rope rear main seal

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm rebuilding my '57 Plymouth 230 flathead. I've rebuilt newer (60s-80s) engines but never rebuilt a flathead before, and it's my first time installing a rope-type rear main seal. I've read the basic procedure (roll into the groove with a pipe, etc and trim flush with a razor blade) but would appreciate any tips/tricks for success. Thanks!

Doing a lil research on that right now. My Felpro set came with the rope.

With a rope seal you want to get a tight fit. I compressed the ends down to get as much rope in as possible. Didn't end up trimming anything. When together I couldn't turn the engine with a breaker bar.

I did it with the engine in the car and the crank in place. Its a Pontiac engine.

Retrofit neoprene seals have their problems too.

Last edited:
I went with a split seal for my 1971 Oldsmobile 350 rocket engine. This was per recommendation from the Oldsmobile community. Ten years later and it's still sealing just fine.

I think the seal was specified for a 1957 Ford. Maybe you can find a similar recommendation.

Thanks for the replies. Looks like I jumped the gun, though. Here's what happened: This was one of those deals where I tore down the engine nearly 2 years ago and am just now getting around to reassembling it. (Fortunately, I took a lot of pics during disassembly.) I opened my Felpro gasket set today and it had the rope rear main seal. After posting my question, I got to thinking about it, and couldn't remember removing a rope seal. Pulled up the pics, and sure enough, it was a rubber seal. After some searching, looks like this may work: http://www.bestgasket.com/pop_up_picture.asp?PartNumber=3675