Recent Topics
Rotella T6 5W40, 5000Mi, 1991 Ford 460 - RV
by MutantGarage
07/20/18 12:23 AM
2013 SUBARU Outback, M1EP 0w20, 14190mi, 74465 tot
by NO2
07/19/18 11:52 PM
91 Ford 460 - noisy lifters at Idle when hot
by MutantGarage
07/19/18 11:49 PM
Great deal on PP 5w30
by 60ampfuse
07/19/18 11:48 PM
Motorcraft, 5W-30, 2425 miles, 2018 3.5 F EcoBoost
by cdlamb
07/19/18 11:40 PM
Off-Road Trailer Tires
by troutfisher
07/19/18 09:55 PM
dirty injectors - necessarily obvious?
by NissanMaxima
07/19/18 08:26 PM
Does ST Syn HM contain extra seal conditioners?
by Elantra16
07/19/18 08:09 PM
Leather treatment and frequency
by Toros
07/19/18 08:01 PM
jack in the box
by redbone3
07/19/18 07:39 PM
F1 - 2018 German Grand Prix
by gofast182
07/19/18 07:38 PM
Cooper Evolution???
by Traction
07/19/18 06:22 PM
Blackstone July 2018 Oil Report
by 2015_PSD
07/19/18 05:43 PM
VW Tiguan 2013 34000 Miles EA 189
by kilgore68
07/19/18 04:44 PM
Fuel pump age, wear, cooling, replacement brand
by wrcsixeight
07/19/18 03:34 PM
Much to choose between these two 5W30 FUCHS?
by 21Rouge
07/19/18 03:03 PM
Once a year changes
by jay929
07/19/18 01:45 PM
Royal Purple SAE 30 Synthetic
by SilverSnake
07/19/18 01:40 PM
EPAUTO Filters
by JeffKeryk
07/19/18 01:10 PM
NAPA 4070 Coolant Filter Results
by DoubleWasp
07/19/18 12:58 PM
Newest Members
TA128, Elantra16, Peterbilt52, CarllT100, 99SK04GTX
65515 Registered Users
Who's Online
19 registered (flatlinerz, 1WildPig, Brad_C, edhackett, casamagana, FordBroncoVWJeta, 2 invisible), 811 Guests and 35 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65515 Members
67 Forums
287343 Topics
4793618 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#4500508 - 08/28/17 04:33 PM Firefox 55 high memory usage
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 35968
Loc: Great Lakes
Since version 54, and now 55, I am seeing FF memory usage going through the roof. Even if I don't open too many tabs, after a few hours of running, FF has chewed up all my available RAM and I start getting Windows warnings to close it in order to continue working. FF RAM usage is up to about 4 GB at that point.

Now when I google "Firefox 55 memory usage" I get a bunch of hits saying how greatly improved memory usage has become in these latest versions which is obviously the opposite of what I'm experiencing. So, is there a way I can determine what's going on? I have not added any new extensions recently, but maybe some of my old ones don't play nice with these newest FF versions? Is there a way to tell if one of my extensions is causing this and if so, which one?

FYI, I'm running the 64-bit version of FF on Win 7 machine.

Thanks!
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)

Top
#4500527 - 08/28/17 04:59 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
danez_yoda Offline


Registered: 07/18/09
Posts: 497
Loc: texas
uninstall and reinstall.


There might be a app/widget/add-on running that is installed on the browser that is eating the memory.

Top
#4500529 - 08/28/17 05:03 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
DeepFriar Offline


Registered: 10/31/13
Posts: 1388
Loc: Georgia
I am no computer expert but I am seeing more freezes in just the past couple of days on my tablet (Amazon Fire). I use Firefox nightly which is the ongoing "development" version so I expect the occasional problem but I have not seen it this bad. I use this because I have been unable to get normal Firefox via the Amazon App store. It's still not terrible but I just wanted to surface to say I'm suddenly seeing freeze/lockup probs as well.

Top
#4500549 - 08/28/17 05:28 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
ndfergy Offline


Registered: 03/28/16
Posts: 422
Loc: burlington ,ontario, canada
Open the menu and click on the help "?" button. Open Health report and it will list the number of plug-in crashes for the past month. If it's more than a few then there could be an issue. If so, you could perform a reset/refresh from the troubleshoot option.
_________________________
2015 Toyota Yaris 5spd Manual
Summer: Mobil Super 1000 10w30
Winter: Mobil Super 1000 5w30
OEM Filter

Top
#4500577 - 08/28/17 05:59 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 12728
Loc: NE,Ohio
I'm not a fan of 54 or 55. but firefox has had memory leak issues esp with adblock plugins for years.

Just dont leave a tab open overnight etc.

Chrome is a good option as well but I only use it for the built in flashplayer.
_________________________
2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T

Top
#4500611 - 08/28/17 06:40 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
CT8 Offline


Registered: 10/09/14
Posts: 11230
Loc: Idaho
I Have Fire Fox and Google Chrome and mostly use Fire fox . I have to say that Google Chrome is noticeably better . The only thing I know about computers is that I have one.
_________________________
"Don't let your preconceived notions get in the way of facts."
Geoff Metcalf

Top
#4500672 - 08/28/17 07:45 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
sprite1741 Offline


Registered: 05/02/05
Posts: 453
Loc: Idaho
Add ons? I had adblock plus and ghostery. Firefox was bogged down to the point of frustration. Uninstalled both and it's super fast now.
_________________________
2005 Grand Prix GXP 5.3L Supertech Syn Dexos 5w30 Fram Ultra 3506
1986 Dodge Lancer 2.2L Turbo, Chevron Supreme 10w30 Fram Ultra 3614

Top
#4500717 - 08/28/17 08:22 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
Blkstanger Offline


Registered: 08/13/11
Posts: 1972
Loc: Lakeside, CA
I am a Chrome user and tried Firefox the other night. I couldn't figure out how to get a microphone to work on it. I gave up after spending hours on it.
_________________________
99 Jeep WJ 4.7 186,000 Maxlife 10w30, Fram Ultra.

Top
#4500841 - 08/28/17 10:35 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
SHOZ Offline


Registered: 06/28/03
Posts: 5809
Loc: Illinois
There is a add on called cache status. You have to force it to show on a add on tool bar then add the tool bar. but it can mange the cache for you, show the current amount in the too bar and you can easily click it and clear the cache whenever you want.
_________________________
2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual

Top
#4500874 - 08/28/17 11:42 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
Killer223 Offline


Registered: 05/07/15
Posts: 389
Loc: AZ
go to tools, web developer, then select performance. then in the center of the window, there is a take snapshot. you can go from there and see what's using memory.
_________________________
08 6.7 cummins G56
04 5.9 cummins
11 ranger 4.0
16 KTM 250 XC

Top
#4500979 - 08/29/17 06:22 AM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
kc8adu Offline


Registered: 08/02/05
Posts: 896
Loc: dayton oh
no problems here.
but as mentioned firefox has had a history of memory leak issues.

Top
#4501129 - 08/29/17 09:39 AM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: sprite1741]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 12728
Loc: NE,Ohio
Originally Posted By: sprite1741
Add ons? I had adblock plus and ghostery. Firefox was bogged down to the point of frustration. Uninstalled both and it's super fast now.


adblock plus<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<Ublock origin
_________________________
2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T

Top
#4501132 - 08/29/17 09:43 AM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 35968
Loc: Great Lakes
Yep, uBlock Origin is what I use and have been using for a long time, so it's not anything that recently changed in my environment.
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)

Top
#4501898 - 08/30/17 12:08 AM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 17911
Loc: PNW

Top
#4503334 - 08/31/17 12:35 PM Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Killer223]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 35968
Loc: Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Killer223
go to tools, web developer, then select performance. then in the center of the window, there is a take snapshot. you can go from there and see what's using memory.

OK, but I'm not sure what the below information is telling me or what to do with it. Any hints where to go from here?







_________________________
'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >