Would arc fault breakers have prevented this?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My church had a major fire this morning.

http://wnyt.com/news/canaan-congregational-church-columbia-county-fire/4659820/?cat=10114
Columbia County church damaged by flames

The fire Dept said it was started in a 4 bulb ceiling fixture in vestibule. 3 LED bulbs and one broken socket. I installed the LED bulbs 2yrs ago. The broken socket was where someone twisted a bulb too tight and Odd the light would have been left on.

1830 church, no arc fault breakers.

Last edited:
A ground fault (GFCI) would be better because it depends on seeing an imbalance between Neutral and Hot.
Arc fault generally needs higher current to trip as I understand it and it may not see that with sparking.

In this instance because it's most likely converting the AC Voltage to DC using some sort of rectifying circuit so it may not see the arching whereas it would sense an imbalance. (I'm not an electrician though)

http://www.eaton.bz/ecm/groups/public/@pub/@electrical/documents/content/pct_346231.pdf

Last edited:
AFCI may have caught it as they work based on sensing irregular current flows. As such it could have sensed an arc between hot and neutral where a gfci can only sense if there’s a short to ground. Of course they make combo units which would really be best.

GFCI breaker failed to stop a smoldering issue was had (high-resistance connection likely). No spark typically mean no GFCI trip. I think the same would be true for AFCI, if all of the actual current is traveling as it should, right? In the case of the church, if the improper install of the bulbs caused a partial connection that resulted in sparks or a ground, it might have tripped.