Recent Topics
Brakes not working - brake pedal sinks
by tookien
49 minutes 1 second ago
Dave thinks I can make it 12--15k
by Marco620
Today at 12:26 AM
'05 Impala front wheel "squeal". Cost !
by Lee4212
Today at 12:16 AM
One Dollar Per Gallon?
by Y_K
Yesterday at 11:53 PM
Walmart Tightening up Returns
by John_K
Yesterday at 10:21 PM
flare nut wrench set
by spasm3
Yesterday at 09:46 PM
Auto trans temperature scanner - help!
by JeffKeryk
Yesterday at 09:45 PM
How much is too much?
by Sealbilly
Yesterday at 09:34 PM
Correct oil filter for a Vovlo S60, 2003
by earthworm
Yesterday at 09:17 PM
Prestone coolant $3.50 Target YMMV
by pda1122
Yesterday at 09:13 PM
Need Windows 7 Pro ISO
by MONKEYMAN
Yesterday at 08:33 PM
PEAK Full Synthetic -- Anyone Try It ??
by johnnyz73
Yesterday at 07:40 PM
Why high resale value on Jeeps if frames rust out?
by Vern_in_IL
Yesterday at 06:48 PM
Wearever Silver Semi-Metallic Brake Pads- Break In
by ET16
Yesterday at 06:37 PM
Where to Buy Motul Oil in Stores?
by Hot_Ajax
Yesterday at 06:13 PM
2011 Chevy equinox overheating
by hardcore302
Yesterday at 06:00 PM
Are my rotors warped?
by Dylan1303
Yesterday at 05:44 PM
Ultimate Fast Finish on sale at CDN tire.
by irv
Yesterday at 05:23 PM
96 Civic 5w20 Castrol GTX Ultraclean UOA
by researcher
Yesterday at 04:52 PM
VOA Castrol Magnatec D1G2, 5w30
by researcher
Yesterday at 04:38 PM
Newest Members
JustaDude, 3horseman, Firedog45, WtsTacoma01, Orion62
65265 Registered Users
Who's Online
32 registered (1WildPig, ctechbob, Backwoods41695, clinebarger, David2431, 2015_PSD), 887 Guests and 46 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65265 Members
67 Forums
285573 Topics
4765623 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4530648 - 09/30/17 09:24 PM Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly?
motor_oil_madman Offline


Registered: 11/29/09
Posts: 4838
Loc: Houston, Texas
So I had some ac work done on my truck like a month or two ago and some genius didn't tighten one of my battery cables enough. Something still doesn't add up here though. The truck in my sig has two 850cc amp batteries and I would think it would still start off of one battery. All it did was click when I turned the key and I had to be jump started. Anyways, I got to thinking that since the batteries are wired up in parallel that you should unhook them and test them individually, which they didn't do.

Opinions? I'm glad my 1/0 gauge jumper cables finally came in handy.
_________________________
2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.


Top
#4530651 - 09/30/17 09:25 PM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: motor_oil_madman]
motor_oil_madman Offline


Registered: 11/29/09
Posts: 4838
Loc: Houston, Texas
I guess the question is how big of deal was it that they did it this way.
_________________________
2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.


Top
#4530652 - 09/30/17 09:29 PM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: motor_oil_madman]
ArcticDriver Offline


Registered: 01/27/17
Posts: 1139
Loc: USA
I always test my batteries individually.

Did they perform a load test?

What were their test results?

Do you have a battery charger? If so then isolate each battery and fully charge. Then test.
_________________________
Multiple Diesel and Gasoline vehicles

Top
#4530655 - 09/30/17 09:30 PM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: motor_oil_madman]
FordBroncoVWJeta Offline


Registered: 04/16/16
Posts: 766
Loc: KS
They should have tested the batteries one at a time. One battery could be going bad and discharging killing the other one.
_________________________
17 Volkswagen Jetta 1.4T
15 Honda CRV 2.4
12 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0
01 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2

Top
#4530656 - 09/30/17 09:30 PM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: motor_oil_madman]
14Accent Offline


Registered: 08/03/17
Posts: 390
Loc: MN
They should always be tested individually.
_________________________
2013 Chevrolet Volt - Saves enough in fuel to pay for itself!

Top
#4530658 - 09/30/17 09:31 PM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: motor_oil_madman]
motor_oil_madman Offline


Registered: 11/29/09
Posts: 4838
Loc: Houston, Texas
Yeah they load tested them and both came out fine and also tested the alternator too.
_________________________
2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.


Top
#4530659 - 09/30/17 09:34 PM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: motor_oil_madman]
motor_oil_madman Offline


Registered: 11/29/09
Posts: 4838
Loc: Houston, Texas
Last time my batteries were going bad the guy just gave me new ones. They couldn't even get the tester to work at first.
_________________________
2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.


Top
#4530706 - 09/30/17 10:44 PM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: motor_oil_madman]
JMJNet Offline


Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 931
Loc: TX, USA
How old is the batteries?
Usually, they last around 3-4 years.

