Can you use 0W oils in any car?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a beginner and still new to the site and I've noticed most people are using 0W-40 oils. Mobil says you can use a 0W-30 where 5W-30 and 10W-30 are recommended. Is the same true for 20 and 40? Can you use it in any engine? Thanks

Pretty much.

The first number is how the oil performs in cold weather on a cold start.

The second number is the operating viscosity.

The main thing to look at to see if a motor oil will work well in your engine is to compare the manufacturer recommended HTHS value with the oil you want to use. If you can't find the HTHS value, you can instead look at the Kinematic Viscosity at 100 degC (kv100). To your question, notice the 0w30 oils closely match the 5w30 oils in the same category (i.e., dexos1 category, or A3/B4 category) in HTHS and kv100.

Some engines do call for avoiding "0w" oils, but they are rare. About the only one I can think of is the high-revving Honda S2000 which actually specs 10w30 because the fear is the VII polymers get physically shredded under the extreme conditions, resulting in a loss of viscosity & oil film thickness.

That said, another high revving engine, Indycar engines at 10,000 rpm's, have used off-the-shelf Mobil1 0w40 and Pennzoil SRT 0w40 for some long races. I think they just factor in the loss in viscosity which also frees up horsepower in the later stages of the race. Shredding happens.

My car also says that. I would use it, especially if I lived up north. However, if you are under warranty, you better use what they list in the manual.

Originally Posted By: Nick1994
Pretty much.

The first number is how the oil performs in cold weather on a cold start.

The second number is the operating viscosity.