Ryobi Chainsaw

Status
Not open for further replies.
Instead of borrowing friends and relatives chainsaws I was thinking of picking up a small saw for limbing and cleanup around the yard. Saw the other day on the HD website that they have reconditioned saws starting at $69.97

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Ryobi-Reconditioned-14-in-37cc-2-Cycle-Gas-Chainsaw-ZRRY3714/207078512?cm_mmc=Shopping%7cTHD%7cG%7c0%7cG-BASE-PLA-D28I-PortableOutdoorPower%7c&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI0tXR4OGs1wIVxLXACh1e6wU_EAQYASABEgKPTPD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds&dclid=CPnAp-PhrNcCFZJpwQodXoQGuw

Any feedback on Ryobi chainsaws?

I have no personal experience with that particular saw, but I do have experience with Ryobi and other box-store branded OPE. Don't expect it to last more than a season or two. For $70 though, if it helps you get some yard work done without much hassle, I'd say go for it. I'm in the same boat as you, as in I don't need a saw for heavy use, just occasional. I'm looking at the Stihl MS170/180s as I've had great service out of Stihl and I have a great dealer nearby.

For the price, and if you only need it for around the yard, it should be fine. I have a few customers with those and they seem to like them. I do recommend running the pre-mix ethanol-free fuel that comes in the can at home depot if you use it only once in a while, that way you avoid any carburetor issues from sitting.

Originally Posted By: jeepman3071
I do recommend running the pre-mix ethanol-free fuel that comes in the can at home depot if you use it only once in a while, that way you avoid any carburetor issues from sitting.

Just a quick comment on this: I use the least expensive 2-stroke mixture H.D. has on the shelves... Power Stroke maybe? This time of year, it’s in short supply so when I see a can, I often grab 1or 2.

This last weekend, there were only 2 cans so I grabbed 1 but the can felt as though it had been leaking. Opened the can and it was only about half full. The other was the same...