Do yourself a favor, go to Harbor Freight and buy a battery load tester around $20.
It should help you determine if you need to change your batteries or not.
Doing it yourself, you should take the time to do it right like one battery at a time.
_________________________
  • 2017 Toyota Sienna
  • 1995 GMC Suburban 6.5L Turbo Diesel



Top
#4530709 - 09/30/17 10:46 PM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: JMJNet]
motor_oil_madman Offline


Registered: 11/29/09
Posts: 4838
Loc: Houston, Texas
Originally Posted By: JMJNet
How old is the batteries?
Usually, they last around 3-4 years.

Do yourself a favor, go to Harbor Freight and buy a battery load tester around $20.
It should help you determine if you need to change your batteries or not.
Doing it yourself, you should take the time to do it right like one battery at a time.


I won't load test a battery. One almost blew up on me one time and I promised never again.
_________________________
2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.


Top
#4530710 - 09/30/17 10:47 PM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: motor_oil_madman]
motor_oil_madman Offline


Registered: 11/29/09
Posts: 4838
Loc: Houston, Texas
You haven't lived until you see smoke coming from a battery.
_________________________
2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.


Top
#4530808 - 10/01/17 02:22 AM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: motor_oil_madman]
Johnny2Bad Offline


Registered: 05/20/13
Posts: 1810
Loc: Saskatchewan, Canada
If they truly are parallel connected lead-acids (without a dual battery isolator) then the cells have to match in voltage and essentially condition overall. If not (for example one battery in poorer shape than the other) then the bad battery will drain the good one until the voltages match (which might be too little to start the vehicle).

If you have an isolator then the vehicle will charge them individually and the start battery will get priority. A good isolator should allow you to switch both in parallel for starting for extra current. Don't forget to switch back to isolated after the start.
_________________________
'57 FL Straight 50 wt
'90 Miata 1.8L w/Rotrex Supercharger [Mobil1 0W-40]
'96 Ram 1500 [3.7L Mobil1 0W-20 / 1L 15W-50]
'01 PT Cruiser [Mobil1 0W-40]

Top
#4530815 - 10/01/17 02:42 AM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: motor_oil_madman]
Colt45ws Offline


Registered: 08/15/06
Posts: 9637
Loc: Central Washington
Originally Posted By: motor_oil_madman
You haven't lived until you see smoke coming from a battery.




On these I prefer to take the negative cable off one and test individually if possible. Dual 850s usually will say good on a conductance tester even if one is marginal Ive noticed. Maybe the newer ones are better than my old model but I'd think it would give a better idea of how each one is working if you split it.
Whats nice is the out-of-vehicle testing mode is more accurate and faster too, so if I want to get really in depth, Id pull the negative off one battery, test it, reinstall and then do the same on the other one.
Then none of the electronics lose power during testing either.


Edited by Colt45ws (10/01/17 02:46 AM)
_________________________
-Colton
2002 Ford Crown Vic PI 207k, Ex-Kootenai County, ID Unit #42
Down for engine swap
2003 Ford Crown Vic PI 75k
Castrol EDGE HM 5W30, Fram XG2

Top
#4530857 - 10/01/17 05:32 AM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: Johnny2Bad]
ArcticDriver Offline


Registered: 01/27/17
Posts: 1139
Loc: USA
Originally Posted By: Johnny2Bad
If they truly are parallel connected lead-acids (without a dual battery isolator) then the cells have to match in voltage and essentially condition overall. If not (for example one battery in poorer shape than the other) then the bad battery will drain the good one until the voltages match (which might be too little to start the vehicle).

If you have an isolator then the vehicle will charge them individually and the start battery will get priority. A good isolator should allow you to switch both in parallel for starting for extra current. Don't forget to switch back to isolated after the start.


Dpesn't his diesel already use both batteries to start the vehicle? He does not have an isolator from the factory and very few diesel pickups ever do. Its just a dual battery system and both are always functioning together.

Good you mention they need to work together and be in similar condition. They should be replaced together even if only one is faulty and hopefully with an identical product.
_________________________
Multiple Diesel and Gasoline vehicles

Top
#4530909 - 10/01/17 08:20 AM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: motor_oil_madman]
Driz Offline


Registered: 09/23/07
Posts: 259
Loc: northern NY
Get a battery load tester . You're always going to need one anyways. Amazon, under $20. It's one of those gotta have tools for anybody who does their own work.

Top
#4530962 - 10/01/17 09:11 AM Re: Did autozone test my batteries incorrectly? [Re: Johnny2Bad]
motor_oil_madman Offline


Registered: 11/29/09
Posts: 4838
Loc: Houston, Texas
Originally Posted By: Johnny2Bad
If they truly are parallel connected lead-acids (without a dual battery isolator) then the cells have to match in voltage and essentially condition overall. If not (for example one battery in poorer shape than the other) then the bad battery will drain the good one until the voltages match (which might be too little to start the vehicle).

If you have an isolator then the vehicle will charge them individually and the start battery will get priority. A good isolator should allow you to switch both in parallel for starting for extra current. Don't forget to switch back to isolated after the start.



I guess that explains it then. The battery with the loose cable must have lost charge long enough and then caused it to bring the other battery down with it.
_________________________
2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.


Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >