $50 gigabit switch). I have 100/5 speed from cable. Typically the 4k another two computers run 1080p while I chatting away on video conferencing.

I floored cheap stuff actually works.

Top
#4575895 - 11/16/17 10:00 AM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin]
Rand Online   content


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 12651
Loc: NE,Ohio
I'm just glad we finally got a decent upload here..

Had 1/15, then was paying extra for 5/30

now "free" update to 10/100.

The 100MBIT down is great but the 10mbit up is much more needed.

I'd probably pay another 10-15$ a month for 100/100 or 50/300 but
in the TWC/Spectrum NE OHIO we have nothing faster available than the base 10/100.

I have the SB6183 so IIRC I'm good for upto 100/300
_________________________
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk V6

Top
#4575948 - 11/16/17 10:56 AM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin]
StevieC Offline


Registered: 08/21/08
Posts: 17116
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Yeah I don't know what it is with ISP's being stingy on the upload speeds and forcing you into a higher plan to get a decent one. I have 50/10 service currently and the 10 is painful for uploading to my data center for backup.
_________________________
'15 Dodge Journey - 90,000 KM's - SSO 5w20
'06 Hyundai Santa Fe - 535,000km - SSO 0w30 (R.I.P)

Top
#4575988 - 11/16/17 11:40 AM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: StevieC]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36464
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: StevieC
Yeah I don't know what it is with ISP's being stingy on the upload speeds and forcing you into a higher plan to get a decent one. I have 50/10 service currently and the 10 is painful for uploading to my data center for backup.


Asymmetrical speeds mean lower total band allocation, which is in theory, cheaper for the ISP. Since most consumers primarily download, this is generally the angle taken. If you've got 60Mbit total for a given range, breaking that up as 50/10 is generally the preferred method by your typical end-user rather than 30/30, in which the upstream portion of it will be rarely, if ever, used to its potential.

I was given the option as to how I'd like it split back when I had VDSL for example, by my ISP, who I was working closely with.
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
#4575997 - 11/16/17 11:45 AM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: Kibitoshin]
StevieC Offline


Registered: 08/21/08
Posts: 17116
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Wish I had the option... I could go with Rogers Cable which has higher upload speeds but we all know how they are.... No thanks.
_________________________
'15 Dodge Journey - 90,000 KM's - SSO 5w20
'06 Hyundai Santa Fe - 535,000km - SSO 0w30 (R.I.P)

Top
#4576004 - 11/16/17 11:51 AM Re: DOCSIS 3.1 and Gbit speeds. [Re: StevieC]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36464
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: StevieC
Wish I had the option... I could go with Rogers Cable which has higher upload speeds but we all know how they are.... No thanks.


I'm actually quite fond of Rogers, I have several of their fiber installs and also use their SIP trunking service extensively. They just gave us a "free" upgrade to 200/200 at a couple of our sites and actually reduced our bill from what we'd been paying for 100/100.
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >