Residential roofs

Status
Not open for further replies.
So kinda an off topic here on BITOG but I'll bet there is some good, knowledgeable folk around. The MIL noticed a leak in her home during some of the recent rains we received. It was just on one day, and seemed to disappear after the first day. Inspected the attic it looks like a single leaky valley with mild mold and no structural involvement. Inspecting the exterior the roof feels solid, shingles appear in good condition with no curling/buckling and well finished. Only had time for one "quote" at this point and they immediately (without assessment or even much introduction) went right to replacing the entire roof. Granted, the roof is approx 30 years old which everywhere I read seems to be a strong indication of replacement.

I have little to no roofing knowledge but I do have some/plenty of DIY time as well as a reasonable head sitting atop my shoulders. Seems if there is only one leaky spot and everything looks good, why wouldn't it be prudent to seal up the leak and monitor? Worst case is a new roof next season, right? Well, I guess WORST case would be the leaking getting worse over winter resulting in water damage, but monitoring should catch that early and allow me to add more sealer/tar, right?

If the shingles look good then just have it repaired. Problem is there is little money in repairs because of the cost to send someone there, setup, do the repair, take down their ladders, clean up and put together an invoice.

You can get shingles from your local home improvement place and fix it yourself. It's not that hard and there are lots of videos online showing you how to do it.

My dad and I repaired his house after a windstorm where the damage was minimal and insurance wasn't going to cover it because the deductible was too high.

Last edited:
If the roof is 30 years old it needs to be replaced. If the budget allows it that is exactly what I would do. Is the insurance going to cover part of it?