Recent Topics
Ford 4.6L Durability?
by Auae85
06/20/18 11:00 PM
Mercedes Benz High Mileage Badges
by Snagglefoot
06/20/18 10:46 PM
Lawn Tractor Tire Sealer
by 97K15004WD
06/20/18 10:01 PM
Fireworks Stores
by Warstud
06/20/18 09:36 PM
1994 Ranger fuel tank/frame cleanup & NOS part
by 01rangerxl
06/20/18 09:27 PM
Koreans top J.D. Power qlty; Ford, GM, FCA make strides
by wemay
06/20/18 09:18 PM
How Fast to Run a ZeroTurn Mower
by Gebo
06/20/18 09:10 PM
Bosch 3300 C&P Yamaha FZ-07
by bmwpowere36m3
06/20/18 08:49 PM
My FIL in hospice
by fdcg27
06/20/18 08:41 PM
Spraying Polyurethane
by Texican
06/20/18 08:37 PM
Dehumidifier icing
by Kestas
06/20/18 08:37 PM
Diesel lube in Petrol Engine
by Ducked
06/20/18 07:46 PM
New key programming cost
by 92saturnsl2
06/20/18 07:27 PM
When you help someone and its time to walk away
by RazorsEdge
06/20/18 07:09 PM
Sightly overfilled oil..ok or drain?
by flinter
06/20/18 07:08 PM
Wheel says 50 mph max
by pda1122
06/20/18 06:54 PM
15w40 Maxlife in Motorcycle
by Brian553
06/20/18 06:39 PM
BITOGer in Ottawa/Orleans Canada area ? ...
by Papa Bear
06/20/18 06:36 PM
Old Engine SOUND
by MasterSolenoid
06/20/18 06:06 PM
ProMotive PH 2500 CUT OPEN
by car51
06/20/18 04:54 PM
Newest Members
yamahaboy125, Turboholic, TrpNY, bcj, Ilia
65282 Registered Users
Who's Online
38 registered (bbhero, carviewsonic, Charlie2015, BusyLittleShop, 2015_PSD, 2 invisible), 1013 Guests and 37 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65282 Members
67 Forums
285682 Topics
4767741 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4477824 - 08/02/17 09:50 PM Modem Help for Dummy
99Saturn Offline


Registered: 02/25/13
Posts: 1426
Loc: NY
Hoping someone can help me troubleshoot (limited knowledge on my end so I'm trying to learn). We have optimum for a basic cable package and internet. Message on the bill last month that modem rental fee is going to kick in, $5 a month. In addition I'm getting a "free" upgrade to Optimum 60. Decided to try to buy my own modem route. So, after doing some reading online it seems like one of the recommended modems for Optimum is the ARRIS SB6183. Order one off Amazon. Directions to set up read basically plug in coaxial cable, plug in ethernet, plug in power, might have to register with your service provider (Optimum automatically prompts you and that seems to have went fine). All that's done I have internet but initial load on web pages seems painfully slow compared to what I was used to with the old modem.

I ran (what I'm pretty sure is) a basic speed test and it seems okay:


How would I go about troubleshooting/testing or what could i have done wrong?

Top
#4477828 - 08/02/17 10:01 PM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: 99Saturn]
Danno Offline


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 1990
Loc: Northern Ontario, Canada
Latency seems very high at 193ms. I would look for <20 ms. Not sure on how to trouble shoot that.
_________________________
2016 Sorento SX V6 AWD
2015 KIA RIO SX
2010 Mazda 3 2.0L
2009 Venza V6 AWD
2013 Sonata 2.4L RIP in write-off crash

Top
#4477832 - 08/02/17 10:08 PM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: 99Saturn]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 35856
Loc: Great Lakes
Try running this test:
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest

But I agree, latency seems rather high.

Do you have a router sitting behind this modem? Is it configured properly?
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)

Top
#4477852 - 08/02/17 10:29 PM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: Quattro Pete]
99Saturn Offline


Registered: 02/25/13
Posts: 1426
Loc: NY
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete




Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
But I agree, latency seems rather high.

Do you have a router sitting behind this modem? Is it configured properly?

Do you just mean is there a router in the mix?

Coaxial --> Modem --> Router --> Computer(s) is the setup, but for the above test I unplugged the router. I didn't change anything regarding the router when I plugged in the new modem.

Also I ran the initial quick speed test with the old modem when I was first messing around with the setup:

(No idea what is driving the differences in the speeds, and I only tested once - I only wanted to mention this because of the latency comment.)

Top
#4477899 - 08/03/17 12:28 AM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: 99Saturn]
Colt45ws Offline


Registered: 08/15/06
Posts: 9640
Loc: Central Washington
The bufferbloat is high, and might be causing the percieved lag. IF your request has to wait through a fat buffer in the modem you can have quite a delay. Before I set up my router to counter the modem buffer while uploading a large file my ping would be 2.5 seconds. After countermeasures ping was 250ms during the same large upload..


My bufferbloat is A due to my QoS at the router. Nothing super complicated, Im just limiting my top speeds to 22mbps/1.5mbps instead of my rated 24/2. The modem can never recieve more data than it can send, so its buffer is empty.


Edited by Colt45ws (08/03/17 12:31 AM)
_________________________
-Colton
2002 Ford Crown Vic PI 207k, Ex-Kootenai County, ID Unit #42
Down for engine swap
2003 Ford Crown Vic PI 75k
Castrol EDGE HM 5W30, Fram XG2

Top
#4477902 - 08/03/17 12:42 AM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: 99Saturn]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36441
Loc: Ontario, Canada
As others have said, your latency seems high. Since you eliminated the router from the picture when you ran the test, and both modems show similar latency, I'm guessing it may be ISP-related.

My latency isn't fantastic, but all my traffic runs through a Firepower filter module as well as the integrated firewall, so in that respect it really isn't that bad. You've got none of those things in play, yet have significantly higher latency.

_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
#4477906 - 08/03/17 01:21 AM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: 99Saturn]
SirTanon Online   content


Registered: 06/23/14
Posts: 2157
Loc: Phoenix, Arizona - USA
LOL they couldn't even assign a grade to my speed. Upload came up a bit slow.. must be a line issue with my ISP.

_________________________
2010 Ford Fusion SE - 2.5 liter/6F35 Trans - 257,000mi
2014 Nissan Altima SL - 2.5 liter/CVT - 55,000mi

Top
#4477923 - 08/03/17 03:30 AM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: 99Saturn]
Merkava_4 Offline


Registered: 01/30/07
Posts: 17501
Loc: Clovis, CA
Send the Arris back and get a Motorola MG7550.

Top
#4477958 - 08/03/17 06:48 AM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: Merkava_4]
cpayne5 Offline


Registered: 12/28/05
Posts: 605
Loc: Virginia
Originally Posted By: Merkava_4
Send the Arris back and get a Motorola MG7550.


Why? The 6183 is a highly regarded modem. If it was a 6190, then sure, but the 6183 is a solid modem.

Hey, OP, can you run a tracert from the command line?

>tracert 4.2.2.2

Also, can you post your modem signals? Browse to http://192.168.100.1
You should see a table with Downstream and Upstream bonded channel info.

Top
#4478074 - 08/03/17 09:52 AM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: 99Saturn]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 35856
Loc: Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: 99Saturn
Also I ran the initial quick speed test with the old modem when I was first messing around with the setup:


So, if you switch back to the old modem, all your pages start loading quickly again, despite both modems showing similar (and high) latency? That's strange, indeed. I guess maybe it's not latency but something else that is causing your issues. Maybe your ISP needs to flash your new modem with their own firmware that was specifically written for their service?
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)

Top
#4478096 - 08/03/17 10:30 AM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: Quattro Pete]
99Saturn Offline


Registered: 02/25/13
Posts: 1426
Loc: NY
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Originally Posted By: 99Saturn
Also I ran the initial quick speed test with the old modem when I was first messing around with the setup:


So, if you switch back to the old modem, all your pages start loading quickly again, despite both modems showing similar (and high) latency? That's strange, indeed. I guess maybe it's not latency but something else that is causing your issues. Maybe your ISP needs to flash your new modem with their own firmware that was specifically written for their service?




I at least did not have the slow load time prior to the new modem. I didn't spend much time once I re-hooked the old modem, I just wanted to compare that speed test.

Top
#4478113 - 08/03/17 11:00 AM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: 99Saturn]
cpayne5 Offline


Registered: 12/28/05
Posts: 605
Loc: Virginia
One thing you might try is to reset the modem (there should be an option to do that somewhere in that 192.168 link I posted above). That will force it to pull the config again.

Top
#4478120 - 08/03/17 11:05 AM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: cpayne5]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36441
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: cpayne5
One thing you might try is to reset the modem (there should be an option to do that somewhere in that 192.168 link I posted above). That will force it to pull the config again.


Good suggestion, though with the tests using both modems exhibiting similar latency, I still find that strange.

Also, he hasn't posted a response to your traceroute request yet either, would be interesting to see what that yields.

OP, for the sake of being overly thorough, do you have another computer you can run the test from?
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
#4478123 - 08/03/17 11:08 AM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: cpayne5]
99Saturn Offline


Registered: 02/25/13
Posts: 1426
Loc: NY
Originally Posted By: cpayne5
One thing you might try is to reset the modem (there should be an option to do that somewhere in that 192.168 link I posted above). That will force it to pull the config again.


Thanks I will take a look for that tonight, I'll also post the signals and tracert results once I run it, just won't be home until late today.

Overkill - I do have another computer. You suggesting to run the speed test QP posted the link to above from that one as well?

Top
#4478147 - 08/03/17 11:38 AM Re: Modem Help for Dummy [Re: 99Saturn]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36441
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Yes, just to see if the latency changes in any significant way from another PC.
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >