Flat Tappet Motor Oil One More Time

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just discovered the 540RATBLOG on motor oils. His testing shows that high zinc/phosphorous motor oils may not be the best indicator of protection for flat tappet engines. The testing on wear judged by psi breakdown shows that some oils without the 1,000+ zinc levels are better than those with. Basically, the zinc/phosphorous levels are irrelevant. Is there anything wrong with his analysis? Any reason to doubt it? If its for real, then why not pick one of the top ten or twenty oils and not worry about the on-going reductions in zinc and phosphorous? Any thoughts? I am not a chemical engineer so I can't comment on the validity of the tests so that is why I am asking this forum.

It's been discussed here at length. There are issues with his test protocol mainly that his test rig doesn't accurately model the cam/lifter interface or any interface in an internal combustion engine.

Search on 540RAT and you'll get hours of reading.

You need enough ZDDP, but since there are like 16 different formulation of ZDDP, he can't tell you which he's testing and which didn't work the best.

There is much more going on inside an engine than just the cam/lifters. Although they are crucial. Literally million and millions of flat tappets have run fine on Jiffy Lube bulk oil.

Race motors are whole nuther thing. Need specs and build info before commenting there ...

The engines in my cars are either low mileage original, never opened; or rebuilt to as close to manufacturers specifications as possible. 1966 Mustang 289 2V, 1972 Plymouth 440 4V, for example. They are not hot rod engines, nor are they race engines. They are totally stock and for the rebuilt ones, as close to stock as possible. Thanks.

Even if his methodology is wrong, does his answer make sense? That there is more to preventing flat tappet cam wear than just zinc, or is it that zinc levels matter what other anti-wear chemicals may be in the oil?