Leave snows on all year?

Status
Not open for further replies.
How much of those miles are driven in over 25C* weather? If not much.. It is far from ideal but it can be done. Accelerated wear and little worse handling in the peak of the summer is expected but with less than 13k km a year I say go for it. With quality winter tyre wife will be safe as possible in worst winter weather, over summer little attention and it should fine. My wife drove this summer on winters. She survived in temperatures way over you will experience. She has a similar driving patern as your missus- 15-17k a year. I just put new winter tyres every 3 years and forget about rubber.

I've been leaving snows on all year for 3-4 years now. I have been using General Altimax Arctics exclusively, other tires may differ. I also run them at the max inflation pressure on the sidewall (44 psi in my case). After a while, one gets used to how a vehicle will perform, including how the tires affect things, and one learns what the limits are. They are a step up from the worn all-seasons that were on the cars previously. The tires also perform well in the rain, I feel.

My Sable went 30k on a set, until the rust got bad enough to get rid of the car. Floormats should not be structural...
eek.gif

On my Focus, the rears burned off in about 22k account alignment issues, but the fronts look good for another winter at least. When I got them, the shop priced a set of RT43s the same as the Altimax Arctics. My employer has pretty much said we are required to report to work no matter the conditions (even blizzard warnings), so snow tires were an easy choice.

Originally Posted By: OilGuy2
Originally Posted By: db500
Originally Posted By: rcy
Yes. The softer tread compound will wear away faster when it's hot out and also lead to 'squishy' handling of the vehicle.