Recent Topics
HOME REMEDIES Zinc Oxide Folk Remedy- funny
by CourierDriver
Today at 01:39 PM
Additive Chemistry Components III
by MolaKule
Today at 12:33 PM
Explosion at refinery in Superior, WI.
by john_pifer
Today at 12:08 PM
F1 - 2018 Azerbaijan Grand Prix
by gofast182
Today at 11:56 AM
Best LL-01 Oil Right Now?
by RIPGermanCastrol
Today at 11:43 AM
Can I use this filter?
by asker123
Today at 11:32 AM
Antifreeze Test Strip
by borgward
Today at 11:26 AM
installed 24F battery in a 2004 Corolla
by zorobabel
Today at 10:58 AM
The gas I'm buying is over 5 months old.....
by SHOZ
Today at 10:57 AM
Amazon CEO responds to poor working conditions
by Mr Nice
Today at 10:17 AM
Redline shockproof g80?
by Tjdeerslayer37
Today at 10:12 AM
I found this stuff in my filter . . why?
by OleBillL
Today at 10:09 AM
home HVAC question...to charge or not?
by Schmoe
Today at 09:59 AM
Oil Filter cut RVAV4 130kmi - What is black grit?
by OleBillL
Today at 09:58 AM
T-A-L 5 for Sale
by John2311
Today at 08:51 AM
NEW 2019 Honda Insight and battery?
by flinter
Today at 08:23 AM
Uranus smells like farts, scientists confirm
by IndyIan
Today at 07:43 AM
Ford dropping almost all cars from its NA lineup.
by mightymousetech
Today at 07:30 AM
Pledge furniture polish for your bike?
by ZZman
Today at 07:26 AM
What magazine do you buy?
by Vdubuk
Today at 07:25 AM
Newest Members
Superfede, RIPGermanCastrol, Beard111, Nahojsral, stars4norm
64856 Registered Users
Who's Online
81 registered (69Torino, 65f100, Astro14, BAJA_05, 28oz, 8 invisible), 1893 Guests and 41 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
64856 Members
68 Forums
282390 Topics
4714770 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#4553624 - 10/24/17 09:46 PM Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber)
Reddy45 Offline


Registered: 08/15/08
Posts: 2765
Loc: USA
Is my understanding correct that their non-fiber internet is still DSL based?

Does the DSL still require a landline phone number or can they give you only the internet service?

Any comments on the reliability, speeds, and does AT&T still like to play tricks with the billing?

Top
#4553631 - 10/24/17 09:53 PM Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45]
DerbyDave Offline


Registered: 10/27/15
Posts: 212
Loc: KS
It is DSL based and no AT&T does not require that you have phone service to get internet. I have 18 MB dry loop (no phone) for $60 month. I don't have a contract so my service is month to month, earlier this year I got a letter from AT&T out of the blue telling me that they were increasing my internet speed and lowering my bill at the same time. I guess you could call that a billing trick.
_________________________
1997 Ford Taurus
2007 Honda Ridgeline
2003 Suzuki GZ250
1986 Suzuki Cavalcade
2014 Nissan LEAF (Gone)

Top
#4553636 - 10/24/17 09:55 PM Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45]
Rolla07 Offline


Registered: 11/05/11
Posts: 4672
Loc: MTL, CANADA
I cant say as im in canada but im pretty sure its still DSL based. Dark DSL=will assign you a phone number to ur service without requiring u to pay for the phone line.
_________________________
2007 Corolla Red Pearl 155k miles
PP 0w20 & ST 4967


Top
#4553649 - 10/24/17 10:03 PM Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45]
StevieC Offline


Registered: 08/21/08
Posts: 17116
Loc: Ontario, Canada
I have VDSL service through a reseller on Bell's network and it's a dry-loop without a phone-number but it does come in over the copper phone lines. They charge me $5/month for that and then the Internet charges. All total it's $56.00 / month for an unlimited cap with 50 download and 10 upload service.
_________________________
'15 Dodge Journey - 90,000 KM's - SSO 5w20
'06 Hyundai Santa Fe - 535,000km - SSO 0w30 (R.I.P)

Top
#4553657 - 10/24/17 10:07 PM Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45]
Reddy45 Offline


Registered: 08/15/08
Posts: 2765
Loc: USA
Thanks for the responses so far. Any comments on the reliability? Have speeds been as advertised?

Top
#4553661 - 10/24/17 10:10 PM Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 35585
Loc: Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Reddy45
Thanks for the responses so far. Any comments on the reliability? Have speeds been as advertised?

I have their 24/3 tier. Reliability has been fine. Speeds are more or less as advertised.

