Recommendations for my roof

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys, I have a 2008 Honda Pilot that overall has pretty decent paint for its age. The part that is starting to show the most wear is the roof. There are a couple little rust spots that I need to take care of and for now I have just been putting wax on them but I need to touch them up and do it right so it will last and not cause eventual leaks. Also, there is some heavy oxidation on some parts of my roof and you can see the rear section "fender" above the trunk which is made out of plastic. I am a newbie when it comes to detailing and paint restoration but I would like to try to tackle this myself. What kind of recommendations do you have for a newbie like myself? How do I properly take care of the little rust spots and prep them to add some touch up paint that will last and not discolor? Do I need to take care of the rust spots/touch up before I tackle the oxidation? Obviously, first I need to wash and clay the roof, then what? Thanks for the tips!

Rust spots need to be sanded down until you get to bare metal, after which you will prime and paint.

Oxidation (if it is indeed oxidation) needs to be polished out if you want a glossy finish.

I would do the following:

Wash the top and really scrub good.

Follow with a clay bar to remove as much contaminant from the top as possible. If you see rust spots I would mark them with masking tape then go get some rustoleum paint and a artist brush and touch up the spots. Since you are on top the van the job doesnt need to be beautiful. I might put some rust restorer on first after knocking off the heavy rust. Let that dry then hit it with a good coat of wax. If you don't like hitting it often use Nufinish.

Do I need to sand the spots to get the rust off first? Should I invest in a sanding pen?

https://www.amazon.com/K-Tool-International-KTI-70550-KTI-Sanding/dp/B000FN8H52