Proper method to apply dielectric grease...

Status
Not open for further replies.

prs

... to electrical connections. I know my technique, but I may be a self taught idiot. So, does one slather the grease onto the conductors and plastic, rubber connector surfaces? Or does one only apply the grease to the conductors? Or just to the surface of the male connecter?

My way is to only apply to the male connector's surface that goes into the female, thus sealing the joint. I do not get any on the conductor pins. But which is correct?

prs

This should be a good one. Dielectric grease stops the flow of electricity. Therefore, do not put it directly on the conductors.

Originally Posted By: leje0306
This should be a good one. Dielectric grease stops the flow of electricity. Therefore, do not put it directly on the conductors.

Huh? Most male and female connections make contact via friction. The connection will displace (scrape) away the grease; the grease will have zero effect on the connection. The benefit of dielectric grease, is that it will keep out moisture and prevent oxidation, allowing the contact to remain corrosion-free.

To the OP, it doesn't matter. I apply a small amount of dielectric grease to the female connector, so that the male will enter, the grease displaced, and a good seal formed.

no

lol My old boss put dielectric grease on the battery cables of his Semi, then it wouldn't start. He is a smart guy, but didn't realize just what dielectric meant. I had to clean the cables and explain to him what he did.

Yay! At last a rationale for copper-based anti seize.

Originally Posted By: gathermewool

Huh? Most male and female connections make contact via friction. The connection will displace (scrape) away the grease; the grease will have zero effect on the connection. The benefit of dielectric grease, is that it will keep out moisture and prevent oxidation, allowing the contact to remain corrosion-free.