Quaker State Fikter

Status
Not open for further replies.
Saw these for sale at my local Menards. Wondering if anyone has experience with Quaker State filters or if they're a "clone" of another brand filter.

I'm also a total newb and have seen the term ABDV used for a particular part of the filter and I cant deduce what it is if someone can explain that and maybe what to look for in terms of a filter, that'd be fabulous. Thanks in advance and I appreciate your patience.

Quaker State filters are made by Purolator. They are a Puro classic clone. The ADBV is the anti drain back valve. Black is nitrile rubber and orange is silicon. The nitrile are fine for 5,000 miles or less imo and the silicon are better for longer oci's. My experience with Quaker State filters is they are fine for short drains, I've never taken them too long.

Quaker State oil filters are manufactured by Purolator to Shell specifications. The published efficiency of 95% @ 20 microns and published media composition as a synthetic blend do not match published charachteristics of the Purolator Classic oil filters.

I have purchased QS oil filters at Menards, I have some QS3600 oil filters I bought on sale for $1.99 in my stash for OPE but have moved away from being near a Menards.

Here's YouTube video of the QS filters. ZeeOSix has argued about the BPV depiction in the video but suffice to say it depicts a BPV, just not dome end.

Originally Posted By: Nyogtha
Here's YouTube video of the QS filters. ZeeOSix has argued about the BPV depiction in the video but suffice to say it depicts a BPV, just not dome end.

What's technically inaccurate and confusing is that at time 2:36 they show a dome end bypass valve, which is nothing like they described at time 2:04 for the bypass valve. Shoddy animation IMO.