Question, is a Dell Optiplex better then ...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ugh, rushing to work, thought I would post this in here, kind of know the answer, wonder if I am missing anything.

I have lots of computers and pretty knowledgeable but NOT with commercial machines.

Anyway, my wifes workplace moved their office and pretty much told her to take whatever she wanted and she got the ok to take a computer I wanted to play around with.

The computer is a Dell Optiplex 790, made in 2012, Windows 7 pro, Intel Core i5.
Its built like a freaking tank, I am amazed how heavy it is for a slim line desktop anyway, its feels like and looks like, well, a BMW.
Not only that but it has rarely been used, maybe for one year.

So do I bother with this thing and look to upgrade the Windows version 7 to 10 OR make it a Linux computer (as a fun project) which I have No experience with or
what I was hoping is to change from my current 2013 Lenovo AMD A4 budget desktop (which runs super great and have no idea why it runs so well) or do just throw the Dell away?

Thanks for any thoughts ... off to work I go.

Bottom line, is a 2012 computer worth the effort? Is there anything special about an Optiplex ... I do know the i5 processor would be a big upgrade from my Lenovo AMD A4 right?

Last edited:
Those machines are built to take abuse from a work environment. We have several at my workplace, where they are on 24/7. Worth keeping it IMO. If you decide Linux, Ubuntu is a very user friendly OS.

It's like a sandy bridge or Ivy bridge i5. Either would be a large processing improvement over your a4. In both heavily threaded and single threaded apps you will see a decent bump in performance.

Those sandy and ivy i5s are still very popular and keep up with the newest chips in game performance when paired with a high end graphics card. It is absolutely worth keeping.

If you dont want it for some season, I'll pay shipping for the ram and cpu.