They do have a monthly data cap, unless you subscribe to their TV services as well.


_________________________
'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#4553694 - 10/24/17 11:11 PM Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Quattro Pete]
MotoMike Offline


Registered: 05/24/12
Posts: 2
Loc: Ga
AT&T Ultra DSL here, copper, Fastaccess XtremePro, its usually fine, I'm streaming music videos and surfing forums with no problems now. Sometimes I will get net congestion slowdown though. It's $61/month here in GA. No landline req.
_________________________
2005 F150 XLT SCAB
1988 Isuzu Trooper XS
1992 Honda CBR600F2
1997 Honda XR400R
1978 Yamaha XS500E

Top
#4553719 - 10/24/17 11:50 PM Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45]
Merkava_4 Offline


Registered: 01/30/07
Posts: 17501
Loc: Clovis, CA
I used to have it. I dropped them because they wouldn't give me the same deal as the new customers.

Top
#4553948 - 10/25/17 09:30 AM Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45]
Sierra048 Offline


Registered: 02/26/11
Posts: 807
Loc: N. Georgia Mtns
Here in the N. Georgia mountains our only choice is Windstream via DSL. 15mbs down is what they claim I get. No idea what upload speed is. $85/month (including taxes and fees). My choice to live here so I can't complain about the lack of competition. Service has been a little better this past year since they replaced a bad cable feeding our area. There is a legal firm out of either Tennessee or Alabama that's been filing lawsuits on behalf of subscribers for false internet speeds being advertised vs what's being delivered. We shall see. We're pretty much stuck.
_________________________
2014 Nissan Frontier
2014 GMC Sierra 1500

Top
#4553958 - 10/25/17 09:43 AM Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45]
Crispysea Offline


Registered: 04/14/17
Posts: 368
Loc: TN USA
Iíve had it for years, ever since U-Verse started here. Cable is a joke here. Iíve never had any real problems. It started as 18/3, and itís 45/5 now. When we got the upgrade, a tech had to come fix all the old splices in the wire. Itís been solid since.

Top
#4554363 - 10/25/17 05:04 PM Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45]
yesthatsteve Offline


Registered: 06/27/11
Posts: 721
Loc: Kansas City, MO
I've had U-Verse for almost five years. Speeds have been a little better than advertised, and reliability has been very good. Had regular DSL with a landline for about six years before that, and the only time I lost service was when my modem died. Much better experiences with both of those than with Comcast where I live.
_________________________
'13 LaCrosse eAssist, 45000+ miles | Magnatec 5w30 & Fram EG
'11 Accord I4 Sedan, 90000+ miles | Mobil1 0w20 & Fram TG

Top
#4555160 - 10/26/17 01:21 PM Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45]
sleddriver Offline


Registered: 02/06/10
Posts: 4452
Loc: Central Texas
Originally Posted By: Reddy45
Is my understanding correct that their non-fiber internet is still DSL based?
Yes.
Originally Posted By: Reddy45
Any comments on the reliability, speeds, and does AT&T still like to play tricks with the billing?
Reliability has been good.
Speed is only 6Mb/s, which rATT dares to call "Elite".
Absolutely they play billing tricks.....
_________________________
1998 Volvo V70 T5 226,808 mi. Original Owner.
M1 10W-30 HM
"It's never a mistake to buy tools, defined broadly. They're not a cost, they're an investment." - J.B. Peterson

Top
#4555539 - 10/26/17 07:35 PM Re: Anyone have AT&T High Speed Internet? (Not fiber) [Re: Reddy45]
PandaBear Offline


Registered: 08/05/02
Posts: 14149
Loc: Silicon Valley
I was using it for 1 year and only recently switched out.

Yes it is still based on DSL, but the copper wire has reduced from their switching facility to the lawn fridge; it is all fiber from there. So speed wise it can go up to 55Mbps or so if I really want, but I only signed up for 6Mbps because that's cheaper and fast enough for me.

You do not need a landline phone service for that. It is reliable I've only been down for an hour once. I think they have their modem that they can log in to diagnose line quality so it probably helps.

You do need to rent their modem instead of buying your own. Last year they force me to rent unless I pay for the higher cost service. This year they just raise the price and make it $40 for 25Mbps instead.

I'm at Comcast and it took me 2 weeks to install, their tech support never called as promised and I was hung with a used modem stuck in another account, CS entered the wrong modem ID/MAC/etc for a long time. But it is $10 cheaper ($30) for 10Mbps when I use my own modem ($20 used from ebay).


Edited by PandaBear (10/26/17 07:38 PM)
_________________________
"You keep asking questions PandaBear and you'll end up a vegetarian like my wife" - Camu Mahubah

Top