Any Synthetic 10W30 Users ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Curious if any readers are using synthetic 10W30 in newer vehicles with lower mileage (i.e. not using 10W30 because of high mileage / older engine) ?
For those that do use synthetic 10W30 - your reasons ?

I've been running primarily 10w-30 syn oils for the past 12+ years. We live in a Mountain climate where winter temps routinely dip well below zero. Never had issues with cold starts. Running a lot of PP / Napa syn. / Oci 5-6K. /. This regimen sustained 2 so called problem engines. 1. '02 dodge stratus 2.7 V-6 ran it to 170K sold to my mechanic for his daughter. 2. '07 Saturn Aura 3.6 V-6 sold at 140k running great. I like The viscosity stability & lower NOAK.

I have some Castrol Edge 10W30 in my oil stash, probably use it for my next oil change. I doubt I will notice a difference over the M1 5W30 synthetic in there now. But in theory the 10W30 should have lower volatility and more shear stability, which I like.

When it comes to the cold start winter W rating, get as much as you need, but no more than you need.

Originally Posted By: SR5
I have some Castrol Edge 10W30 in my oil stash, probably use it for my next oil change. I doubt I will notice a difference over the M1 5W30 synthetic in there now. But in theory the 10W30 should have lower volatility and more shear stability, which I like.

When it comes to the cold start winter W rating, get as much as you need, but no more than you need.

Is your 10w30 Edge an A3/B4?

I like our Edge HM 10w40 for this reason. It's only available at parts stores, but buying it on sale brings it to normal-ish prices.

Originally Posted By: dlundblad
Is your 10w30 Edge an A3/B4?

The Oz Castrol Edge 10W30 is A5/B5 so HTHS < 3.5 cP
But our Castrol Edge 5W30 is A3/B4 with HTHS > 3.5 cP

So for me the 10W30 is the thin oil and the 5W30 is the thick oil.

It was talked about on BITOG (Here)