Is OEM Air Filter the "BEST"?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is the consensus here that OEM air filters offer the best engine protection (regardless of increased hp or torque claims)? Are OEM air filters the best at keeping out damaging particles while allowing the engine to function as it was designed to function?

Originally Posted By: HangFire
You want a consensus on EVERY OEM brand, type, year, generation of air filters? Ever?
Good point! Some OEM filters might be better than others.

For my application yes! I have purchased a dozen various brands and compared them to Mitsubishi OEM. OEM in most cases was cheaper and better quality. Although, I'm not a scientist, it's just my personal belief. I do have faith in the Japanese. Different strokes for different folks. That's what my grandfather always said.....

Respectfully,

Pajero!

OEM filters generally will flow more air than the engine can use to make power. I'm not sure what other criteria you would use with regard to which is "best" but that one is good enough for me. Modern OEM filters are designed to flow enough air to support the rated power during the full life of the filter (that is, when dirty, and before the recommended replacement mileage).

Since air intake filters are more effective (filter down to smaller particle size) when dirty versus brand new, I often wonder how some people determine which is "best" in the first place. Pressure drop and AFM are reasonable tools to use, guessing or appearance is not.

Plus, and this is so commonly proven that it's surprising it needs mentioning, but having a filter flows more air and generates more HP/Torque than running open (remove the filter), regardless of whether the engine is stock or modified, including highly modified.