New Bitdefender Free Version

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZeeOSix

$100 site donor 2022
Heads up for anyone in this same situation.

I've been running Bitdefender Free for a couple of years. Got a message from Bitdefender that there was a new improved version available (version 1.0.8.29), so I did the upgrade process.

I'm also running Malwarebyes Premium 3.0 (the full blow, real time version), and Bitdefender had to uninstall my Malwarebyes in order to upgrade itself. I didn't catch it right away thinking it was uninstalling the old Bidefender, so I tried to cancel the uninstall but it wouldn't allow me to so I forced a Windows shutdown. Needless to say, my Malwarebytes was hosed. So I finished installing the new Bitdefender and had to reinstall and re-activate the Malwarebyes Premium 3.0 with my License Key.

Wasn't too bad betting my Malwarebytes back on the computer. I'm assuming Malwarebytes and this new Bitdefender version are still compatible (?). Seem to be so far.

Does that sound normal for Bitdefender wanting to uninstall Malwarebytes to install the new version of Bitdefender, or is Bitdefender "pulling a Microsoft" and just trying to remove the competition so they are the only anti-virus on your computer?

A message? An email or via the app?

You didn't click on some random email link, right?

I'm not saying it's 100% shady, but I've never experienced an av/am/etc uninstalling another. Sounds fishy.

Originally Posted By: gathermewool
A message? An email or via the app?

You didn't click on some random email link, right?

I'm not saying it's 100% shady, but I've never experienced an av/am/etc uninstalling another. Sounds fishy.

Through the Bitdefender application software running on my computer. Their on-line upgrade installation instructions says to remove all other anti-virus software for "compatibility" reasons. I think they are just being overly cautious.