0W-20 Mazda v. Castrol v others

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just helped my daughter buy a 2017 Mazda CX-3 which specs 0W-20 and I will be changing the oil. This is my third 0W-20 car so I have a fair amount of experience with Honda Genuine, TGMO and AFE, with the latter two being my oils of choice.

Mazda owner's manual says to use Mazda brand or Castrol. I have no experience with either of these. IIRC, The Mazda oil was highly regarded when it came out for its VI and high moly content. After a bit of Googling, it seems the Mazda oil is only available through its dealers. I'm going to assume they won't retail at a competitive price but I've got an email into my Parts Manager and if you know of a good mail order source, by all means let's hear about it. What about the Castrol? Edge is $3 higher than AFE at the Mart. I would assume this is a high quality oil but haven't studied up on it.

Thanks in advance for the input.

Last edited:
One local Mazda dealer offered the Genuine Mazda 0w20 for $7 per quart, and it was the best deal I could get on it to break-in a Ford engine (all that moly). Call around I guess is the best one can do.
You could just go with Mobil1's great rebate, use their Mobil1 EP 0w20 from Walmart, take the rebate ( https://mobiloil.com/en/promotion/mobil-promotions ) , and then add some LM MOS2 (Amazon or NAPA autoparts) during break-in.

CX-3 is sa-weet! Mazda really has their act together. Top-rated models across their lineup.
She should let you drive it, and report back what you think.

Congrats on the new CX-3. That is a sharp looking vehicle that your daughter will enjoy.