Recent Topics
First repair on Jeep
by OVERKILL. 12/10/18 03:06 PM
Eureka vacuum beater bar
by Donald. 12/10/18 03:04 PM
Talk about keeping ones lungs clear
by BMWTurboDzl. 12/10/18 01:50 PM
Notorious Parts
by DoubleWasp. 12/10/18 01:04 PM
2007 Yaris no oil when draining
by Audios. 12/10/18 12:10 PM
Raptor 700- M1 vs. T4
by Torch94. 12/10/18 11:38 AM
Unusual 75W-90 Cold Specs
by badtlc. 12/10/18 10:39 AM
BITOG Mobile Login
by RamFan. 12/10/18 10:20 AM
Rehab cast iron cornbread mold
by bcossa2001. 12/10/18 07:58 AM
Beware Youtube
by SilverFusion2010. 12/10/18 06:35 AM
Where do you normally change your oil?
by ZZman. 12/10/18 04:54 AM
Lowe's - $25 off $25 - YMMV
by tony1679. 12/10/18 04:42 AM
Need advice on Filter choices
by GMguy84. 12/10/18 12:41 AM
Chevron Supreme synthetic oil? What happened?
by Onetor. 12/09/18 11:50 PM
235 50 15
by WiskyBadger. 12/09/18 11:21 PM
Newest Members
ESTEBAN, Torch94, EvilFox, Hawkerpilot05, paintballzero
66642 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
103 registered members (53' Stude, 69GTX, AandPDan, Al, 13 invisible), 2,080 guests, and 33 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics294,878
Posts4,923,616
Members66,642
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Replacing AC capacitor #4468724
07/24/17 07:51 AM
07/24/17 07:51 AM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,008
America
Alfred_B Offline OP
Alfred_B  Offline OP
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,008
America
Hey guys,

I need to replace the 27 year old capacitor on my home AC compressor unit. Unfortunately, the model is no longer manufactured. So I need a direct replacement.

What factors do I need to look for? It's a three blade "Aerovox Z26P4440W" which is an MPP film, 2.5" round can, 440 Volt AC voltage, 40mF capacitance, dual rating section type.

Any ideas?

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468730
07/24/17 07:59 AM
07/24/17 07:59 AM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9,560
Boston, MA
HerrStig Offline
HerrStig  Offline
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9,560
Boston, MA
Try an HVAC shop or a a company with internet service called Digikey, another internet option is Mouser. The unit is probably a standard part.

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468732
07/24/17 08:00 AM
07/24/17 08:00 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 437
TN USA
Crispysea Offline
Crispysea  Offline
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 437
TN USA
As long as the rating is the same, the terminals are the same, and it can physically fit, it will work. I see a matching one on Amazon, so it's a common part. There should be a second rating for the other section, probably 5mF. Is this it?

https://www.amazon.com/MARS-Motors-Armatures-Replacement-Capacitor/dp/B005Y1IDB8

Last edited by Crispysea; 07/24/17 08:05 AM.
Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468735
07/24/17 08:02 AM
07/24/17 08:02 AM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,455
DFW
DBMaster Offline
DBMaster  Offline
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,455
DFW
Actually, it goes even beyond that. You can use a 440V cap in place of a 370V - but not the other way around. You can also use HIGHER capacitance (microfarad) ratings, just not lower. Of course, as stated above, it needs to physically fit in the space.

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468737
07/24/17 08:05 AM
07/24/17 08:05 AM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 7,110
Waco, TX
Linctex Online content
Linctex  Online Content
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 7,110
Waco, TX
Originally Posted By: Alfred_B
27 year old capacitor on my home AC compressor unit.


How did you get your unit to last 27 years?!?!?

10 years is about all they can take in Texas shrug


"The evidence demands a verdict".
(Re:VOA)"it's nearly impossible to actually know the particular additives that are in there at what concentrations."
Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Crispysea] #4468738
07/24/17 08:06 AM
07/24/17 08:06 AM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,008
America
Alfred_B Offline OP
Alfred_B  Offline OP
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,008
America
Originally Posted By: Crispysea
As long as the rating is the same, the terminals are the same, and it can physically fit, it will work. I see a matching one on Home Depot's site, so it's a common part. There should be a second rating for the other section, probably 5mF.


on the label is says 35+5 mF

Is it this one you found on HD?

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Packard-440-V...FD355/204415834

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: DBMaster] #4468740
07/24/17 08:06 AM
07/24/17 08:06 AM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,008
America
Alfred_B Offline OP
Alfred_B  Offline OP
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,008
America
Originally Posted By: DBMaster
Actually, it goes even beyond that. You can use a 440V cap in place of a 370V - but not the other way around. You can also use HIGHER capacitance (microfarad) ratings, just not lower. Of course, as stated above, it needs to physically fit in the space.


Thanks, very good information to have.

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468743
07/24/17 08:07 AM
07/24/17 08:07 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 437
TN USA
Crispysea Offline
Crispysea  Offline
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 437
TN USA
Yes, you're right. It's safe to use higher voltage rated capacitors, but they often cost more. I restore antique radios, and they usually contain at least one can capacitor like this.

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Crispysea] #4468755
07/24/17 08:28 AM
07/24/17 08:28 AM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9,560
Boston, MA
HerrStig Offline
HerrStig  Offline
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9,560
Boston, MA
Originally Posted By: Crispysea
Yes, you're right. It's safe to use higher voltage rated capacitors, but they often cost more. I restore antique radios, and they usually contain at least one can capacitor like this.
I do Drake and Collins, what do you restore?

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: DBMaster] #4468771
07/24/17 08:48 AM
07/24/17 08:48 AM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 394
West Yorkshire, UK
NGRhodes Online content
NGRhodes  Online Content
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 394
West Yorkshire, UK
Originally Posted By: DBMaster
You can also use HIGHER capacitance (microfarad) ratings, just not lower.


It depends where in the circuit the cap is used, what component(s) are draining the cap. E.g. if its for AC rectification generally a bigger cap will do a better job of smoothing, if its for noise suppression you do not want to change the cap value much.

As this is a capacitor normally used as for a motor its important to keep to a close capacitance as to correctly regulate the amount and timing of current to the AC fan and compressor motors.

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468788
07/24/17 08:58 AM
07/24/17 08:58 AM
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 623
MN
ironman_gq Offline
ironman_gq  Offline
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 623
MN
I'm guessing this is the starter cap on the compressor? If that's the case you want to find one with as close to original capacity as possible.

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Linctex] #4468830
07/24/17 09:44 AM
07/24/17 09:44 AM
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 1,418
Minnesota
bioburner Offline
bioburner  Offline
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 1,418
Minnesota


How did you get your unit to last 27 years?!?!?

10 years is about all they can take in Texas shrug [/quote]

If north of the Mason Dixon line it only needs to work a few months a year. I have only needed the AC to pull humidity this summer 5 days. Maybe tomorrow it may get to 85 with good chance of storms so will start the unit to pull water and keep the dogs happy.
My folks have a original install unit that was put in in 1975



97 Ford E350 D,99 F350 dually D
13 Scion Xb
12 Ford Transit Connect
06 Nissan Xterra
03 K1200 BMW
07 Kawasaki KLR650
13 Madass
Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468867
07/24/17 10:39 AM
07/24/17 10:39 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 284
San Diego, California
Jim_Truett Offline
Jim_Truett  Offline
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 284
San Diego, California
Definitely not 40uf. It is a dual section cap with a 35uf section and a 5uf section. 35uf for the compressor, indicated by the terminal that should be labeled Herm (hermetic compressor). The 5uf section is for the condenser fan and should be labeled Fan. The "C" terminal is the common for the two sections. I would run a Titan HD cap. They are made in the USA and good quality. Titan HD


2008 F250 6.4 PowerStroke 49k
2005 Honda Pilot 248k
1963 Nova SS 84k
2015 Civic Si 32k
2013 Mahindra 3016HST 99hrs
Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Jim_Truett] #4469012
07/24/17 01:52 PM
07/24/17 01:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Merkava_4 Offline
Merkava_4  Offline
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Jim_Truett

When the compressor shuts off and won't come back on, that's usually because the capacitor is worn out; correct?

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4469050
07/24/17 02:56 PM
07/24/17 02:56 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,038
Las Vegas
ArrestMeRedZ Offline
ArrestMeRedZ  Offline
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,038
Las Vegas
I had a problem with my AC blowing warm air. The compressor would come on, the AC blew like normal for hot second, then the AC would blow warm air. I went out to the exchanger, figured out quickly the fan wasn't coming on and the compressor was overheating and shutting off. After allowing it to cool down, I had my wife turn it on, then I gave the fan blade a starting assist with a stick. It then worked like normal, so I concluded the exchanger fan motor capacitor was bad.

Ordered another dual capacitor, then took the old one out and tested it after googling the procedure. The fan side was bad, as the simple test with a Volt Ohm meter indicated. This is a smarter test than using a stick, but I never said I was the sharpest tool in the shed.

Here is a good video on testing the capacitor: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PBoOx8YzD_s

Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™