Wifes van

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all, I would like your opinions on PM's for my wifes mini van, I am a professional driver, have been for 26yrs now so I am not new to getting the most out of your fluids.
I have always done PM's every 5,000 miles in my personal cars and this has always worked well for me, no window sticker needed, easy for me to remember, whenever there is a "5" or a "0" third place from the left on the odometer I change the oil, KISS (keep it simple stupid)
Well for my wifes van I have ran into a dellima, we moved last November (same city different part of said city) and her commute is now all of .2 miles, literally 5min if no traffic, 7 if there is traffic.
Not to big of a deal because after work she had to go get our daughter from daycare, 3 miles each way so the engine got hot.
Once a week she drives to yoga at a friend's house, 20 miles each way.
I changed her oil last September when I replaced the oil pan on her van, it was rusted and was starting to weep.
It is now almost a year later and her van is in need of another PM.
It is a 2006 Kia Sedona with 180,000 miles, I have always used Mobil 1 0W-20 and a quality oil filter, usually Purolator PureOne as they go BOGO at a local store, one for me, one for her.
Her van takes 6qts of oil and Costco sells Mobil 1 for $36/case, when it's on sale it's $26/case. So again...KISS.
But now that she only drives maybe 5,000/yr I am thinking of changing either the oil I use or the PM interval.

What do you guys think? Stick with the Mobil 1 and 5,000 mile PM's no matter the time?
Mobil 1 changed every 6mo? (I use a long life filter so I'd change that every other time)
Or change oils completely but stick with the 5,000 mile PM's?

I did take a SOS last fall but never sent it in and I know it's no longer a viable sample now.

Let me know what you guys think.