Recent Topics
Inherited gallons of Amsoil 40wt oils all cars 30w
by Rmay635703
04/25/18 06:47 AM
Oil Filter Recommendations for a 82 trans am
by GMguy84
04/25/18 05:24 AM
Teflon tape vs. paste
by dlundblad
04/25/18 04:13 AM
Shelf life of various fluids?
by Chris B.
04/25/18 03:56 AM
Shelf life of unopened/opened oil?
by Chris B.
04/25/18 03:49 AM
Is there a search or filter option?
by MellieK
04/25/18 01:32 AM
The Cuban Sandwich
by BlueOvalFitter
04/25/18 12:46 AM
Can't decide...but I need another pal
by Marco620
04/25/18 12:36 AM
We Will Remember Them.
by Silk
04/25/18 12:28 AM
Venezuela Arrests US Chevron Employees for Treason
by Nyogtha
04/24/18 11:19 PM
Classwork, Homework, and Exam
by Shannow
04/24/18 09:50 PM
Hydroflouric Acid as Aluminum cleaner,deoxidizer
by daves66nova
04/24/18 09:10 PM
I asked Valvoline about Seq IVA
by Carbon12
04/24/18 08:42 PM
Motor teardown?
by Sealbilly
04/24/18 08:09 PM
Oil bath air filter
by preaction
04/24/18 07:57 PM
Volvo Safety - Do You Still Get What You Pay For?
by Best F100
04/24/18 07:36 PM
Is Quaker State a dying brand?
by Isophix
04/24/18 07:34 PM
Somewhat amusing Cisco bug
by OVERKILL
04/24/18 07:34 PM
Slight shift flare when cold
by SilverFusion2010
04/24/18 06:40 PM
Broken Side Window, 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan
by DeafBrad
04/24/18 06:36 PM
Newest Members
emod, Rmay635703, Rabbits, Poolcueti, Burrito97
64846 Registered Users
Who's Online
77 registered (123Saab, 2015_PSD, 97f150, Andrei, 2009Edge, bbhero, 4 invisible), 1355 Guests and 36 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
64846 Members
68 Forums
282306 Topics
4713064 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#4500508 - 08/28/17 04:33 PM Firefox 55 high memory usage
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 35565
Loc: Great Lakes
Since version 54, and now 55, I am seeing FF memory usage going through the roof. Even if I don't open too many tabs, after a few hours of running, FF has chewed up all my available RAM and I start getting Windows warnings to close it in order to continue working. FF RAM usage is up to about 4 GB at that point.

Now when I google "Firefox 55 memory usage" I get a bunch of hits saying how greatly improved memory usage has become in these latest versions which is obviously the opposite of what I'm experiencing. So, is there a way I can determine what's going on? I have not added any new extensions recently, but maybe some of my old ones don't play nice with these newest FF versions? Is there a way to tell if one of my extensions is causing this and if so, which one?

FYI, I'm running the 64-bit version of FF on Win 7 machine.

Thanks!
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge HM 10W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#4500527 - 08/28/17 04:59 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
danez_yoda Offline


Registered: 07/18/09
Posts: 408
Loc: texas
uninstall and reinstall.


There might be a app/widget/add-on running that is installed on the browser that is eating the memory.

Top
#4500529 - 08/28/17 05:03 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
DeepFriar Offline


Registered: 10/31/13
Posts: 1360
Loc: Georgia
I am no computer expert but I am seeing more freezes in just the past couple of days on my tablet (Amazon Fire). I use Firefox nightly which is the ongoing "development" version so I expect the occasional problem but I have not seen it this bad. I use this because I have been unable to get normal Firefox via the Amazon App store. It's still not terrible but I just wanted to surface to say I'm suddenly seeing freeze/lockup probs as well.

