Recent Topics
Opinions on the best hidden dash cam?
by FordBroncoVWJeta. 04/18/19 03:28 PM
Maxlife Synthetic or PPHM 10w30
by 53' Stude. 04/18/19 03:27 PM
PYB 10w30 question
by 1978elcamino. 04/18/19 03:16 PM
Misbehaving Mechanic Caught On Dash Cam
by BlueOvalFitter. 04/18/19 02:38 PM
What oil for my newly acquired Samurai
by ad244. 04/18/19 02:37 PM
Check your Oil (SMA YouTube Video)
by javacontour. 04/18/19 02:37 PM
Wearing Hiking Shoes Full-Time
by oilpsi2high. 04/18/19 01:56 PM
Apply brakes, steering wheel shakes
by grampi. 04/18/19 01:35 PM
F150 Exhaust whistle
by Redright9. 04/18/19 01:20 PM
Boy, what a marketing win!
by SubieRubyRoo. 04/18/19 12:06 PM
auto shipping question for a friend
by earlyre. 04/18/19 11:02 AM
O Reilly motor oil
by porvdub. 04/18/19 10:59 AM
GM & JEEP O/S OIL FILTERS
by adrenalin89. 04/18/19 10:56 AM
Accord AC Issue
by maverickfhs. 04/18/19 10:54 AM
Transatlantic Communication Lines and the story
by StevieC. 04/18/19 10:41 AM
Crazy Neighbor....part deux
by Schmoe. 04/18/19 10:15 AM
Troubles with Mint Mobile formerly Miny Sim
by daves66nova. 04/18/19 09:40 AM
Newest Members
Kenzitoz, White12Boss302, terryj, Hadryk, djcavein
67844 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
116 registered members (addyguy, 53' Stude, 1978elcamino, ad244, 55hambone, 2010Civic, 7 invisible), 2,197 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics287,701
Posts4,932,611
Members67,844
Most Online2,967
Mar 10th, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Hop To
Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) #4553624
10/24/17 09:46 PM
10/24/17 09:46 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,584
Where the wind comes sweepin'
Reddy45 Online shocked OP
Reddy45  Online Shocked OP

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,584
Where the wind comes sweepin'
Is my understanding correct that their non-fiber internet is still DSL based?

Does the DSL still require a landline phone number or can they give you only the internet service?

Any comments on the reliability, speeds, and does AT&T still like to play tricks with the billing?

Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553631
10/24/17 09:53 PM
10/24/17 09:53 PM
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 231
KS
DerbyDave Offline
DerbyDave  Offline

Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 231
KS
It is DSL based and no AT&T does not require that you have phone service to get internet. I have 18 MB dry loop (no phone) for $60 month. I don't have a contract so my service is month to month, earlier this year I got a letter from AT&T out of the blue telling me that they were increasing my internet speed and lowering my bill at the same time. I guess you could call that a billing trick.


1997 Ford Taurus
2005 Buick Terraza
2007 Honda Ridgeline
1986 Suzuki Cavalcade
1986 Suzuki Intruder
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553636
10/24/17 09:55 PM
10/24/17 09:55 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,096
MTL, CANADA
Rolla07 Offline
Rolla07  Offline

Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,096
MTL, CANADA
I cant say as im in canada but im pretty sure its still DSL based. Dark DSL=will assign you a phone number to ur service without requiring u to pay for the phone line.


2007 Corolla Red Pearl 155k miles
PP 0w20 & ST 4967

Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553649
10/24/17 10:03 PM
10/24/17 10:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 24,682
ON, Canada eh?
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 24,682
ON, Canada eh?
I have VDSL service through a reseller on Bell's network and it's a dry-loop without a phone-number but it does come in over the copper phone lines. They charge me $5/month for that and then the Internet charges. All total it's $56.00 / month for an unlimited cap with 50 download and 10 upload service.


'18 Caravan - 30k KM - AMSOIL SS 0w20, Fram Ultra, TC-W3 500:1
'06 Santa Fe - 535k KM (Retired)

There is no such thing as "lifetime" fluids! mad
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553657
10/24/17 10:07 PM
10/24/17 10:07 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,584
Where the wind comes sweepin'
Reddy45 Online shocked OP
Reddy45  Online Shocked OP

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,584
Where the wind comes sweepin'
Thanks for the responses so far. Any comments on the reliability? Have speeds been as advertised?

Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553661
10/24/17 10:10 PM
10/24/17 10:10 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37,195
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37,195
Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Reddy45
Thanks for the responses so far. Any comments on the reliability? Have speeds been as advertised?

