Recent Topics
Toyota Genuine oil 10W30
by gordond. 09/22/18 09:27 AM
Good Dealers
by HowAboutThis. 09/22/18 09:12 AM
electric brakes rely on heat to work?
by motor_oil_madman. 09/22/18 09:09 AM
help please 7.25 briggs idle too fast
by edwardh1. 09/22/18 08:49 AM
Java update and Flash not working
by JLTD. 09/22/18 08:47 AM
Bought a Giulia
by RamFan. 09/22/18 08:38 AM
Toyota Genuine oil 10W30
by gordond. 09/22/18 08:37 AM
Mobil 1 Extended Protection High Mileage Test
by njohnson. 09/22/18 07:57 AM
WPA 3 Wireless Security Coming
by StevieC. 09/22/18 01:16 AM
Robo Calls/Telemarketers
by Nick1994. 09/22/18 12:47 AM
What oil should be used!
by BigShug681. 09/22/18 12:28 AM
VW Electronic Parking Brake
by StevieC. 09/21/18 11:48 PM
Leak Sealing and Mould Treatments?
by Ducked. 09/21/18 11:44 PM
UPS / FedEx / USPS
by StevieC. 09/21/18 11:21 PM
puncture repair question
by neo3. 09/21/18 10:55 PM
Can I use a 10 amp extension cord for...
by gregk24. 09/21/18 10:48 PM
In the unlikely event of a crash
by StevieC. 09/21/18 10:09 PM
Newest Members
Sarrge, Big_R, gordond, mrgreggn, JRMFt11
66040 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
66 registered members (BAJA_05, bdcardinal, Ablebody, 2002Bigride, Anduril, BrianF, 5 invisible), 1,889 guests, and 44 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics290,821
Posts4,851,005
Members66,040
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet #4522270
09/21/17 02:10 PM
09/21/17 02:10 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
SHOZ Offline OP
SHOZ  Offline OP
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
As the title states I have two WiFi networks and only want the internet to use just one.

So I have a Verizon JetPack WiFi hot spot for my internet connection. The phone, laptop and desktop all connect through wireless hardware.

I also have a Netgear router that is hard wired to the desktop and connects to the laptop with wireless.

With the JetPack it counts the data files I share between computers as total data and after 15Gb a month the speed is throttled back to 3G speed.

So is there a way to limit the internet access to only the Jetpack and use the other network for the data sharing at the same time? I can disconnect one and connect to the other but would like to use both at the same time.


2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual
Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: SHOZ] #4522371
09/21/17 03:46 PM
09/21/17 03:46 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,916
Chicago, IL
EdwardC Offline
EdwardC  Offline
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,916
Chicago, IL
I'm not sure I understand... Your internet comes from the JetPack. Your phone, laptop and desktop get internet wirelessly through the JetPack.

what does the Netgear router do? Why is the desktop hardwired to the router? Why would your laptop be connected wirelessly to the router (I don't think most laptops can connect to two wireless connections at once)? Does the router have its own internet connection?

Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: SHOZ] #4522376
09/21/17 03:58 PM
09/21/17 03:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
SHOZ Offline OP
SHOZ  Offline OP
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
When i first set up the Jetpack I already had the Netgear router. At the time the desktop did not have wireless so I used the Ethernet cord and the router for internet. I also had a network set up where I could map drives from one computer to the other and share the files and the printer.

When I got the Jetpack and set that up on my laptop I had both networks but could only be connected to one at a time. So I got rid of the Netgear router. But I've found out when i print or move files from computer to computer or use a program and use a data file from the other computer, this is all going against my Unlimited Data plan.

well the data is unlimited but they slow it down after 15Gb of use. So in trying to limit data going through the Jetpack i would like to use the older Netgear network for file sharing and printing.

I believe on the laptop I need another wireless adapter to be connected to both networks. The desktop I want to use the hardwired Netgear network and I have the wireless adapter for the Jetpack internet.

Basically I want a wireless network for the Jetpack and internet only use. The Netgear network for file sharing. Currently i have folders shared on both computers. Have turned off file and print sharing and am only using he Jetpack network, this is still allowing me to access files from both computer though.


2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual
Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: SHOZ] #4522381
09/21/17 04:04 PM
09/21/17 04:04 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,208
Texas
JustinH Offline
JustinH  Offline
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,208
Texas
turn the jetpack off if you are not using it.


'11 Hyundai Sonata GLS
'11 Scion XB
Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: JustinH] #4522387
09/21/17 04:08 PM
09/21/17 04:08 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
SHOZ Offline OP
SHOZ  Offline OP
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
Originally Posted By: JustinH
turn the jetpack off if you are not using it.
I'm using the internet all the time to upload weather data 24/7.


2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual
Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: SHOZ] #4522420
09/21/17 04:47 PM
09/21/17 04:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,086
ME
eljefino Offline
eljefino  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,086
ME
What netgear router do you have?

I am very suspicious of the intra-network data sharing going against your wireless cap, but, whatever.

Can you set up a secondary wifi spot (name) with your netgear router? Then go into windows network options and use #2 for "internet" and #1 for peer-to-peer sharing.

Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: eljefino] #4522431
09/21/17 04:55 PM
09/21/17 04:55 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
SHOZ Offline OP
SHOZ  Offline OP
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
Originally Posted By: eljefino
What netgear router do you have?

I am very suspicious of the intra-network data sharing going against your wireless cap, but, whatever.

Can you set up a secondary wifi spot (name) with your netgear router? Then go into windows network options and use #2 for "internet" and #1 for peer-to-peer sharing.
I think that is what I have to do but I have to have two network controllers on each machine, two wireless ones on the laptop and one wireless one hardwired to the Ethernet card to the router on the desktop.

It's an Netgear R6300. I asked today of Verizon if the computer to computer data was being counted and they said all data that goes through the JetPack is counted. I hit the 15Gb limit in 15 days and 15Gb or less is the normal monthly internet usage.

What I need is to run both networks at the same time but have the Jetpack internet only access and the Netgear computer to computer data only.


2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual
Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: SHOZ] #4522447
09/21/17 05:11 PM
09/21/17 05:11 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 469
Killadelphia
NYSteve Offline
NYSteve  Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 469
Killadelphia
Can you hardwire both computers together? If not I think you'll need another wireless adaptor. still would be tricky.

They reason your file transfers are using your data is because when you are transferring files, your computer is uploading them through the jetpack, across the internet, then the other computer downloads them.

Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: SHOZ] #4522448
09/21/17 05:14 PM
09/21/17 05:14 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
SHOZ Offline OP
SHOZ  Offline OP
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
So the next thing is how do you make internet only over one network and the compter data over another?


2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual
Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: SHOZ] #4522464
09/21/17 05:33 PM
09/21/17 05:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,137
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,137
Ontario, Canada
The easiest way would be to setup something like an ASUS EA-N66 in Bridge mode on the "WAN" side of the Netgear and connect it, as the sole client, to the JetPack. Connect all the wireless clients behind the Netgear. That way, the only data that counts against your usage is what comes out the WAN port on the Netgear.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: SHOZ] #4522468
09/21/17 05:38 PM
09/21/17 05:38 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
SHOZ Offline OP
SHOZ  Offline OP
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
Here is a wireless adapter that plugs into an Ethernet port. I could then use it to reciev the Netgear signal and port it into the on board Ethernet card.


Universal Wi-Fi N Adapter - Ethernet to Wi-Fi N


2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual
Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: SHOZ] #4522510
09/21/17 06:24 PM
09/21/17 06:24 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
sleddriver Offline
sleddriver  Offline
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
Originally Posted By: SHOZ
With the JetPack it counts the data files I share between computers as total data and after 15Gb a month the speed is throttled back to 3G speed.

So is there a way to limit the internet access to only the Jetpack and use the other network for the data sharing at the same time? I can disconnect one and connect to the other but would like to use both at the same time.

Wow...that's nuts. Definitely NOT in your favor. Your provider is loving it though...

Yes, there is.


1998 Volvo V70 T5 228,880 mi. Original Owner.
M1 10W-30 HM
"It's never a mistake to buy tools, defined broadly. They're not a cost, they're an investment." - J.B. Peterson
Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: SHOZ] #4522542
09/21/17 07:08 PM
09/21/17 07:08 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,137
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,137
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: SHOZ
Here is a wireless adapter that plugs into an Ethernet port. I could then use it to reciev the Netgear signal and port it into the on board Ethernet card.


Universal Wi-Fi N Adapter - Ethernet to Wi-Fi N


No.

You want to use it to connect to your service and distribute it through the Netgear. You want all your devices, wired and wireless BEHIND the netgear, with the only thing connecting to the verizon device as something like this, which will indeed require an ethernet connection, so the above will indeed work for that purpose, however I've had good luck with ASUS products, which is why I recommended it.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: eljefino] #4522577
09/21/17 07:43 PM
09/21/17 07:43 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,528
USA
mk378 Online content
mk378  Online Content
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,528
USA
Originally Posted By: eljefino

I am very suspicious of the intra-network data sharing going against your wireless cap, but, whatever.

Yes it does not work that way. Verizon only counts data that goes to or from the Internet through their cell tower.

However, if you use Dropbox, Google Drive, etc. cloud based service, the files you share from one computer go to the Internet and then back to the other computer.

You could use the Ethernet to wifi adapter to connect to the Jetpack, as the only device connected to the Jetpack. Then plug the Ethernet cable into the WAN ("Internet") port of your Netgear. All your computers connect to the Netgear for wired or wireless internal networking. They also have Internet use through the Jetpack. The Jetpack will not see any of your internal traffic through the Netgear.

Last edited by mk378; 09/21/17 07:52 PM.
Re: Two WiFi networks need to usejust one for internet [Re: SHOZ] #4522950
09/22/17 08:16 AM
09/22/17 08:16 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
SHOZ Offline OP
SHOZ  Offline OP
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,921
Illinois
I was told whatever goes through the device is what they count as data. And the large increase in data used seems to agree with this.


2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™