e--mail I sent to Canada's Transport Ministry

Status
Not open for further replies.
I sent this to the Canadian equivalent of the NHTSA, Canada's Transport Ministry - hope it gets a positive response

Hello,

One of my observations of bad habits of drivers is the issue of people assuming that because their dashboard lights are on, that their car also has the headlights & tail lights on.

I work in the Tier 2 & 3 automotive industry, metal stampings and assemblies, not related to automotive lighting at all, but I can assume that the cost of adding an ambient light sensor to every vehicle would be very small compared to other mandated safety features - ABS/ Rear Camera / Air Pressure Monitors etc.

I have driven the 401 corridor between Toronto and Waterloo Region enough times at night to know just how often you will experience a car without tail lights - the driver has the DRL on (that is automatic in Canada...hmmm), the dash lights are bright, but the driver is completely un-aware of how dark & dangerous they are to others on the road. Now that it gets dark sooner - this problem will become worse. I can't understand how the modern dashboards could allow independent illumination without some integration of automatic head & tail lights?

Is there nobody else complaining about this problem? Canada pushed DRL to the North American OEM's, can't we lead the way for prevention of ghost driving?

Please advise,

Although DRLs augment the visibility of other vehicles, it is as you say: drivers don't make the connection that they actually have to turn their lights on at night.

So ultimately it's the drivers' fault. So many people are completely unaware of their situation and surroundings. Oh, but they'll text while driving...with no lights...