What kind of Mechanic/DIY person are you?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Not
I do simple stuff
Average
I do complicated stuff
I am a professional!

I would say I am about average.

I'm average. Alternators, fluid changes (obviously!) did a drivers half shaft on a Villager, clutch on a Ford Probe. Radiators, bypass filters, brakes.
I did turn plugs and O2 sensors on the lovely spouses T&C over to a pro. They had the equipment to test coil on plugs, and remove all the intake stuff to get to the rear bank to correct a misfire and catalyst efficiency codes.
I'll try a lot, I figure it's broke, I cant make it worse. And I've seen some of the guys that work on stuff, I'm as smart.

On my 528es, I did everything but a Trans R+R that my wife insisted I have done "professionally" The guy messed up the Drive shaft and the shift cable.

I think we're all well above average compared to an average home DIYer. Probably closer to Average to just below average compared to a mechanic.

Originally Posted By: beanoil
I'm average. Alternators, fluid changes (obviously!) did a drivers half shaft on a Villager, clutch on a Ford Probe. Radiators, bypass filters, brakes.
I did turn plugs and O2 sensors on the lovely spouses T&C over to a pro. They had the equipment to test coil on plugs, and remove all the intake stuff to get to the rear bank to correct a misfire and catalyst efficiency codes.
I'll try a lot, I figure it's broke, I cant make it worse. And I've seen some of the guys that work on stuff, I'm as smart.

Same here - Average.

I used to do engine and transmission rebuilds but now I have professional partners who help me with testing, teardowns, and rebuilds.

Just don't have the time for a lot of gearhead/handson.

I'd say I'm in-between simple stuff and average.

Like Dirty Harry said, "A man's got to know his limitations." More involved repairs get sent out to my indy.

I would attempt more if I had a garage and more tools. Working outside sometimes sucks!