replacing all brake lines: need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Car is 2000 Mazda MPV. There are rust on hard lines undercarriage, and at wheels. The rust does not inspire confidence, though there has been no leaks (knock on wood). I am seriously thinking about replacing all the hard lines as well as the flex hoses (don't want to fight the connection). I have never done this before, and nervous about the ins and outs of doing this job. Please could I have your advice?

1. I can find all pre-bent lines (except for left rear) at dealership (and online sources), the left rear long line is NLA (no longer available). Using pre-bent lines is currently not my option for reasons a) they are steel lines with a coating, and I live in Albany, NY; b) it does not appear to be possible to put the pre-bent lines in without tearing the car to the bones, and this is the primary reason.

2. I read good things about the copper-nickel lines, and currently thinking about going this way, and do flares and bends by myself. NAPA sells a single size flare tool that seems to be a good one, and I think I can practice and get good flares. Also will get the OEM flex hoses.

3. My biggest concern is how to get the new line in place. I am thinking about using the old line as template for one end to get it started, and leave the other end straight so that I can thread it and bend it inline as I reroute the lines... but again, this is just thinking.....

Please let me know if I am on the wrong path. Thanks.

To answer your questions:
1. yes you can get pre bent if available but I wouldn't. They are expensive and will be difficult wiggling into place. I always bent them myself with straight lines which I previously measured.

2.I would go with the copper nickle lines too and you shouldn't have to do it again. They bend easily for installation. Just make sure you are using the correct flare for your car and mating connections.