I have their 24/3 tier. Reliability has been fine. Speeds are more or less as advertised.

They do have a monthly data cap, unless you subscribe to their TV services as well.




'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (PUP 0W-40 SRT)
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Quattro Pete] #4553694
10/24/17 11:11 PM
10/24/17 11:11 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2
Ga
MotoMike Offline
MotoMike  Offline

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2
Ga
AT&T Ultra DSL here, copper, Fastaccess XtremePro, its usually fine, I'm streaming music videos and surfing forums with no problems now. Sometimes I will get net congestion slowdown though. It's $61/month here in GA. No landline req.


2005 F150 XLT SCAB
1988 Isuzu Trooper XS
1992 Honda CBR600F2
1997 Honda XR400R
1978 Yamaha XS500E
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553719
10/24/17 11:50 PM
10/24/17 11:50 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Merkava_4 Offline
Merkava_4  Offline

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
I used to have it. I dropped them because they wouldn't give me the same deal as the new customers.

Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553948
10/25/17 09:30 AM
10/25/17 09:30 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 923
N. Georgia Mtns
Sierra048 Offline
Sierra048  Offline

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 923
N. Georgia Mtns
Here in the N. Georgia mountains our only choice is Windstream via DSL. 15mbs down is what they claim I get. No idea what upload speed is. $85/month (including taxes and fees). My choice to live here so I can't complain about the lack of competition. Service has been a little better this past year since they replaced a bad cable feeding our area. There is a legal firm out of either Tennessee or Alabama that's been filing lawsuits on behalf of subscribers for false internet speeds being advertised vs what's being delivered. We shall see. We're pretty much stuck.


2014 Nissan Frontier
2014 GMC Sierra 1500
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553958
10/25/17 09:43 AM
10/25/17 09:43 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 443
TN USA
Crispysea Offline
Crispysea  Offline

Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 443
TN USA
Iíve had it for years, ever since U-Verse started here. Cable is a joke here. Iíve never had any real problems. It started as 18/3, and itís 45/5 now. When we got the upgrade, a tech had to come fix all the old splices in the wire. Itís been solid since.

Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4554363
10/25/17 05:04 PM
10/25/17 05:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 722
Kansas City, MO
yesthatsteve Offline
yesthatsteve  Offline

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 722
Kansas City, MO
I've had U-Verse for almost five years. Speeds have been a little better than advertised, and reliability has been very good. Had regular DSL with a landline for about six years before that, and the only time I lost service was when my modem died. Much better experiences with both of those than with Comcast where I live.


'13 LaCrosse eAssist, 50000+ miles | Magnatec 5w30 & Fram EG
'11 Accord I4 Sedan, 95000+ miles | Mobil1 0w20 & Fram EG
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4555160
10/26/17 01:21 PM
10/26/17 01:21 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
sleddriver Offline
sleddriver  Offline

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
Originally Posted By: Reddy45
Is my understanding correct that their non-fiber internet is still DSL based?
Yes.
Originally Posted By: Reddy45
Any comments on the reliability, speeds, and does AT&T still like to play tricks with the billing?
Reliability has been good.
Speed is only 6Mb/s, which rATT dares to call "Elite".
Absolutely they play billing tricks.....


1998 Volvo V70 T5 228,880 mi. Original Owner.
M1 10W-30 HM
"It's never a mistake to buy tools, defined broadly. They're not a cost, they're an investment." - J.B. Peterson
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4555539
10/26/17 07:35 PM
10/26/17 07:35 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 14,969
Silicon Valley
PandaBear Offline
PandaBear  Offline

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 14,969
Silicon Valley
I was using it for 1 year and only recently switched out.

Yes it is still based on DSL, but the copper wire has reduced from their switching facility to the lawn fridge; it is all fiber from there. So speed wise it can go up to 55Mbps or so if I really want, but I only signed up for 6Mbps because that's cheaper and fast enough for me.

You do not need a landline phone service for that. It is reliable I've only been down for an hour once. I think they have their modem that they can log in to diagnose line quality so it probably helps.

You do need to rent their modem instead of buying your own. Last year they force me to rent unless I pay for the higher cost service. This year they just raise the price and make it $40 for 25Mbps instead.

I'm at Comcast and it took me 2 weeks to install, their tech support never called as promised and I was hung with a used modem stuck in another account, CS entered the wrong modem ID/MAC/etc for a long time. But it is $10 cheaper ($30) for 10Mbps when I use my own modem ($20 used from ebay).

Last edited by PandaBear; 10/26/17 07:38 PM.

"You keep asking questions PandaBear and you'll end up a vegetarian like my wife" - Camu Mahubah
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™