Which Lubegard?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello folks,

I have been changing transmission fluid for my 2006 Sentra. I have already changed it using Nissan Matic Type D ATF. I am going to change 3rd and last time in a week. Haven't gotten around going to the dealership to get the ATF. I was advised in the past to use red Lubegard.

Since my transmission (RE4F03B) is not listed in the pdf file on Lubegard's website, I wrote them to make sure. They replied saying I could use either, the red one or gray bottle Platinum variant. I don't know how these two differ. Hence I am back with the question, Which one do I use,
Lubegard Automatic Transmission Fluid Protectant #60902 or
Lubegard Platinum Universal #63010

Its not that I don't trust previous recommendations. Their reply just made me think more, hence the questions.

Thanks for your suggestions.

I would ask why you are using either one. Is there a problem you're trying to cure? Or is there something wrong with the Matic Type D?

I'm very happy with LG Red in my Matic-D application. It softened up the harsh 1-2 shift Nissan/Infiniti A/T's are known for.

Use LG Red when using the correct ATF (to enhance the ATFs ability to take heat).
Use LG Platinum to convert an ATF to your application.

I personally will only use LG Red with a correct (or 'suitable for') ATF.....I'm not a believer in converting lesser fluids....

Originally Posted By: pbm
Use LG Red when using the correct ATF (to enhance the ATFs ability to take heat).
Use LG Platinum to convert an ATF to your application.

I personally will only use LG Red with a correct (or 'suitable for') ATF.....I'm not a believer in converting lesser fluids....

+1 Same here.

Originally Posted By: mclasser
I'm very happy with LG Red in my Matic-D application. It softened up the harsh 1-2 shift Nissan/Infiniti A/T's are known for.

This is exactly the reason I am asking.