What to clean toolbox with?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well I've been a Tech at Sears for 5 years and my store finally went under. I started out as a tire tech and worked my way up. It was my first job and now next week i start at the Ford dealer a lil closer to my house. My Box is kind of filthy and I wanna clean it before I start. I know not to use brake clean but what else could I use to not take off the paint?

Why not start with mild soap and water? Or simple green, or a degreaser?

Be careful with the ball bearing slides though!

I've always used the aerosol can of glass cleaner on my toolbox. The paint is still there after 16 years.

dawn, simple green, wd-40 works pretty good for tar like deposits
list is endless.. I wouldn't get too overzealous toolboxes don't need to be particularly clean.

Originally Posted By: cb_13
I've always used the aerosol can of glass cleaner on my toolbox. The paint is still there after 16 years.
i was thinking windex but wasn't sure if it would effect the paint...

I'm guessing it's a Craftsman box, right? (Duh?) The type of box makes a bit of a difference. I have some old Craftsman boxes where Simple Green is as good as paint stripper
frown.gif

Originally Posted By: Rand
dawn, simple green, wd-40 works pretty good for tar like deposits
list is endless.. I wouldn't get too overzealous toolboxes don't need to be particularly clean.
its got some stuff spilled down the sides of it and has some hard water stains on it because of us cleaning the shop floors.

Rule of thumb is start with the least abrasive or least harsh option, so soap and water would be a wise starting point. Further steps would be dictated by the substance you're trying to remove. For example, you would handle grease differently than paint overspray.

Originally Posted By: Ethan1
I'm guessing it's a Craftsman box, right? (Duh?) The type of box makes a bit of a difference. I have some old Craftsman boxes where Simple Green is as good as paint stripper