Fort Hood/Bell County vehicle inspection/emissions

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was wondering if anyone knows how they do their vehicle inspections in the Fort Hood/Bell County area? I'm actually a Texas resident but is currently stationed in NC and will be getting stationed in TX soon. My vehicle is registered in Tarrant County/DFW which does emissions testing I believe. Just thought I could get some insight on what to do once I move there, what kind of inspections they do vehicles and what I need to do in my particular case since I'm already a Texas resident in another county.

- Vehicle is registered in Tarrant County/DFW TX which does emissions
- Will be moving to Fort Hood/Bell TX County
- Currently at Fort Bragg/Cumberland County NC

If you're in the service you can consider your former address your domicile for registration/ inspection purposes.

What car is this? Are you worried? I doubt it's any more than an OBDII scan.

Well I am south of Fort Hood in Williamson county.

I can speak for the inspection process.

Number one if you are active duty you can have expired plates on your car and expired license. I know many enlisted folks with 10 year old license plates from all over the country.

As for vehicle inspection, it is a standard OBD2 plug in test, a gas cap test, and a very basic safety test.

There are many places around the Austin area, and north that offer 10 minute inspections. Basically the dude drives your car around the block to test "safety", then pulls it in a bay and plugs in to it, and you pass.

I have only heard of people failing for bald tires, or bulbs/lights inoperable. Suspension components are not checked.

The Texas vehicle inspection is so stupid, there is talk of it going away.