Top
#4500549 - 08/28/17 05:28 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
ndfergy Offline


Registered: 03/28/16
Posts: 412
Loc: burlington ,ontario, canada
Open the menu and click on the help "?" button. Open Health report and it will list the number of plug-in crashes for the past month. If it's more than a few then there could be an issue. If so, you could perform a reset/refresh from the troubleshoot option.
_________________________
2015 Toyota Yaris 5spd Manual
Summer: Mobil Super 1000 10w30
Winter: Mobil Super 1000 5w30
OEM Filter

Top
#4500577 - 08/28/17 05:59 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 12494
Loc: NE,Ohio
I'm not a fan of 54 or 55. but firefox has had memory leak issues esp with adblock plugins for years.

Just dont leave a tab open overnight etc.

Chrome is a good option as well but I only use it for the built in flashplayer.
_________________________
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk V6

Top
#4500611 - 08/28/17 06:40 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
CT8 Offline


Registered: 10/09/14
Posts: 10555
Loc: Idaho
I Have Fire Fox and Google Chrome and mostly use Fire fox . I have to say that Google Chrome is noticeably better . The only thing I know about computers is that I have one.
_________________________
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity, we shall prevail

Top
#4500672 - 08/28/17 07:45 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
sprite1741 Offline


Registered: 05/02/05
Posts: 412
Loc: Idaho
Add ons? I had adblock plus and ghostery. Firefox was bogged down to the point of frustration. Uninstalled both and it's super fast now.
_________________________
2005 Grand Prix GXP 5.3L Supertech Syn Dexos 5w30 Fram Ultra 3506
1986 Dodge Lancer 2.2L Turbo, Chevron Supreme 5w30 STP XL 3614

Top
#4500717 - 08/28/17 08:22 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
Blkstanger Offline


Registered: 08/13/11
Posts: 1902
Loc: Lakeside, CA
I am a Chrome user and tried Firefox the other night. I couldn't figure out how to get a microphone to work on it. I gave up after spending hours on it.
_________________________
99 Jeep WJ 4.7 185,000 Maxlife 10w30, Fram Ultra.

Top
#4500841 - 08/28/17 10:35 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
SHOZ Offline


Registered: 06/28/03
Posts: 5603
Loc: Illinois
There is a add on called cache status. You have to force it to show on a add on tool bar then add the tool bar. but it can mange the cache for you, show the current amount in the too bar and you can easily click it and clear the cache whenever you want.
_________________________
2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual

Top
#4500874 - 08/28/17 11:42 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
Killer223 Offline


Registered: 05/07/15
Posts: 383
Loc: AZ
go to tools, web developer, then select performance. then in the center of the window, there is a take snapshot. you can go from there and see what's using memory.
_________________________
08 6.7 cummins G56
04 5.9 cummins
11 ranger 4.0
16 KTM 250 XC

Top
#4500979 - 08/29/17 06:22 AM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
kc8adu Offline


Registered: 08/02/05
Posts: 888
Loc: dayton oh
no problems here.
but as mentioned firefox has had a history of memory leak issues.

Top
#4501129 - 08/29/17 09:39 AM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: sprite1741]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 12494
Loc: NE,Ohio
Originally Posted By: sprite1741
Add ons? I had adblock plus and ghostery. Firefox was bogged down to the point of frustration. Uninstalled both and it's super fast now.


adblock plus<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<Ublock origin
_________________________
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk V6

Top
#4501132 - 08/29/17 09:43 AM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 35565
Loc: Great Lakes
Yep, uBlock Origin is what I use and have been using for a long time, so it's not anything that recently changed in my environment.
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge HM 10W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#4501898 - 08/30/17 12:08 AM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 17216
Loc: PNW
_________________________
We Don't Need No Stinkin' Efficiency!

Top
#4503334 - 08/31/17 12:35 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Killer223]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 35565
Loc: Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Killer223
go to tools, web developer, then select performance. then in the center of the window, there is a take snapshot. you can go from there and see what's using memory.

OK, but I'm not sure what the below information is telling me or what to do with it. Any hints where to go from here?







_________________________
'02 530i (Edge HM 10W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >