Recent Topics
No collision totaled vehicle
by madRiver. 12/16/18 06:32 AM
Brightest backup light for my daughters car?
by BobsArmory. 12/16/18 06:26 AM
M1 0W20 EP Good To At Least 10K Miles ?
by ChrisD46. 12/16/18 03:29 AM
Gift for young Army Cadet
by Snagglefoot. 12/16/18 12:33 AM
Instacart Grocery Delivery
by dogememe. 12/16/18 12:26 AM
My brother bought this...
by miden851. 12/15/18 09:12 PM
Watch out for scammers
by Chris142. 12/15/18 08:45 PM
15K OCI R53 2006 Mini Cooper S 144k
by dx92beater. 12/15/18 08:32 PM
Beneficial clean fuel.injectors in Ultrasonic Cleaner
by JLawrence08648. 12/15/18 06:54 PM
Back to Basics III
by MolaKule. 12/15/18 05:30 PM
Castrol Edge 0W40 vs. 5W40...Liqui Moly?
by TiGeo. 12/15/18 04:56 PM
Schumacher XCS15 voltage
by sweezy722. 12/15/18 04:19 PM
Solar battery tenders?
by slybunda. 12/15/18 04:10 PM
Bad Fuel Pressure Regulator.
by NICAT. 12/15/18 04:07 PM
Newest Members
MikeMTL, AJ11, bandito, Spkrdctr, torchredone12
66691 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
65 registered members (2009Edge, bbhero, ARB1977, 4WD, atikovi, Aero540T, 10 invisible), 1,231 guests, and 40 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics295,138
Posts4,928,399
Members66,691
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Firefox 55 high memory usage #4500508
08/28/17 03:33 PM
08/28/17 03:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,630
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline OP
Quattro Pete  Offline OP
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,630
Great Lakes
Since version 54, and now 55, I am seeing FF memory usage going through the roof. Even if I don't open too many tabs, after a few hours of running, FF has chewed up all my available RAM and I start getting Windows warnings to close it in order to continue working. FF RAM usage is up to about 4 GB at that point.

Now when I google "Firefox 55 memory usage" I get a bunch of hits saying how greatly improved memory usage has become in these latest versions which is obviously the opposite of what I'm experiencing. So, is there a way I can determine what's going on? I have not added any new extensions recently, but maybe some of my old ones don't play nice with these newest FF versions? Is there a way to tell if one of my extensions is causing this and if so, which one?

FYI, I'm running the 64-bit version of FF on Win 7 machine.

Thanks!


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (PUP 0W-40 SRT)
Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete] #4500527
08/28/17 03:59 PM
08/28/17 03:59 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 748
texas
danez_yoda Offline
danez_yoda  Offline
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 748
texas
uninstall and reinstall.


There might be a app/widget/add-on running that is installed on the browser that is eating the memory.

Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete] #4500529
08/28/17 04:03 PM
08/28/17 04:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,462
Georgia
DeepFriar Offline
DeepFriar  Offline
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,462
Georgia
I am no computer expert but I am seeing more freezes in just the past couple of days on my tablet (Amazon Fire). I use Firefox nightly which is the ongoing "development" version so I expect the occasional problem but I have not seen it this bad. I use this because I have been unable to get normal Firefox via the Amazon App store. It's still not terrible but I just wanted to surface to say I'm suddenly seeing freeze/lockup probs as well.

Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete] #4500549
08/28/17 04:28 PM
08/28/17 04:28 PM
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 484
burlington ,ontario, canada
ndfergy Offline
ndfergy  Offline
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 484
burlington ,ontario, canada
Open the menu and click on the help "?" button. Open Health report and it will list the number of plug-in crashes for the past month. If it's more than a few then there could be an issue. If so, you could perform a reset/refresh from the troubleshoot option.


2015 Toyota Yaris 5spd Manual
Summer: Mobil Super 1000 10w30
Winter: Mobil Super 1000 5w30
OEM Filter
Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete] #4500577
08/28/17 04:59 PM
08/28/17 04:59 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,143
NE,Ohio
Rand Offline
Rand  Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,143
NE,Ohio
I'm not a fan of 54 or 55. but firefox has had memory leak issues esp with adblock plugins for years.

Just dont leave a tab open overnight etc.

Chrome is a good option as well but I only use it for the built in flashplayer.


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete] #4500611
08/28/17 05:40 PM
08/28/17 05:40 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 12,582
Idaho
CT8 Offline
CT8  Offline
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 12,582
Idaho
I Have Fire Fox and Google Chrome and mostly use Fire fox . I have to say that Google Chrome is noticeably better . The only thing I know about computers is that I have one.


2015 Ford F150 2.7
2018 Ford F350 6.2
Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete] #4500672
08/28/17 06:45 PM
08/28/17 06:45 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 502
Idaho
sprite1741 Online content
sprite1741  Online Content
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 502
Idaho
Add ons? I had adblock plus and ghostery. Firefox was bogged down to the point of frustration. Uninstalled both and it's super fast now.


2005 Grand Prix GXP 5.3L Supertech Syn Dexos 5w30 Fram Ultra 3506
1986 Dodge Lancer 2.2L Turbo, Chevron Supreme 10w30 Fram Ultra 3614
Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete] #4500717
08/28/17 07:22 PM
08/28/17 07:22 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,089
Lakeside, CA
Blkstanger Offline
Blkstanger  Offline
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,089
Lakeside, CA
I am a Chrome user and tried Firefox the other night. I couldn't figure out how to get a microphone to work on it. I gave up after spending hours on it.


99 Jeep WJ 4.7 192,000 Maxlife 10w30, Fram Ultra.
Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete] #4500841
08/28/17 09:35 PM
08/28/17 09:35 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,951
Illinois
SHOZ Offline
SHOZ  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,951
Illinois
There is a add on called cache status. You have to force it to show on a add on tool bar then add the tool bar. but it can mange the cache for you, show the current amount in the too bar and you can easily click it and clear the cache whenever you want.


2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6L 5 sp manual hatchback
2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Track 2L Turbo 6sp manual
Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete] #4500874
08/28/17 10:42 PM
08/28/17 10:42 PM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 394
AZ
Killer223 Offline
Killer223  Offline
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 394
AZ
go to tools, web developer, then select performance. then in the center of the window, there is a take snapshot. you can go from there and see what's using memory.


08 6.7 cummins G56
04 5.9 cummins
11 ranger 4.0
16 KTM 250 XC
Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete] #4500979
08/29/17 05:22 AM
08/29/17 05:22 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 919
dayton oh
kc8adu Offline
kc8adu  Offline
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 919
dayton oh
no problems here.
but as mentioned firefox has had a history of memory leak issues.

Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: sprite1741] #4501129
08/29/17 08:39 AM
08/29/17 08:39 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,143
NE,Ohio
Rand Offline
Rand  Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,143
NE,Ohio
Originally Posted By: sprite1741
Add ons? I had adblock plus and ghostery. Firefox was bogged down to the point of frustration. Uninstalled both and it's super fast now.


adblock plus<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<Ublock origin


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete] #4501132
08/29/17 08:43 AM
08/29/17 08:43 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,630
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline OP
Quattro Pete  Offline OP
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,630
Great Lakes
Yep, uBlock Origin is what I use and have been using for a long time, so it's not anything that recently changed in my environment.


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (PUP 0W-40 SRT)
Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Quattro Pete] #4501898
08/29/17 11:08 PM
08/29/17 11:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,308
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline
ZeeOSix  Offline
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,308
PNW

Re: Firefox 55 high memory usage [Re: Killer223] #4503334
08/31/17 11:35 AM
08/31/17 11:35 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,630
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline OP
Quattro Pete  Offline OP
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,630
Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Killer223
go to tools, web developer, then select performance. then in the center of the window, there is a take snapshot. you can go from there and see what's using memory.

OK, but I'm not sure what the below information is telling me or what to do with it. Any hints where to go from here?









'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (PUP 0W-40 SRT)
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™