Oil for high mileage Nissan Pathfinder

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 1994 Nissan Pathfinder that I've owned for over 10 years. It currently has 447,000km (275~k miles) on the original motor. But recently I've noticed on trips through hilly areas where I have to gear down and rev the motor high to maintain speed, it will use oil. Not a lot, but 1/2 to 1 quart every 1500km deepening on the load. I've gotten used to just slowing down and it is fine, just like my normal city driving. I know it's probably just wear, but I'm wondering if I should step up the oil viscosity? Still running the OE spec'd 5w30, usually Pennzoil. I do all my own work but I am by no means an oil expert. All gaskets have been replaced at some point and there are no leaks, so I don't think high mileage oil will help, right? And no I won't put lucas in it! lol

High mileage oil will help keep ageing seals flexible so they won't begin to look. If those seals are older than 6 years and/or 80,000 miles, then you really should be using a High Mileage Oil. 5w30 is fine. Valvoline MaxLife would be my pick.

2w2oork.jpg

Originally Posted By: oil_film_movies
High mileage oil will help keep ageing seals flexible so they won't begin to look. If those seals are older than 6 years and/or 80,000 miles, then you really should be using a High Mileage Oil. 5w30 is fine. Valvoline MaxLife would be my pick.

They are quite new, I changed the oil pan gasket in the spring. And the rear main seal 2 years ago. Camshaft/front crank was done at last timing belt interval, as were the valve cover gaskets. About 4 years. Nothing leaks at all externally.

I will try and find some maxlife, I wish Canadian tire carried Valvoline. Walmart here seems to be a [censored] shoot as to whether it is in stock. I haven't seen chevron here either.

I sent off an oil analysis from the last change and I'm really curious as to the results. Will certainly post here!

Thank you everyone for your input. Love this site.