Chevy Cruze or Volkswagen Passat diesel?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looking at getting a diesel car for fuel economy. These seem to be the only options that are affordable. Never owned a diesel car, but I am a tracked vehicle mechanic in the Army so I'm quite familiar about diesels but the ones I work on and the new diesel engine are probably 65-75 years different in design. The operation may be the same but seems everything else surrounding seems totally different. Old Army diesels don't have much, and one of them is air cooled. Really the only maintenance I've had to do on an Army diesel engine is drain water from fuel water separators, clean or replace air filter, replace fuel water separators, check and replace fuel filters, and check oil and replace oil and filter if needed as directed by Army UOA program. So what additional things do modern diesel cars need compared to gasoline counterparts?

Other option is finding a spacious non plug-in hybrid with a lifetime warranty on batteries and it seems only Hyundai and Kia offer that.

Get the Cruze diesel. It will be available in hatchback form starting in 2018
smile.gif

Passat if you need the room. Otherwise the Cruze is a great vehicle. Love mine. Last tank I got 51.3mph. Nice to be able to go 800 miles to a tank.

Originally Posted By: rooflessVW
Passat all day and twice on Sunday.

But I may be biased.

+1

Actually crunch some numbers and calculate the actual cost of gas. Don't just look at what the fuel mileage is and blindly think that it must be cheaper.

Current average per gallon of gasoline is $2.34. Diesel is $2.52.

A Cruze gets 32 mpg combined driving, at 15,000 miles per year, that's $1,096 per year for fuel

A 2015 Passat TDI gets 33 mpg combined driving, at 15,0000 miles per year, that's $1,111 per year for fuel. More than the Cruze! Even if you rounded the diesel up to 38 mpg that's $995 per year for fuel, or a whopping savings of $3.86 a week compared to the Cruze.