Sticky/Lazy thermostat or...?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hoping for some input here. I have my suspicions, but I'm not an expert on cooling, and I'm not a professional mechanic, so I thought I'd see what others have to say.

This is for my 2010 Fusion with the 2.5 Duratec. I use Torque Pro on a daily basis on my Galaxy S3 'car dash' to monitor everything so I notice when things seem 'different.' The thermostat in this car is a 190F thermostat, and from what I've read, it's supposed to be completely open at ~208F. The coolant system is 'reverse flow.'

Okay, so I drive a lot. Most of my driving is highway, and I commute 55 miles each way, about 52 of which is highway. I see some rush hour bumper-to-bumper traffic regularly, but most of the driving is pretty clear.. usually cruising between about 70-75 mph. Typically, during highway cruising, I see coolant temps fluctuate between 194 and 201 degrees F. There are times it seems to hover lower (186-192), and then other times it hovers up higher (203-206).. doesn't seem to follow any real rhyme or reason.

Today, on my drive in, ambient temps were between about 70-72F, and my drive was pretty standard.. and shortly after I got onto the highway, coolant temps got up in the 203-204 range, and didn't seem to want to come down from there, whether I was going 75 or slowing down to merge, etc.. Then, at one point, I hit an incline with some traffic, and things came down to a crawl. When I hit the top of the incline, the engine was at 208.4F, and traffic opened up (This is normal in this spot - 101 loop north @ Cave Creek road.. there's a backup because of the exit). So I got to the top of the hill, traffic opened up, and I started to speed up again.. and within about 40 seconds, the temps were suddenly down to 183F.. and rose back up and stayed between 186 and 197 until I got off the highway about 12 miles later.

There are also those days when the same trip never sees the coolant get over about 190-192.