Recent Topics
Ichiro Suzuki retiring from baseball.
by PimTac. 03/22/19 12:40 PM
91 Caprice door wont fully latch...
by columnshift. 03/22/19 12:30 PM
Denso Platinum TT for 2004 Corolla?
by zorobabel. 03/22/19 11:16 AM
What should I run in the 09 rabbit trans
by ram_man. 03/22/19 10:32 AM
Chevy express van for towing
by Fitter30. 03/22/19 10:24 AM
Mobil 1 Filter Clearance - Wal Mart
by sdude2k2000. 03/22/19 10:01 AM
STP VI trans fluid
by acme. 03/22/19 09:37 AM
Increased oil capacity = lower pil temps ?
by SavagePatch. 03/22/19 09:15 AM
2007 Corolla - P0441 and P0455 codes
by Bama. 03/22/19 08:44 AM
Oldmoparguy1
by cjcride. 03/22/19 08:23 AM
Check engine light
by rtrdad. 03/22/19 08:21 AM
Super Tech 5W30 Synthetic With GDI Engine ?
by ChrisD46. 03/22/19 07:00 AM
Venol A.M.G brand
by headoff93. 03/22/19 05:51 AM
Anyone use this oil?
by lawnguy. 03/22/19 05:47 AM
Amalie Elixir Full Synthetic ?
by lawnguy. 03/22/19 02:23 AM
All 2's tomorrow or Saturday
by Marco620. 03/22/19 01:28 AM
Mobil 1 0W-16
by The Critic. 03/22/19 01:06 AM
2007 Escape - TCC solenoid?
by Burks21. 03/21/19 11:52 PM
Ac Delco oil on Rockauto
by WiskyBadger. 03/21/19 11:09 PM
Newest Members
Anton93, FrancescoO, russrie, scottjeffrey, Mowata
67582 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
105 registered members (ArrestMeRedZ, aquariuscsm, acme, 69Torino, allgm59, asand1, 6 invisible), 2,037 guests, and 61 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics286,236
Posts4,904,920
Members67,582
Most Online2,967
Mar 10th, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Replacing AC capacitor #4468724
07/24/17 08:51 AM
07/24/17 08:51 AM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,151
America
Alfred_B Offline OP
Alfred_B  Offline OP

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,151
America
Hey guys,

I need to replace the 27 year old capacitor on my home AC compressor unit. Unfortunately, the model is no longer manufactured. So I need a direct replacement.

What factors do I need to look for? It's a three blade "Aerovox Z26P4440W" which is an MPP film, 2.5" round can, 440 Volt AC voltage, 40mF capacitance, dual rating section type.

Any ideas?

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468730
07/24/17 08:59 AM
07/24/17 08:59 AM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9,560
Boston, MA
HerrStig Offline
HerrStig  Offline

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9,560
Boston, MA
Try an HVAC shop or a a company with internet service called Digikey, another internet option is Mouser. The unit is probably a standard part.

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468732
07/24/17 09:00 AM
07/24/17 09:00 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 443
TN USA
Crispysea Offline
Crispysea  Offline

Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 443
TN USA
As long as the rating is the same, the terminals are the same, and it can physically fit, it will work. I see a matching one on Amazon, so it's a common part. There should be a second rating for the other section, probably 5mF. Is this it?

https://www.amazon.com/MARS-Motors-Armatures-Replacement-Capacitor/dp/B005Y1IDB8

Last edited by Crispysea; 07/24/17 09:05 AM.
Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468735
07/24/17 09:02 AM
07/24/17 09:02 AM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,523
DFW
DBMaster Online content
DBMaster  Online Content

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,523
DFW
Actually, it goes even beyond that. You can use a 440V cap in place of a 370V - but not the other way around. You can also use HIGHER capacitance (microfarad) ratings, just not lower. Of course, as stated above, it needs to physically fit in the space.

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468737
07/24/17 09:05 AM
07/24/17 09:05 AM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 8,017
Waco, TX
Linctex Offline
Linctex  Offline

Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 8,017
Waco, TX
Originally Posted By: Alfred_B
27 year old capacitor on my home AC compressor unit.


How did you get your unit to last 27 years?!?!?

10 years is about all they can take in Texas shrug


"The evidence demands a verdict".
(Re:VOA)"it's nearly impossible to actually know the particular additives that are in there at what concentrations."
Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Crispysea] #4468738
07/24/17 09:06 AM
07/24/17 09:06 AM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,151
America
Alfred_B Offline OP
Alfred_B  Offline OP

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,151
America
Originally Posted By: Crispysea
As long as the rating is the same, the terminals are the same, and it can physically fit, it will work. I see a matching one on Home Depot's site, so it's a common part. There should be a second rating for the other section, probably 5mF.


on the label is says 35+5 mF

Is it this one you found on HD?

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Packard-440-V...FD355/204415834

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: DBMaster] #4468740
07/24/17 09:06 AM
07/24/17 09:06 AM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,151
America
Alfred_B Offline OP
Alfred_B  Offline OP

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,151
America
Originally Posted By: DBMaster
Actually, it goes even beyond that. You can use a 440V cap in place of a 370V - but not the other way around. You can also use HIGHER capacitance (microfarad) ratings, just not lower. Of course, as stated above, it needs to physically fit in the space.


Thanks, very good information to have.

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468743
07/24/17 09:07 AM
07/24/17 09:07 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 443
TN USA
Crispysea Offline
Crispysea  Offline

Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 443
TN USA
Yes, you're right. It's safe to use higher voltage rated capacitors, but they often cost more. I restore antique radios, and they usually contain at least one can capacitor like this.

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Crispysea] #4468755
07/24/17 09:28 AM
07/24/17 09:28 AM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9,560
Boston, MA
HerrStig Offline
HerrStig  Offline

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9,560
Boston, MA
Originally Posted By: Crispysea
Yes, you're right. It's safe to use higher voltage rated capacitors, but they often cost more. I restore antique radios, and they usually contain at least one can capacitor like this.
I do Drake and Collins, what do you restore?

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: DBMaster] #4468771
07/24/17 09:48 AM
07/24/17 09:48 AM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 403
West Yorkshire, UK
NGRhodes Offline
NGRhodes  Offline

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 403
West Yorkshire, UK
Originally Posted By: DBMaster
You can also use HIGHER capacitance (microfarad) ratings, just not lower.


It depends where in the circuit the cap is used, what component(s) are draining the cap. E.g. if its for AC rectification generally a bigger cap will do a better job of smoothing, if its for noise suppression you do not want to change the cap value much.

As this is a capacitor normally used as for a motor its important to keep to a close capacitance as to correctly regulate the amount and timing of current to the AC fan and compressor motors.

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468788
07/24/17 09:58 AM
07/24/17 09:58 AM
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 637
MN
ironman_gq Offline
ironman_gq  Offline

Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 637
MN
I'm guessing this is the starter cap on the compressor? If that's the case you want to find one with as close to original capacity as possible.

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Linctex] #4468830
07/24/17 10:44 AM
07/24/17 10:44 AM
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 1,418
Minnesota
bioburner Offline
bioburner  Offline

Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 1,418
Minnesota


How did you get your unit to last 27 years?!?!?

10 years is about all they can take in Texas shrug [/quote]

If north of the Mason Dixon line it only needs to work a few months a year. I have only needed the AC to pull humidity this summer 5 days. Maybe tomorrow it may get to 85 with good chance of storms so will start the unit to pull water and keep the dogs happy.
My folks have a original install unit that was put in in 1975



97 Ford E350 D,99 F350 dually D
13 Scion Xb
12 Ford Transit Connect
06 Nissan Xterra
03 K1200 BMW
07 Kawasaki KLR650
13 Madass
Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4468867
07/24/17 11:39 AM
07/24/17 11:39 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 290
San Diego, California
Jim_Truett Offline
Jim_Truett  Offline

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 290
San Diego, California
Definitely not 40uf. It is a dual section cap with a 35uf section and a 5uf section. 35uf for the compressor, indicated by the terminal that should be labeled Herm (hermetic compressor). The 5uf section is for the condenser fan and should be labeled Fan. The "C" terminal is the common for the two sections. I would run a Titan HD cap. They are made in the USA and good quality. Titan HD


2008 F250 6.4 PowerStroke 51k
2005 Honda Pilot 249k
1963 Nova SS 84k
2008 GMC Yukon Denali 182k
2013 Mahindra 3016HST 108hrs
Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Jim_Truett] #4469012
07/24/17 02:52 PM
07/24/17 02:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Merkava_4 Offline
Merkava_4  Offline

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Jim_Truett

When the compressor shuts off and won't come back on, that's usually because the capacitor is worn out; correct?

Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B] #4469050
07/24/17 03:56 PM
07/24/17 03:56 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,076
Las Vegas
ArrestMeRedZ Online content
ArrestMeRedZ  Online Content

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,076
Las Vegas
I had a problem with my AC blowing warm air. The compressor would come on, the AC blew like normal for hot second, then the AC would blow warm air. I went out to the exchanger, figured out quickly the fan wasn't coming on and the compressor was overheating and shutting off. After allowing it to cool down, I had my wife turn it on, then I gave the fan blade a starting assist with a stick. It then worked like normal, so I concluded the exchanger fan motor capacitor was bad.

Ordered another dual capacitor, then took the old one out and tested it after googling the procedure. The fan side was bad, as the simple test with a Volt Ohm meter indicated. This is a smarter test than using a stick, but I never said I was the sharpest tool in the shed.

Here is a good video on testing the capacitor: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PBoOx8YzD_s

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™