2001 Honda Accord V6, AT, LX 4 Dr questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Earlier this week my sister in law was in accident and her car was totaled. Did some looking around and found a two owner Honda Accord that for the last 8 year or so was driven by an older gentleman 40 plus miles a day back and fourth to work. He no longer has room for the car in the garage as he purchased a hot rod of sorts to enjoy during retirement.

The car has 145K on the odometer, has been maintained at the local Honda dealership as the PO's son is an employee there, and recently had a remanufactured Honda transmission installed (139K). Overall the car appears to be in good condition with the two major exceptions being it needs tires and there is no record of the timing belt being replaced. The PO was upfront about both issues and with all of the other work that was done at the dealership I am surprised by the TB being neglected.

I have no prior experience with Honda vehicles and I have done some reading online about common issues but would like input from the BITOG community from those who have more experience with this generation of Accord.

I am trying to determine what other items should be replaced as a part of the time belt job. New OE parts will be used for the key components such as the water pump, idler pulley, tensioner roller, camshaft seals, crankshaft seals, and thermostat. I am also planning to replace the other fluids, the coolant, upper and lower radiator hoses, spark plugs, and adjust the valves. What other things should be added to the list? Are there other things I should be looking at as well?

Thanks in advance for the guidance.