Long road trip ahead...

Status
Not open for further replies.
My son, wife, adult daughter and I are headed from (near) Houston to Pennsylvania, Virginia, Maryland, and W. Virginia to tour historical battle sites (like Gettysburg) for my sons senior trip. He just graduated high school with honors and will be a History major this fall.

We were going to tour the Greenbriar resort Bunker in W-VA, but its already booked for a private event. Instead, we will stop there for part of a day to see the Houston Texans training camp scrimmage vs. the Patriots. On the way home, we will pass through Tennessee, and stop near Athens to view the once in a lifetime eclipse.

My vehicle is my almost mint 2006 Honda Odyssey. The trip is 3700 miles total. Whew!

Sounds like a treat. I'm a History Graduate student, working on my master's. He won't regret studying history. Texas has some of the best History professors (not-so-political) out there! University of Texas here.

History is a calling! He'll see why.

Last edited:
I loved history in HS, just graduated HS. My History teacher unfortunately passed away during Christmas break of my Jr. year. He was my favorite teacher and he will be missed. He made a lot of students enjoy history. Which is very rare in a teacher.

HAVE A GREAT TRIP!

My son is a history whiz. He will attend Stephen F. Austin State U. in deep east TX. He got a real nice bundle of scholarships (nearly $30K total over 4 years). Bright young man.

Have a great trip.
As a kid I never got to go anywhere but Gettysburg once.
I hate the place. Today I would go at night. Enjoy!!! For adults it will be interesting.
You should go through Skyline drive though!!!
Be safe!!!!