Recent Topics
Muscle car emblems
by Snagglefoot. 09/18/18 10:15 AM
Burn out question
by Fitter30. 09/18/18 10:15 AM
Collector Oil Cans
by Snagglefoot. 09/18/18 10:06 AM
Thoughts on this truck and price.
by ls1mike. 09/18/18 08:39 AM
Canadian Tire Lucas Synthetic Motorcycle Oil 20w50
by Snagglefoot. 09/18/18 07:58 AM
Blast from my past
by 53' Stude. 09/18/18 07:25 AM
Happy Birthday USAF!
by Astro14. 09/18/18 06:35 AM
Ever had a total engine failure?
by Exhaustgases. 09/18/18 02:58 AM
What is the take rate for AWD in small crossovers?
by slacktide_bitog. 09/17/18 11:12 PM
W10 driver for laptop HD4500 graphics
by asand1. 09/17/18 10:03 PM
Horizontal bladder type water tank freezing?
by WobblyElvis. 09/17/18 10:01 PM
Looking for a new carburetor for 2002 honda 90cc
by KeithCoates. 09/17/18 09:57 PM
2013 Passat fluid change
by Chuckh. 09/17/18 09:25 PM
Android Auto Recommendation
by JeffKeryk. 09/17/18 08:57 PM
Prestone Full Synthetic Power Steering Fluid
by TheLawnRanger. 09/17/18 08:55 PM
MAG1 website is excellent
by wemay. 09/17/18 08:46 PM
Does anyone know of a good free 2D cad program
by JimPghPA. 09/17/18 07:42 PM
AC DELCO PF 63E CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 09/17/18 06:36 PM
Last time you purchased new vehicle.
by littleant. 09/17/18 05:31 PM
Newest Members
tomkat22, tabar2004, SierraMan, Rennmeister, KeithCoates
66004 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
83 registered members (andyd, ArrestMeRedZ, 2009Edge, Ag76, 94astro, AdamZ, 9 invisible), 1,248 guests, and 29 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics290,583
Posts4,846,927
Members66,004
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) #4553624
10/24/17 09:46 PM
10/24/17 09:46 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,147
USA
Reddy45 Offline OP
Reddy45  Offline OP
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,147
USA
Is my understanding correct that their non-fiber internet is still DSL based?

Does the DSL still require a landline phone number or can they give you only the internet service?

Any comments on the reliability, speeds, and does AT&T still like to play tricks with the billing?

Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553631
10/24/17 09:53 PM
10/24/17 09:53 PM
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 221
KS
DerbyDave Offline
DerbyDave  Offline
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 221
KS
It is DSL based and no AT&T does not require that you have phone service to get internet. I have 18 MB dry loop (no phone) for $60 month. I don't have a contract so my service is month to month, earlier this year I got a letter from AT&T out of the blue telling me that they were increasing my internet speed and lowering my bill at the same time. I guess you could call that a billing trick.


1997 Ford Taurus
2007 Honda Ridgeline
2003 Suzuki GZ250
1986 Suzuki Cavalcade
2014 Nissan LEAF (Gone)
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553636
10/24/17 09:55 PM
10/24/17 09:55 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,845
MTL, CANADA
Rolla07 Offline
Rolla07  Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,845
MTL, CANADA
I cant say as im in canada but im pretty sure its still DSL based. Dark DSL=will assign you a phone number to ur service without requiring u to pay for the phone line.


2007 Corolla Red Pearl 155k miles
PP 0w20 & ST 4967

Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553649
10/24/17 10:03 PM
10/24/17 10:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,257
Ontario, Canada
StevieC Online content
StevieC  Online Content
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,257
Ontario, Canada
I have VDSL service through a reseller on Bell's network and it's a dry-loop without a phone-number but it does come in over the copper phone lines. They charge me $5/month for that and then the Internet charges. All total it's $56.00 / month for an unlimited cap with 50 download and 10 upload service.


'18 Highlander - AMSOIL SS 0w20 / ATF / Severe Gear
'06 Santa Fe - 535,000km AMSOIL SS 0w30 / ATF (R.I.P)
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553657
10/24/17 10:07 PM
10/24/17 10:07 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,147
USA
Reddy45 Offline OP
Reddy45  Offline OP
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,147
USA
Thanks for the responses so far. Any comments on the reliability? Have speeds been as advertised?

Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553661
10/24/17 10:10 PM
10/24/17 10:10 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,269
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,269
Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Reddy45
Thanks for the responses so far. Any comments on the reliability? Have speeds been as advertised?

I have their 24/3 tier. Reliability has been fine. Speeds are more or less as advertised.

They do have a monthly data cap, unless you subscribe to their TV services as well.




'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Quattro Pete] #4553694
10/24/17 11:11 PM
10/24/17 11:11 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2
Ga
MotoMike Offline
MotoMike  Offline
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2
Ga
AT&T Ultra DSL here, copper, Fastaccess XtremePro, its usually fine, I'm streaming music videos and surfing forums with no problems now. Sometimes I will get net congestion slowdown though. It's $61/month here in GA. No landline req.


2005 F150 XLT SCAB
1988 Isuzu Trooper XS
1992 Honda CBR600F2
1997 Honda XR400R
1978 Yamaha XS500E
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553719
10/24/17 11:50 PM
10/24/17 11:50 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Merkava_4 Offline
Merkava_4  Offline
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
I used to have it. I dropped them because they wouldn't give me the same deal as the new customers.

Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553948
10/25/17 09:30 AM
10/25/17 09:30 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 863
N. Georgia Mtns
Sierra048 Offline
Sierra048  Offline
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 863
N. Georgia Mtns
Here in the N. Georgia mountains our only choice is Windstream via DSL. 15mbs down is what they claim I get. No idea what upload speed is. $85/month (including taxes and fees). My choice to live here so I can't complain about the lack of competition. Service has been a little better this past year since they replaced a bad cable feeding our area. There is a legal firm out of either Tennessee or Alabama that's been filing lawsuits on behalf of subscribers for false internet speeds being advertised vs what's being delivered. We shall see. We're pretty much stuck.


2014 Nissan Frontier
2014 GMC Sierra 1500
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4553958
10/25/17 09:43 AM
10/25/17 09:43 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 435
TN USA
Crispysea Offline
Crispysea  Offline
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 435
TN USA
Iíve had it for years, ever since U-Verse started here. Cable is a joke here. Iíve never had any real problems. It started as 18/3, and itís 45/5 now. When we got the upgrade, a tech had to come fix all the old splices in the wire. Itís been solid since.

Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4554363
10/25/17 05:04 PM
10/25/17 05:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 722
Kansas City, MO
yesthatsteve Offline
yesthatsteve  Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 722
Kansas City, MO
I've had U-Verse for almost five years. Speeds have been a little better than advertised, and reliability has been very good. Had regular DSL with a landline for about six years before that, and the only time I lost service was when my modem died. Much better experiences with both of those than with Comcast where I live.


'13 LaCrosse eAssist, 50000+ miles | Magnatec 5w30 & Fram EG
'11 Accord I4 Sedan, 95000+ miles | Mobil1 0w20 & Fram EG
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4555160
10/26/17 01:21 PM
10/26/17 01:21 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
sleddriver Offline
sleddriver  Offline
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
Originally Posted By: Reddy45
Is my understanding correct that their non-fiber internet is still DSL based?
Yes.
Originally Posted By: Reddy45
Any comments on the reliability, speeds, and does AT&T still like to play tricks with the billing?
Reliability has been good.
Speed is only 6Mb/s, which rATT dares to call "Elite".
Absolutely they play billing tricks.....


1998 Volvo V70 T5 228,880 mi. Original Owner.
M1 10W-30 HM
"It's never a mistake to buy tools, defined broadly. They're not a cost, they're an investment." - J.B. Peterson
Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45] #4555539
10/26/17 07:35 PM
10/26/17 07:35 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 14,424
Silicon Valley
PandaBear Offline
PandaBear  Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 14,424
Silicon Valley
I was using it for 1 year and only recently switched out.

Yes it is still based on DSL, but the copper wire has reduced from their switching facility to the lawn fridge; it is all fiber from there. So speed wise it can go up to 55Mbps or so if I really want, but I only signed up for 6Mbps because that's cheaper and fast enough for me.

You do not need a landline phone service for that. It is reliable I've only been down for an hour once. I think they have their modem that they can log in to diagnose line quality so it probably helps.

You do need to rent their modem instead of buying your own. Last year they force me to rent unless I pay for the higher cost service. This year they just raise the price and make it $40 for 25Mbps instead.

I'm at Comcast and it took me 2 weeks to install, their tech support never called as promised and I was hung with a used modem stuck in another account, CS entered the wrong modem ID/MAC/etc for a long time. But it is $10 cheaper ($30) for 10Mbps when I use my own modem ($20 used from ebay).

Last edited by PandaBear; 10/26/17 07:38 PM.

"You keep asking questions PandaBear and you'll end up a vegetarian like my wife" - Camu Mahubah

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™