Help, Movie streaming on TV (Canada)

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK I am not the most tech savvy person when it comes to this sort of thing. I lament the old days when I could turn on a TV with one knob, and change channels with another and be entertained for an evening. Somehow those times have gone. However.

We then had video rental stores. On a cold wet night we could pop down the road and rent a movie.

But they have disappeared.

We were told to buy an Apple TV box. We did, and did enjoy some use from it, however it somehow 'lost' out CC account, so we were unable to downlown (and pay) for selected TV shows and Movies other than Netflix.
I spent 2 1/2 hours on the phone with Apple last night with no resolution.

So what are my options?

As I say, I am a tech dummy, so need to be lead by the hand through this. Assume I know nothing!

I hear about Amazon movie streaming?? Is it available in Canada? What do I need? What will I get? How do I get it on our 4 year old TV?

We just want to see a few old movies! All help greatly appreciated.

Apple TV, Roku boxes are available in Canada with Canadian Content and older content from the US/UK etc. Amazon is also available in Canada but from what I understand the content if far worse than what is available through Apple TV / Roku.

Now what you could do if you have someone who is a bit teksavvy and can help you is use a Canadian Netflix Account with a VPN Router to get US Netflix / UK Netflix and then really have the best content available at one low price per month that will be far less than pay as you go with Roku/Apple TV.

Where are you located? Maybe I can help you.

Steve

Last edited:
Vancouver Island, just down the road ;-)

If I had Netflux US and UK (I am a Brit, so that appeals) would I need seperate Netflix accounts?

Where do I get a VPN router?

Honestly, after last night, I won't be buying anymore Apples! But if I can use what I have, I will.