Furnace filters

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’ve read so much about which furnace filter to use...Yada yada...

MERV over 11 too restrictive. Repair guys use those flimsy filter things at $1 each. Electrostatic is the way to go. Get a lifetime filter and never replace again.

Does anybody definitively know? Experts please reply.
grin.gif

Im not an expert by any means but i think it depends on how easy the filter is to change and how much stuff you are filtering.

I change my mothers every 3 months or so and its absolutely filthy. If i use the high dollar filters they clog and suck themselves inward bypassing, the cheapos seem to do the best trapping everything on one side and not imploding.

So my vote would be to try the cheapo blue glass media filter and check on it every month..if its not that bad then move up to a better one and check on it every few months.

I use the least expensive pleated filter, on the recommendation of the HVAC tech at work. Works for me.

I compromise with MERV 7 or 8 pleated filters. They catch more than the fiberglass cheapies and have more surface area. Mine are both in ceiling grills and I run my blower continuously and just change them when they look dirty which ends up being about every two months or so. I get them cheap because I work for Lennox and our filters are made specifically for us. If my unit in the attic had the space I would add a housing for a 5" filter, throw a MERV 10 or 11 in there, and just change it annually. I did add self adhesive door weatherstripping inside my grills so the filters are held in place and bypass is more or less eliminated.

There really isn't ONE right filter setup for every situation I'm afraid.

DBMaster, believe it or not, I’m still using a Pulse. Installed in 1994. Never changed plug. Only cleaned and replaced that filter. Which one of your filters should I use?

Originally Posted By: DBMaster

There really isn't ONE right filter setup for every situation I'm afraid.