Recent Topics
As close to blowing out as you can get
by wwillson
06/20/18 06:04 AM
changing tranny filter
by Dennisistheman
06/20/18 06:04 AM
From small things...
by Silk
06/20/18 05:57 AM
Anyone signing up for the Space Force
by Shannow
06/20/18 03:58 AM
Pennzoil Platinum at Walmart
by TheLawnRanger
06/19/18 11:21 PM
Mopar OEM and Fram Ultra Oil filters, '18 Jeep JL
by IndyFan
06/19/18 10:45 PM
What’s the odds..
by Eric Smith
06/19/18 09:51 PM
Who can relate?
by Reddy45
06/19/18 09:43 PM
No more oil changes
by goodtimes
06/19/18 09:19 PM
Separating toddlers from their parents?
by fdcg27
06/19/18 08:50 PM
gm 8.6 truetrac
by Spitter
06/19/18 08:45 PM
New addition to my garage: 2000 Corvette FRC
by MrHorspwer
06/19/18 08:34 PM
Rockauto 5% off
by Spitter
06/19/18 08:32 PM
fumoto oil valve
by Santo
06/19/18 08:19 PM
Grand solar minimum...
by ridgerunner
06/19/18 07:57 PM
Pentofrost coolant $10 Autozone
by PD001
06/19/18 07:49 PM
The things you find cleaning Garage 30+ btls slob
by digger327
06/19/18 07:20 PM
Castrol GTX Magantec 0w20 - 6 pack $21.99 - Amazon
by 04SE
06/19/18 07:07 PM
Havoline Pro DS 5w20 $3.15/quart - Amazon
by 04SE
06/19/18 07:06 PM
Needing New Dipstick
by Geauxtiger
06/19/18 05:11 PM
Newest Members
battleman13, Shassis, Santo, aligoodn, memyself
65275 Registered Users
Who's Online
59 registered (Bottom_Feeder, Boomer, BoiseBound, alarmguy, 77GrandPrix, 6 invisible), 944 Guests and 41 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65275 Members
67 Forums
285633 Topics
4766718 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4468724 - 07/24/17 08:51 AM Replacing AC capacitor
Alfred_B Offline


Registered: 05/12/15
Posts: 1968
Loc: America
Hey guys,

I need to replace the 27 year old capacitor on my home AC compressor unit. Unfortunately, the model is no longer manufactured. So I need a direct replacement.

What factors do I need to look for? It's a three blade "Aerovox Z26P4440W" which is an MPP film, 2.5" round can, 440 Volt AC voltage, 40mF capacitance, dual rating section type.

Any ideas?

Top
#4468730 - 07/24/17 08:59 AM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B]
HerrStig Offline


Registered: 08/24/11
Posts: 9560
Loc: Boston, MA
Try an HVAC shop or a a company with internet service called Digikey, another internet option is Mouser. The unit is probably a standard part.

Top
#4468732 - 07/24/17 09:00 AM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B]
Crispysea Offline


Registered: 04/14/17
Posts: 402
Loc: TN USA
As long as the rating is the same, the terminals are the same, and it can physically fit, it will work. I see a matching one on Amazon, so it's a common part. There should be a second rating for the other section, probably 5mF. Is this it?

https://www.amazon.com/MARS-Motors-Armatures-Replacement-Capacitor/dp/B005Y1IDB8


Edited by Crispysea (07/24/17 09:05 AM)

Top
#4468735 - 07/24/17 09:02 AM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B]
DBMaster Offline


Registered: 09/18/12
Posts: 5322
Loc: DFW
Actually, it goes even beyond that. You can use a 440V cap in place of a 370V - but not the other way around. You can also use HIGHER capacitance (microfarad) ratings, just not lower. Of course, as stated above, it needs to physically fit in the space.

Top
#4468737 - 07/24/17 09:05 AM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B]
Linctex Offline


Registered: 12/31/16
Posts: 6148
Loc: Waco, TX
Originally Posted By: Alfred_B
27 year old capacitor on my home AC compressor unit.


How did you get your unit to last 27 years?!?!?

10 years is about all they can take in Texas shrug
_________________________
"The evidence demands a verdict".
(Re:VOA)"it's nearly impossible to actually know the particular additives that are in there at what concentrations."

Top
#4468738 - 07/24/17 09:06 AM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Crispysea]
Alfred_B Offline


Registered: 05/12/15
Posts: 1968
Loc: America
Originally Posted By: Crispysea
As long as the rating is the same, the terminals are the same, and it can physically fit, it will work. I see a matching one on Home Depot's site, so it's a common part. There should be a second rating for the other section, probably 5mF.


on the label is says 35+5 mF

Is it this one you found on HD?

