Nest thermostat.....

Status
Not open for further replies.
My 1959 home has an old York round style thermostat and I am looking to upgrade. Do any of you have a Nest unit, how do you like it?

I have a Nest and an Ecobee (one at work, one at home). They are both excellent. What specific features are drawing you to the Nest?

Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
I have a Nest and an Ecobee (one at work, one at home). They are both excellent. What specific features are drawing you to the Nest?

The possible energy savings as well as remote accessibility. I have ZERO electrical / HVAC background. Are they easy to install?

Originally Posted By: gregk24
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL

The possible energy savings as well as remote accessibility. I have ZERO electrical / HVAC background. Are they easy to install?

VERY easy. I have the Ecobee at my house because it is ancient and the remote sensors helps keep it more balanced.

I thought about getting a Nest last year but decided on a basic programmable thermostat for like $40. I set it once and don't touch it.

I have a Nest. Works great. SCE (utility company) gave a $75 rebate this Spring even though I have had the unit for almost a year...plus the Nest when you sign up for a special program with SCE saves you money during a limited number of high electrical usage times. Nest when notified by SCE sets the temp for your house usually from 2-7 PM in a 5 degree range. It starts at 80 degrees then the A/C stays off until the inside temperature reaches 85 degrees... then the A/C runs until the house is back to 80 degrees..repeats until the alert is over. You save $ everyday this happens. So far this summer it might have been 8 or 10 days. You can override it at any time..you just don't get the discount for that day.