AR-10

Status
Not open for further replies.
Been thinking a little more about a fairly lightweight .308 rifle. Why not an AR-10? They seem to have a reputation for being fairly accurate, lightweight, reliable, and you can get one without selling a kidney.

I know some of y'all own AR-10s. What do you have? What do you really like about it? Anything about it that you've discovered that you don't like?

I usually tend not to buy top-of-the-line, but more like 7/10, to avoid diminishing returns for my $. So, I like quality, but I like to get a lot for my money.

I'm thinking 16" barrel and left-side charging handle. I'm not interested in suppressing. And, as I said earlier, weight is a priority. Like to have something that's 7-8 lbs. in stock configuration.

What's better - direct gas impingement or piston? Pros/cons of each?

Also, what optics do you guys like? I have no experience with optics.

I have a Smith and Wesson M&P 10. It is very picky on ammo, but other than that it is a great gun. I haven't bought optics yet since anything decent costs as much as other things I keep buying.

Mine is a DPMS AP-4 Carbine in .308. It's been a very good running, accurate rifle. Astro 14 has one as well. I'm sure he'll chime in here with the positive results he's had with his as well. It's a nice, well built weapon for the money. (Right around $1K to $1,100.00). Like most AR platform rifles, they like a lot of lube, and run better on hot ammo.

yiOkq5t.jpg

I am looking at getting a 5.56mm rifle and am pondering the same kinds of issues.
My limited understanding is that the direct gas impingement system is lighter than one using a gas piston, but the former is more susceptible to fouling and requires more maintenance. I talked to a gun salesman who is a former Marine who said he has had dozens of AR type rifles (including service weapons) and has never had a feed problem, but he admitted that he was extremely proficient at and fanatical about maintenance.