Electrical - Surge Protectors and Extension Cords

Status
Not open for further replies.
So let me start by stating, I'm not a complete noob. Daisy-chaining, using multiple extension cords or multiple surge protectors, is a
31.gif
. But here's my problem. I live in an older house ('61). The main portion of my house is not properly grounded. The newer, added-on portion of the house is. I rent this house, therefore I do not want to spend the $5-8k to upgrade the electrical equipment. I purchased a pricey new router and don't want it without surge protection. I also wish to hook up a TV, PS4, and a powered external hard drive on the same grounded outlet (these aren't currently grounded and I wish to move them and change that). I have a very good surge protector which has a 6' cord, 14AWG, but it won't quite reach from my closest grounded outlet in a hallway to my living room where I need the surge protection. I am short by about 8 feet.

So my question is, considering the surge protector is built with a 6' 14AWG cord, could I buy a 10' 12AWG extension cord, plug the extension cord into the wall outlet, then plug the surge protector into the extension cord? This would make the weakest link the surge protector (current-wise), and I know it can hold it's own weight plus the load I'm putting on it. I'm just not sure about compromising the surge protection with the extension...

I know the shorter the cord, the better off I'll be, however I may have to go up to 25' on the 12AWG extension cord for availability reasons (even though I really don't want to). But if there is something I'm missing, I'd rather err to the side of safety and abandon this idea. If I have to abandon it, my next best option is running about 100' of various CAT5E ethernet cables across my house, and leaving my TV, PS4 and hard drive ungrounded. That's not exactly ideal either. Any thoughts or input? Thanks in advance!

What would the load be? if under 10 amps it should be fine.. infinitely.