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Packard-440-V...FD355/204415834

Top
#4468740 - 07/24/17 09:06 AM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: DBMaster]
Alfred_B Offline


Registered: 05/12/15
Posts: 1968
Loc: America
Originally Posted By: DBMaster
Actually, it goes even beyond that. You can use a 440V cap in place of a 370V - but not the other way around. You can also use HIGHER capacitance (microfarad) ratings, just not lower. Of course, as stated above, it needs to physically fit in the space.


Thanks, very good information to have.

Top
#4468743 - 07/24/17 09:07 AM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B]
Crispysea Offline


Registered: 04/14/17
Posts: 402
Loc: TN USA
Yes, you're right. It's safe to use higher voltage rated capacitors, but they often cost more. I restore antique radios, and they usually contain at least one can capacitor like this.

Top
#4468755 - 07/24/17 09:28 AM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Crispysea]
HerrStig Offline


Registered: 08/24/11
Posts: 9560
Loc: Boston, MA
Originally Posted By: Crispysea
Yes, you're right. It's safe to use higher voltage rated capacitors, but they often cost more. I restore antique radios, and they usually contain at least one can capacitor like this.
I do Drake and Collins, what do you restore?

Top
#4468771 - 07/24/17 09:48 AM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: DBMaster]
NGRhodes Offline


Registered: 01/06/13
Posts: 326
Loc: West Yorkshire, UK
Originally Posted By: DBMaster
You can also use HIGHER capacitance (microfarad) ratings, just not lower.


It depends where in the circuit the cap is used, what component(s) are draining the cap. E.g. if its for AC rectification generally a bigger cap will do a better job of smoothing, if its for noise suppression you do not want to change the cap value much.

As this is a capacitor normally used as for a motor its important to keep to a close capacitance as to correctly regulate the amount and timing of current to the AC fan and compressor motors.

Top
#4468788 - 07/24/17 09:58 AM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B]
ironman_gq Offline


Registered: 04/30/14
Posts: 604
Loc: MN
I'm guessing this is the starter cap on the compressor? If that's the case you want to find one with as close to original capacity as possible.

Top
#4468830 - 07/24/17 10:44 AM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Linctex]
bioburner Offline


Registered: 09/19/16
Posts: 1418
Loc: Minnesota


How did you get your unit to last 27 years?!?!?

10 years is about all they can take in Texas shrug [/quote]

If north of the Mason Dixon line it only needs to work a few months a year. I have only needed the AC to pull humidity this summer 5 days. Maybe tomorrow it may get to 85 with good chance of storms so will start the unit to pull water and keep the dogs happy.
My folks have a original install unit that was put in in 1975
_________________________

97 Ford E350 D,99 F350 dually D
13 Scion Xb
12 Ford Transit Connect
06 Nissan Xterra
03 K1200 BMW
07 Kawasaki KLR650
13 Madass

Top
#4468867 - 07/24/17 11:39 AM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B]
Jim_Truett Offline


Registered: 01/07/09
Posts: 277
Loc: San Diego, California
Definitely not 40uf. It is a dual section cap with a 35uf section and a 5uf section. 35uf for the compressor, indicated by the terminal that should be labeled Herm (hermetic compressor). The 5uf section is for the condenser fan and should be labeled Fan. The "C" terminal is the common for the two sections. I would run a Titan HD cap. They are made in the USA and good quality. Titan HD
_________________________
2008 F250 6.4 PowerStroke 43k
2005 Honda CR-V 193k
2005 Honda Pilot 235k
1963 Nova SS 84k
2015 Civic Si 23k
2013 Mahindra 3016HST 99hrs

Top
#4469012 - 07/24/17 02:52 PM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Jim_Truett]
Merkava_4 Offline


Registered: 01/30/07
Posts: 17501
Loc: Clovis, CA
Jim_Truett

When the compressor shuts off and won't come back on, that's usually because the capacitor is worn out; correct?

Top
#4469050 - 07/24/17 03:56 PM Re: Replacing AC capacitor [Re: Alfred_B]
ArrestMeRedZ Offline


Registered: 11/11/08
Posts: 931
Loc: Las Vegas
I had a problem with my AC blowing warm air. The compressor would come on, the AC blew like normal for hot second, then the AC would blow warm air. I went out to the exchanger, figured out quickly the fan wasn't coming on and the compressor was overheating and shutting off. After allowing it to cool down, I had my wife turn it on, then I gave the fan blade a starting assist with a stick. It then worked like normal, so I concluded the exchanger fan motor capacitor was bad.

Ordered another dual capacitor, then took the old one out and tested it after googling the procedure. The fan side was bad, as the simple test with a Volt Ohm meter indicated. This is a smarter test than using a stick, but I never said I was the sharpest tool in the shed.

Here is a good video on testing the capacitor: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PBoOx8YzD_s

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >