Recent Topics
Ammeters?
by buck91. 09/21/18 03:55 PM
Need Help with Double D Knockers
by user52165. 09/21/18 03:41 PM
Opinion needed....
by Duffyjr. 09/21/18 02:56 PM
2017 nissan sentra
by jahwarrior1423. 09/21/18 02:47 PM
I Need A Safe Space- lol
by Zee09. 09/21/18 02:29 PM
Liqui Moly
by dawgn86. 09/21/18 02:10 PM
Valve issues
by kawie_guy. 09/21/18 01:54 PM
2018 Elantra SE
by wolf_06. 09/21/18 01:36 PM
Nasty looking oil filter
by atikovi. 09/21/18 12:43 PM
Laughing hard.
by StevieC. 09/21/18 12:26 PM
Apologies
by Drew99GT. 09/21/18 12:15 PM
Would Like the Manual Transmission to Make a Comeback?
by Speak2Mountain. 09/21/18 11:39 AM
Leaf Mulcher
by kwijibo. 09/21/18 11:32 AM
Pizza dough too crusty
by zorobabel. 09/21/18 11:26 AM
Lubegard Red or Platinum
by diyjake. 09/21/18 11:01 AM
Storing Car Outside
by Delta. 09/21/18 10:47 AM
Looking at a cheap commuter!
by ryan2022. 09/21/18 09:46 AM
Does Your 3.5EB Make Oil
by Gene K. 09/21/18 09:07 AM
Newest Members
JRMFt11, Navyretired, aikwae, ScottRousell, Direct_Rejection
66037 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
98 registered members (astro14c, Bjornviken, andyd, Astro14, Brian553, 12 invisible), 1,860 guests, and 35 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics290,780
Posts4,850,160
Members66,036
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Carrier AC question #4478337
08/03/17 03:50 PM
08/03/17 03:50 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 745
Battle Creek, MI
SVTCobra Offline OP
SVTCobra  Offline OP
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 745
Battle Creek, MI
I'm hoping someone here can help answer my question. Just bought a house with a Carrier Performance air conditioner and Carrier Infinity furnace with an Infinity thermostat. It also has a 3 speed blower motor.

The problem I'm having is when the AC comes on I can't get the fan to run on anything but low speed. I've confirmed that the blower can run at the faster speeds, just not with the AC on.

The only code that comes up is 56, which is a faulty outdoor temperature sensor. The outdoor temperature on the thermostat shows as hot as 200 degrees. I get conflicting info whether that prevents the fan from running anything other than low speed. I just bought a new one and will be installing it, but doubt that will fix the issue.

I've also read that this is how the system is designed, which if it is I'm changing it as on low speed the fan doesn't move the temperature inside the house. I haven't checked freon levels, but the air that does come out is cold.

Any ideas? One of my friends thinks that it is hardwired as such and I need to change it physically on the control board to make it work.


If marriage was outlawed only outlaws would have in-laws.
Re: Carrier AC question [Re: SVTCobra] #4478348
08/03/17 04:05 PM
08/03/17 04:05 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 119
North TEXAS
oldoak2000 Offline
oldoak2000  Offline
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 119
North TEXAS
Originally Posted By: SVTCobra
I'm hoping someone here can help answer my question. Just bought a house with a Carrier Performance air conditioner and Carrier Infinity furnace with an Infinity thermostat. It also has a 3 speed blower motor.

The problem I'm having is when the AC comes on I can't get the fan to run on anything but low speed. I've confirmed that the blower can run at the faster speeds, just not with the AC on.

The only code that comes up is 56, which is a faulty outdoor temperature sensor. The outdoor temperature on the thermostat shows as hot as 200 degrees. I get conflicting info whether that prevents the fan from running anything other than low speed. I just bought a new one and will be installing it, but doubt that will fix the issue.

I've also read that this is how the system is designed, which if it is I'm changing it as on low speed the fan doesn't move the temperature inside the house. I haven't checked freon levels, but the air that does come out is cold.

Any ideas? One of my friends thinks that it is hardwired as such and I need to change it physically on the control board to make it work.




I think that unit has a 2-stage compressor; will probably run on LOWER speed stage most of the time (for HIGHEST efficiency, and best moisture removal).
Low speed will run LONGER; this is NOT a defect, or failure - supposed to work that way.
Also Lower fan speed = better moisture removal (if t-stat has humidity control) while it cools; has it been very humid lately ???

You can probably FORCE the 2nd stage (full) by dropping the temp setting SEVERAL degrees on the thermostat, OR override/disable the humidity setting; this will 'trick' the system that it needs to 'work harder' to 'catch up' ; this mode will of course use MORE AMPS (= less efficient), and NOT do as good of job at humidity removal.

If you outdoor temp sensor is sitting in the sun - or somewhere where the hot air from condenser blows on it, or both - that can cause problems; also if varmints chewed the wiring to it ... or it got soaked with water.

Re: Carrier AC question [Re: SVTCobra] #4478359
08/03/17 04:18 PM
08/03/17 04:18 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 673
Northern California
ediamiam Offline
ediamiam  Offline
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 673
Northern California
If I recall correctly, my old 70's Carrier had dip switches to Control fan speeds depending on whether it was in heat or cool mode

Re: Carrier AC question [Re: SVTCobra] #4478415
08/03/17 05:31 PM
08/03/17 05:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,648
Toronto, Canada
KrisZ Offline
KrisZ  Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,648
Toronto, Canada
Originally Posted By: SVTCobra

Any ideas? One of my friends thinks that it is hardwired as such and I need to change it physically on the control board to make it work.


If, as suggested, dropping the set temperature several degrees doesn't force the second stage and the outside temp. sensor doesn't fix the problem, then I think your friend might be right. Check the board if it was wired correctly to engage the second stage. The thermostat might not be wired correctly either.


2015 Dodge Grand Caravan-27k miles.
2006 Mazda 3-163k miles
Re: Carrier AC question [Re: SVTCobra] #4478417
08/03/17 05:45 PM
08/03/17 05:45 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 745
Battle Creek, MI
SVTCobra Offline OP
SVTCobra  Offline OP
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 745
Battle Creek, MI
Thanks for your responses. The main complaint from my end is that I typically don't turn on the air until I get home and the air conditioner wouldn't catch up till the next day. It's a 3.5 ton unit on a 2400 sq ft house (1/2 of which is a finished basement), so there is the desire to get the fan speed faster.

It is a two speed compressor, but a large temp difference between set and actual hasn't made the fan speed faster (84 actual and 70 set point). The temp sensor is somewhat in the sun in the morning for a brief period, but is underneath a deck and even when completely dark it can read 200 degrees. I checked the resistance with a multimeter and seemed to be within range, but the temperature got wonky again after installation. I will check the wires to the temp sensor as well.


If marriage was outlawed only outlaws would have in-laws.
Re: Carrier AC question [Re: SVTCobra] #4478440
08/03/17 06:22 PM
08/03/17 06:22 PM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 419
Pittsburgh PA USA
Milkman Offline
Milkman  Offline
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 419
Pittsburgh PA USA
Perhaps you should leave the AC on all the time ? Maybe set to 76 degrees during the day. Turn it down when you get home.


2018 Dodge Charger R/T 5.7 Hemi (Mine)
2010 Chevrolet Malibu LT (Hers)

Good cars...

Re: Carrier AC question [Re: SVTCobra] #4478471
08/03/17 07:02 PM
08/03/17 07:02 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
sleddriver Offline
sleddriver  Offline
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
If the blower is a multi-tapped AC motor, you may have to change taps to change speed. Slow speed works for those who rarely change the t-stat. Works lousy for those like yourself.

To change speed on my old unit, I have to remove the metal panel, disconnect the motor wire, connect the other motor wire (2 speed AC motor), then replace the panel.


1998 Volvo V70 T5 228,880 mi. Original Owner.
M1 10W-30 HM
"It's never a mistake to buy tools, defined broadly. They're not a cost, they're an investment." - J.B. Peterson
Re: Carrier AC question [Re: SVTCobra] #4478475
08/03/17 07:09 PM
08/03/17 07:09 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,208
Texas
JustinH Offline
JustinH  Offline
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,208
Texas
Leave the ac on during the summer, no need to turn it on and off.

Just set it at 76 or whatever and keep the windows closed.


'11 Hyundai Sonata GLS
'11 Scion XB
Re: Carrier AC question [Re: SVTCobra] #4478495
08/03/17 07:31 PM
08/03/17 07:31 PM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 911
Florida
laserred96gt Offline
laserred96gt  Offline
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 911
Florida
The infinity systems are 4 wire communicating system, there is no speed taps to change or anything. It has a variable speed blower motor and condenser fan motor I believe. 3.5 ton for a 2400 sq ft house is perhaps a little undersized. Infinity units only operate with their own controller ( thermostat ), if it's not throwing any codes I'd say it's just running on low speed maybe because of low humidity in the house to conserve energy.

Last edited by laserred96gt; 08/03/17 07:32 PM.

96 Mustang GT: Castrol Edge 5w50
04 E-150, 4.6, 226K, PU 10W30.
11 Camry 2.5, 60K, Castrol Edge 0W20.
Re: Carrier AC question [Re: SVTCobra] #4478523
08/03/17 07:55 PM
08/03/17 07:55 PM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 911
Florida
laserred96gt Offline
laserred96gt  Offline
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 911
Florida
Also the OTS may affect the blower speed, they are very sensitive units, I wouldn't recommend them, problems outweigh the savings IMO.


96 Mustang GT: Castrol Edge 5w50
04 E-150, 4.6, 226K, PU 10W30.
11 Camry 2.5, 60K, Castrol Edge 0W20.
Re: Carrier AC question [Re: SVTCobra] #4478559
08/03/17 08:41 PM
08/03/17 08:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,648
Toronto, Canada
KrisZ Offline
KrisZ  Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,648
Toronto, Canada
For those that say the low speed is fine I ask, what's the point of having an expensive multistage AC system and not be able to fully utilize its potential?
I would keep digging until this is fixed, or hire a pro that knows Carrier. On their website you can find authorized installers/service shops.


2015 Dodge Grand Caravan-27k miles.
2006 Mazda 3-163k miles
Re: Carrier AC question [Re: KrisZ] #4478645
08/03/17 10:34 PM
08/03/17 10:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,156
USA
Reddy45 Offline
Reddy45  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,156
USA
Originally Posted By: KrisZ
For those that say the low speed is fine I ask, what's the point of having an expensive multistage AC system and not be able to fully utilize its potential?
I would keep digging until this is fixed, or hire a pro that knows Carrier. On their website you can find authorized installers/service shops.


It's not necessarily that.. but an air conditioner will be most efficient (in terms of perceived effect to the owner) when it runs continuously (rather than cycling on and off). This is why a unit needs to be sized correctly for a home with a Manual J Load Calc, which most HVAC guys don't know how to do.

More often than not, and with improvements in building materials, you end up with oversized units that are so quick at getting the air cold that it turns off early and doesn't run long enough to extract humidity from the air. If you've ever stayed in a cheap motel with one of those in-wall units, you may remember a feeling of "cold and clammy" because often those units have way more tonnage than is needed for a small motel room.

Re: Carrier AC question [Re: Reddy45] #4478668
08/03/17 11:47 PM
08/03/17 11:47 PM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 10,689
Phoenix, AZ
Nick1994 Online content
Nick1994  Online Content
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 10,689
Phoenix, AZ
Originally Posted By: Reddy45

More often than not, and with improvements in building materials, you end up with oversized units that are so quick at getting the air cold that it turns off early and doesn't run long enough to extract humidity from the air.
I always hear that, but what about places like Phoenix where we don't have hardly any humidity? Units are sized at around 400 square feet per ton, so my 1,400 square foot house has a 3-1/2 ton unit. It cools it just fine, doesn't cycle too much and doesn't run for too long.

Is there much of a downside with having an oversized unit in a low humidity area?


2015 Hyundai Sonata 2.4L 84k Mobil 1 AFE 0w30 & OEM
2000 Toyota Camry 2.2L 230k Valvoline 5w30 & Fram Ultra
1996 Jeep Cherokee 4.0L 147k Mobil 1 HM 10w40 & Fram Ultra
Re: Carrier AC question [Re: Reddy45] #4478734
08/04/17 05:51 AM
08/04/17 05:51 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,648
Toronto, Canada
KrisZ Offline
KrisZ  Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,648
Toronto, Canada
Originally Posted By: Reddy45
Originally Posted By: KrisZ
For those that say the low speed is fine I ask, what's the point of having an expensive multistage AC system and not be able to fully utilize its potential?
I would keep digging until this is fixed, or hire a pro that knows Carrier. On their website you can find authorized installers/service shops.


It's not necessarily that.. but an air conditioner will be most efficient (in terms of perceived effect to the owner) when it runs continuously (rather than cycling on and off). This is why a unit needs to be sized correctly for a home with a Manual J Load Calc, which most HVAC guys don't know how to do.

More often than not, and with improvements in building materials, you end up with oversized units that are so quick at getting the air cold that it turns off early and doesn't run long enough to extract humidity from the air. If you've ever stayed in a cheap motel with one of those in-wall units, you may remember a feeling of "cold and clammy" because often those units have way more tonnage than is needed for a small motel room.


I don't think you understand the concept behind multistage AC units. While what you described is true for single stage AC units, that's not how it should work on multistage units.
Multistage units allow exactly the type of usage OP wants, that is to knock down the temperature quickly using the high speed stage and then maintain it using the low speed stage. This saves electricity and controls humidity in a comfortable level . That's the whole point of having such a system.


2015 Dodge Grand Caravan-27k miles.
2006 Mazda 3-163k miles
Re: Carrier AC question [Re: SVTCobra] #4478736
08/04/17 05:55 AM
08/04/17 05:55 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,648
Toronto, Canada
KrisZ Offline
KrisZ  Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,648
Toronto, Canada
I just checked Carrier website, their Performance AC units are single stage, even the 16 seer one. So everything works as it should for OP. He would have to install the Infinity unit in order to take full advantage of that Infinity furnace.

In light of this new info, I would suggest to keep the AC on all the time, just program the thermostat to increase the temp a little bit when no one is home and set it to the desired temp. for the time when family members start coming back.

From their website:
Quote:
Features
STANDARD FEATURES
Up to 16 SEER cooling efficiency
Sound: as low as 72 decibels1
Single-stage operation
Compressor sound blanket
Filter drier system protection from moisture and contaminants
WeatherArmor Ultra™ protection
Non-ozone depleting Puron® refrigerant
10-year parts limited warranty2

Last edited by KrisZ; 08/04/17 05:58 AM.

2015 Dodge Grand Caravan-27k miles.
2006 Mazda 3-163k miles
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™