Pilot shortage

Status
Not open for further replies.
We've spoken about the looming pilot shortage before as well as the push for more cockpit automation. Here is another article on the shortage itself. I still feel that this situation will drive the "pilot assistant" type of automation. But until then, if you can meet the various levels of qualification, the future appears bright for aspiring pilots. Makes you wonder how it got to this point. It isn't all about the Colgan crash and the silliness that followed (the article says both Colgan pilots were 1500+ hour pilots - is that true?).

http://money.cnn.com/2017/07/27/news/companies/pilot-shortage-figures/index.html

I'm a journeyman semi mechanic at UPS. You wouldn't believe what UPS pilots make an hour. I saw in a contract book a captain makes well over $200 an hour.

Pilot shortage talk is horse hockey meant to give senior captains a couple more years (Age 67 or Age 70 is their objective)

Originally Posted By: skyactiv
I'm a journeyman semi mechanic at UPS. You wouldn't believe what UPS pilots make an hour. I saw in a contract book a captain makes well over $200 an hour.

So a pilot 'Captain' working 40 hours a week makes $400K a year...a non-Captain obviously makes less...

Did you know that the average salary given to a member of the Bd. of Directors of a major corporation is $258K a year....this means he/she gets $258K to attend a few meetings a year........he/she may also be on the Bd. of several corporations, collecting an average of $258K annually from each....this is on top of the grossly exorbitant 'retirement 'packages' that these 'executives' receive. This is the 'income inequality' that we often hear about (and despite the rhetoric this inequality grew under the 8 years of the previous administration).....