Info and opinions on husky tool boxes

Status
Not open for further replies.
My health has resumed to being good enough to go back to being an auto mechanic. I had a really old cheap box I bought from the tool guy when I sold back my snap on box and other stuff . I am looking for a new box. nothing fancy just reliable. I don't want to spend what a tool truck tool box requires. That being said I am interested in the husky boxes. Any info or personal experience with them is appreciated. Looking at a flat top model so I have a work area of sorts to.

I have a husky box. I'm not a professional but I like it just fine. Had it a few years now. I have the tall one with a lid on top so no experience with a work top version. That's the one I want to get next since I need more room.

I bought one off a kijiji posting two years ago for a good price. Mine is stainless steel. They atr of OK quality.

Check out the boxes at harbor freight as well.

Flat tops attract cultch. Control it so it's yours and not everyone else's. You'll find coffee cups and other junk there.

I saw a couple of different wood top Husky boxes at Home Depot yesterday. They looked good and seemed to be decent quality. I think the Harbor Freight boxes are a much better deal though, especially for storing smaller flat tools like pliers, wrenches and screwdrivers and other tools for mechanic work. Personally I think the Husky boxes have too many big deep drawers for storing bulky tools like circular saws and half inch drills, etc. If I were looking for a good deal on a new box I would buy HF. You might also find a deal on a good used box on Craigs List, if it is not stolen or damaged and is a legit deal.

Husky used to be made by Waterloo before they started sourcing them overseas. I have a few Waterloo made boxes (one Husky and one Craftsman) and I have no complaints about them.