Swaying/jumpy rearend when going over some bumps

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am not an expert in suspensions, but just wanted to know which to go after first.
Honda with double wishbone rear suspension. Shocks/springs are factory and gone through 270k km of mostly highway driving. Swaybar links has been replaced at dealership through warranty once around 130-140k km due to knocking noise.

At bridge expansion joints or lowered manholes, I feel the rearend sways a bit while going over them.
No knocking noise yet from the links, but one of them feels quite easy to move side to side if I try wiggling with my hand. The other one has more resistance.

However, I don't know if this swaying/jumpy feeling is coming from the shocks or because the links are worn out, just not to the point where they're knocking.

Any thoughts?

270k on the shocks/struts? I think I see the issue.
wink.gif

I did do the bounce test and they all settle back to steady state after 1 bounce. Going over normal speedbumps at posted/normal speed seems fine.

Maybe I should rephrase when it happens, when expansion joints are at an angle where the rear tires don't go through the joint in sync, then I can feel the swaying. The best example is an overpass ramp connecting 2 highways that completes a 90 degree turn over time. The same is true when driving manhole, only one side of the rear goes over. That's when I sort of feel it.

I am wondering if sway bar links can have this effect or it's purely from shocks?
I have some swaybar links in my Rockauto cart and not sure if it's worthwhile to try and replace them first.

Sway bar end links are easy to tell if they need replacing via a visual inspection. Shocks and struts, not so much unless they are leaking. The bounce test is not very accurate. I still vote for them being the problem.

What year/make/model is this?

I vote shocks. At that age if you're willing to rebuild the suspension, new bushings and sway bar links won't hurt either.