Rookie 2 stroke scooter questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to scooters and 2 stroke engines. The 2010 scooter I bought only had 56 miles on it. It seems to run well and the PO said he drained the gas out every winter, but I'd like to put some fuel system cleaner in the gas to potentially clean up any varnish. Is it ok to use fuel system cleaner in a 2 stroke engine?

2nd question. This is a Kymco scooter and the manual was obviously written for markets other than the U.S. It specifies "refill #92 or #95 nonleaded gasoline". I don't think they mean 92 or 95 octane? Do most 50cc scooters run fine on regular 87 octane?

Yes, on the fuel system cleaner, in an appropriate amount.
I bet the manual is referring to RON, not R+M/2 like pumps are rated.
Premium fuel in your scooter is appropriate.

Better stroke oils have fuel stabilizer. Some Seafoam won't hurt.
MO, while the little scooter may be OK on regular, giving it a better grade may prevent some other ignition issues if its air cooled. Your not filling up a 40 gallon tank so 30 cents won't break the bank

I'd run the highest octane fuel at the pump.

Is this scooter oil injected or must you pre-mix it?

I'd run Gumout with Regane through it. Just go easy on it....don't dump the whole bottle in a 2 gallon tank.

These air cooled 2T motors do well with a quality oil. Consider getting a good synthetic oil. It's worth it, believe me. Buy a gallon and your scoot will thank you.

Here are some of my favorites:
Maxima K2
RedLine Racing 2T
Torco

Originally Posted By: slug_bug
, but I'd like to put some fuel system cleaner in the gas to potentially clean up any varnish. Is it ok to use fuel system cleaner in a 2 stroke engine?

2nd question. This is a Kymco scooter and the manual was obviously written for markets other than the U.S. It specifies "refill #92 or #95 nonleaded gasoline". I don't think they mean 92 or 95 octane? Do most 50cc scooters run fine on regular 87 octane?