Best Auto Store Brand of Brake Pads?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I tend to like most things from AAP, but how about Autozone and O'Reilly? Who makes the best pads for the money? These would be for my 2014 Explorer.

Motorcraft. OEM brake parts are almost always better than aftermarket and with Amazon/Rockauto price competitive too.

Originally Posted By: mclasser
I've had good luck with AAP Platinum pads.

Agree. Best store pads I have ever used. Low noise, low dust, nice feel.

Originally Posted By: bubbatime
Originally Posted By: mclasser
I've had good luck with AAP Platinum pads.

Agree. Best store pads I have ever used. Low noise, low dust, nice feel.

For sure. My front pads are going on 50k miles; firm pedal, no noise, no fuss, no drama.

When I was a store manager for AAP, the Platinums had the highest return rate due to noise. I assume most people have no idea how to bed in pads, and I also assume re-bedding them would have fixed it.

I typically install Duralast Golds in my shop. Although, for the most part every parts store carries the same pads in a different box, all made by Federal Mogul.

Napa's Adaptive One pads look good, or maybe Autozone's Duralast GT pads. There's no O'Reilly near me, so I can't say anything about them. But the store brands' premium pads should be as good as any name-brand pad. Absolutely stay AWAY from the cheap store brand lines, like Autozone's Valucraft.

But why use store brands when you have no idea who makes them or anything? But if you have to use them, get the premium pads. Duralast Gold or GT, AAP Platinum, Napa Adaptive One.

Get name brand pads.
Wagner Thermoquiet or OEX or Akebono ProACT

Originally Posted By: Sayjac
If your interested in the AAP Platinum pads, online code WDE357 will get you 35% off through 8/23.
Sayjac - thanks for this!

For low end applications (beater cars, etc) I've only had good results in the last ten years with any store brand pad.