9 years behind the times.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Today, I learned that President Bush signed a law in 2008 allowing veterans to salute the flag or salute during the national anthem. As a 20 year veteran, I should have learned that in 2008!

That's why I was somewhat surprised that Pittsburgh Steeler Alejandro Villanueva was not saluting during the anthem before their game with the Bears. Ex-Army Ranger, playing in a stadium that was NAMED after all US military killed in combat (Soldier Field)-I'm not much of a Steelers fan, but I would be PROUD to wear his jersey!

It is now allowed for a veteran to salute. Not required. Hand over heart is entirely acceptable.

Yup the track announcer at NASCAR races says "please remove your hats and place your hands over your hearts. Veterans may render a hand salute" before the anthem. They show it before every race on TV. Noticed the NFL rarely shows the anthem pre-game. I saw it on the first game of the year and the London game.

Originally Posted By: bullwinkle
That's why I was somewhat surprised that Pittsburgh Steeler Alejandro Villanueva was not saluting during the anthem before their game with the Bears. Ex-Army Ranger, playing in a stadium that was NAMED after all US military killed in combat (Soldier Field)-I'm not much of a Steelers fan, but I would be PROUD to wear his jersey!

Steeler Fans will be boycotting the game on Veterans Day. Hope its successful.

It is sad that Americans are getting so partisan over this. Kneeling is also a respectful gesture, and should be allowed as well.

Originally Posted By: redbone3
Today, I learned that President Bush signed a law in 2008 allowing veterans to salute the flag or salute during the national anthem. As a 20 year veteran, I should have learned that in 2008!

Why did there need to be a law to allow that in the first place? Who/what was stopping them?

Not being snarky. I genuinely don't understand that there was an issue that this law addressed.