pulling up on a wrench gives more force than pushi

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I only weigh 120 and frequently can stand on a lug wrench and not budge the lug nut, but if I grab it with my hands and pull upwards on it I can pretty much loosen it with ease. I got to thinking, is it because the threads are slanted slightly, so it's creating a wedge in between the nut and the mating surface? So when you stand on it all downward force and friction make it harder to spin off?

I'm no engineer but I think I have better luck pushing down. It's all about which one gives you better leverage, so if you get more leverage pulling up, do that.

There is a reason you step on the Lug Wrench on the side of the road to crack the wheel nuts. Pushing with weight behind it is far more effective than pulling. Unless it's some weird contorted position.

Its because the torque you generate depends on how far you pull away from the axis of rotation (lug nut). That's how cheater bars work. The same force applies further from the rotation point gives more torque.

The units for torque are ft-lbs or in-lbs. 1 lbs of force, 1 foot away from the rotation axis is 1 ft-lb of torque. move out 2 feet from the axis or rotation and apply the same 1 lb of force you get 2 ft-lbs. Stay at 1 ft from the rotation axis and apply 2 lb of force and you also get 2 ft-lbs.

When you pull you generally grab the end farthest away from the bolt. When you stand you tend to get more towards the middle of the bar to fit your feet.

That's also why a four-way wrench works better since you pull and push equal distances from the torque point so you double the torque.

Last edited: