Need a new riding lawn mower. Recommendations?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ls1mike

$50 Site Donor 2024
Hey all,

Well it happened my beloved 1998 Craftsman LT1000 finally died and at this point it is not worth putting money into.

I am scared off all the new ones. My old mower has a traditional gearbox and I am not sure how I feel about Hydrostatic drive.

So my question to you mower folks at BITOG. What would you buy if you had to mow 2 acres?

I am looking at the John Deere D140 and D160, but I am open to other ones.

My old one was just like this.

Several relatives have the low end John Deere mowers (available at Lowes or HD). I have nothing good to say about the mowers. They do not hold up well, and everything is cheap.

That may also describe any new mower below $2000, but I have no experience with other mowers.

If you have the yard and extra $$, Hustler zero turn for around $2800 are very good.

Originally Posted By: AirgunSavant
What is your max budget?

What he said.

Also, don't fear the hydro. After using one for so many years now, I find myself highly annoyed when I work on and test out older mowers that have the manual. Spending a little more money can be good, as it can get you away from the Tuff Torque K46 (which isn't terrible, just not as tough or long lived) and into a much nicer hydro.

For reference, the Tuff Torque K46 in my Deere L110 has 560 hours on it with one fluid change at around 500 hours. It still works fine.

Once you go zero turn you will never look back. Well worth the money if you have a lot of grass to mow. So much easier and faster than a traditional tractor mower.

Exmark is another good brand.

Exmark Zero turn

Last edited:
I'm with Rat on these. If you have hills- try a Quest Front Steer or Toro clone
The 708 is a nice engine in this range

Originally Posted By: Rat407