Recent Topics
Which is more important for low wear HTHS or ZDDP?
by Building3
3 minutes 36 seconds ago
Valvoline DuraBlend 80W-90
by dogememe
10 minutes 8 seconds ago
Lifter Tick
by Delta
16 minutes 21 seconds ago
I Got Locked Up Today
by Zee09
20 minutes 24 seconds ago
GM new 2.7 turbo pick up motor
by ZZman
59 minutes 10 seconds ago
PUP at Canadian Tire $33 CAN
by Snagglefoot
Today at 09:15 AM
How to use up a case of SF?
by atikovi
Today at 09:08 AM
Read The Fine Print- Credit Cards
by Zee09
Today at 09:06 AM
Employer Exit Interview.
by JustinH
Today at 08:53 AM
Ceratec vs. Archoil 9100
by Phishin
Today at 08:49 AM
Acclaim radiator ?
by urrlord
Today at 08:47 AM
Understanding Idle Control Circuit
by artbuc
Today at 07:59 AM
Annual drain on Mobil1 5w20 high mileage?
by ryan2022
Today at 07:36 AM
Best Oil For Late Model Toyota V6 Engines ?
by ChrisD46
Today at 06:58 AM
Ford 4.6L Durability?
by Auae85
Yesterday at 11:00 PM
Mercedes Benz High Mileage Badges
by Snagglefoot
Yesterday at 10:46 PM
Lawn Tractor Tire Sealer
by 97K15004WD
Yesterday at 10:01 PM
Fireworks Stores
by Warstud
Yesterday at 09:36 PM
1994 Ranger fuel tank/frame cleanup & NOS part
by 01rangerxl
Yesterday at 09:27 PM
Koreans top J.D. Power qlty; Ford, GM, FCA make strides
by wemay
Yesterday at 09:18 PM
Newest Members
wil892, Spddm0n, ronw1309, Suth31, yamahaboy125
65286 Registered Users
Who's Online
93 registered (2015_PSD, 4WD, aquariuscsm, 28oz, andyd, Amenhotep, 8 invisible), 1490 Guests and 81 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65286 Members
67 Forums
285698 Topics
4768115 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#4465099 - 07/20/17 03:41 PM Charging Compressor with AC Pro
bradtech Offline


Registered: 03/10/17
Posts: 80
Loc: OK, USA
Anyone had any experience with this stuff from Walmart? AC Pro Professional Formula Refrigerant


https://www.walmart.com/ip/AC-Pro-Profes...13=&veh=sem

Truck has been converted over to in past R134-a and grabbed a use compressor from salvage yard that has 90 warranty. Getting it charged elsewhere seems to be up to $100
_________________________
17 Chevrolet Malibu 3k 5w30 AC Delco Full Syn
08 Hyundai Santa Fe 78k 5w20 GTX HM OEM Filter
93 Chevy S10 203k 10w30 GTX HM ACDELCO PF52E Filter

Top
#4465107 - 07/20/17 03:47 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: bradtech]
Reddy45 Offline


Registered: 08/15/08
Posts: 2968
Loc: USA
You have a leak if the refrigerant level isn't remaining the same year after year...

Top
#4465109 - 07/20/17 03:48 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: Reddy45]
bradtech Offline


Registered: 03/10/17
Posts: 80
Loc: OK, USA
Yeah, I got a used compressor to put on. Don't have gauges. Was curious if this stuff was sufficient to put in with builtin gauge.

Originally Posted By: Reddy45
You have a leak if the refrigerant level isn't remaining the same year after year...
_________________________
17 Chevrolet Malibu 3k 5w30 AC Delco Full Syn
08 Hyundai Santa Fe 78k 5w20 GTX HM OEM Filter
93 Chevy S10 203k 10w30 GTX HM ACDELCO PF52E Filter

Top
#4465110 - 07/20/17 03:50 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: bradtech]
JC1 Offline


Registered: 11/29/08
Posts: 3003
Loc: Oshawa, Ontario Canada
I haven't used that brand, but I prefer to use a manifold set like the ones from Harbor freight and buy the small cans of R134a.

https://m.harborfreight.com/ac-r134a-manifold-gauge-set-60806.html?utm_referrer=direct%2Fnot%20provided

That manifold set will let you get a more accurate reading of the high and low pressures and the hoses are longer which sometimes you need. I had a 98 sienna and the low side port was back near the firewall and with a small hose you always risked burning yourself even with coveralls on. As you had to lean over the engine.

Last time I bought r134a I was able to get the small cans from Big Lots for around $5 a can.
_________________________
2015 Grand Caravan SXT Plus 5w-20 PPPP/Wix Filter
1997 Honda Civic CX 5w-30 PPPP/Mahle Filter

Top
#4465111 - 07/20/17 03:51 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: bradtech]
wtd Offline


Registered: 06/25/02
Posts: 1915
Loc: southwest Mo.
Don't use anything that has a sealer in it. Just straight R134. That stuff says it seals leaks so I would not use it. Using a can like that is also not the correct way to recharge an AC system. It needs to be vacuumed down to boil the moisture out and to see if you have a leak somewhere. You then charge into the vacuum created by the vacuum pump with the correct amount of refrigerant.

Wayne
_________________________
2014 Mustang GT
1998 Chevy K3500
1998 Chevy K1500
(2) 1992 Cavaliers
1970 Monte Carlo

Top
#4465115 - 07/20/17 03:52 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: bradtech]
mclasser Offline


Registered: 04/13/13
Posts: 2229
Loc: The Northeast
+1 on avoiding any stuff with stop leak in it.
_________________________
2018 Hyundai Elantra VE -- 3K
2013 Honda Pilot EX-L 4WD -- 55K
2002 Honda Accord EX-L -- 210K


Top
#4465119 - 07/20/17 03:55 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: bradtech]
cpayne5 Offline


Registered: 12/28/05
Posts: 605
Loc: Virginia
In my area, WalMart has their Supertech branded 12oz r134a on shelves for under $5/can. I'd use that over the more expensive A/C Pro. Use the savings to buy a set of gauges. smile

The gauges are helpful for when you pull a vacuum too (can see if the system holds...).

Top
#4465136 - 07/20/17 04:11 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: bradtech]
DerbyDave Offline


Registered: 10/27/15
Posts: 218
Loc: KS
Did your old compressor fail? Did you flush the system before putting on the used replacement? What about replacing the filter drier? Are you planning on pulling a vacuum before you charge the system? If you don't do this stuff it won't matter how you charge the system or what product you use.
_________________________
1997 Ford Taurus
2007 Honda Ridgeline
2003 Suzuki GZ250
1986 Suzuki Cavalcade
2014 Nissan LEAF (Gone)

Top
#4465146 - 07/20/17 04:17 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: bradtech]
JimPghPA Offline


Registered: 08/22/09
Posts: 3859
Loc: Pittsburgh,PA U.S.A.
When you opened the system to install the new to you compressor you completely lost the old refrigerant charge and also let air into the system. After you install the new to you compressor the system has to be pumped down with a vacuum pump before it can be charged with new refrigerant. And the amount of refrigerant needed to charge your completely empty system is way more than you get from only one can of AC Pro. It is best to charge a completely empty system using gauges that let you see what the high side and low side pressures are.

In short, you really should take it to someone who works on vehicle AC systems for a living because they will have a vacuum pump to vacuum out all the air (and any moisture that is in that air) and they will know how to charge a system.
_________________________
Boy will I be happy when ALL vehicles on public roads are autonomous.


JimPghPa


Top
#4465153 - 07/20/17 04:21 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: bradtech]
JimPghPA Offline


Registered: 08/22/09
Posts: 3859
Loc: Pittsburgh,PA U.S.A.
AC Pro is meant to be used to top off a system that has lost some its charge due to a very small leak. It is not anywhere near enough to charge a completely empty system, and you have to pull a vacuum on the system with a vacuum pump to get all the air and moisture out of the system before you can charge it.
_________________________
Boy will I be happy when ALL vehicles on public roads are autonomous.


JimPghPa


Top
#4465156 - 07/20/17 04:23 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: DerbyDave]
Linctex Offline


Registered: 12/31/16
Posts: 6148
Loc: Waco, TX
Originally Posted By: DerbyDave
Did your old compressor fail? Did you flush the system before putting on the used replacement? What about replacing the filter drier? Are you planning on pulling a vacuum before you charge the system? If you don't do this stuff it won't matter how you charge the system or what product you use.


+ 100 !!!!!!
_________________________
"The evidence demands a verdict".
(Re:VOA)"it's nearly impossible to actually know the particular additives that are in there at what concentrations."

Top
#4465182 - 07/20/17 04:42 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: bradtech]
JMJNet Offline


Registered: 09/06/07
Posts: 934
Loc: TX, USA
Did you pull the vacuum in the AC system yet?
If not, you need to do it first regardless of the gauge used.

For this you need either a vacuum pump or a compressor and a venturi pump.

When the system can hold the vacuum for at least a couple of hours after pulling the vacuum, then you can charge it.


Edited by JMJNet (07/20/17 04:43 PM)
_________________________
  • 2017 Toyota Sienna
  • 1995 GMC Suburban 6.5L Turbo Diesel



Top
#4465189 - 07/20/17 04:54 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: bradtech]
Tman220 Offline


Registered: 09/20/16
Posts: 144
Loc: MN
If the vehicle has a variable displacement compressor the gauges really only serve as a reference and an apparatus for pulling the vacuum and adding the refrigerant.

Its more important to add refrigerant from empty by the weight listed as its total capacity. The system will adjust displacement of the compressor in order obtain about 35-39 PSI on the low side, therefore adding refrigerant based on pressure shown on the gauges is almost meaningless once the system reaches a point where it can maintain the set pressure on the low side.

with a set displacement compressor you'll have to look up what the best practices are for that application. For example, charging to specific high and/or low side pressures with the AC on high, on an 85 degree day, with the radiator fan on high, engine RPM at X,XXX, etc.
_________________________
2012 Regal GS Turbo PP 5w30
1994 Camaro Z28 LT1 355 CI, 430 RWHP PP 5W30

Top
#4465257 - 07/20/17 05:56 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: bradtech]
L_Sludger Offline


Registered: 10/04/09
Posts: 3947
Loc: Ohio
Professionals don't use stop leak stuff.
Professionals charge an arm and a leg to find a leak, fix it using $.25 O-ring seals, and then recharge with straight up, cheap formula R134a.
_________________________
too many cars and oil combinations to list in 150 characters or less

Top
#4465319 - 07/20/17 06:45 PM Re: Charging Compressor with AC Pro [Re: bradtech]
nthach Offline


Registered: 01/02/04
Posts: 3895
Loc: California
Use that AC Pro stuff only if the car is on its last legs or if fixing the AC the right way is too expensive. I doubt a 1993 S-10 has a variable displacement compressor, it probably uses an old school Harrison R4 compressor or similar.

You need to pull a vacuum to evacuate the system and boil off any residual moisture - AZ rents out pumps last time I checked and it should be charged by weight ideally. The best DIYers can do is charge according to pressure and get close enough.

Flushing the system, replacing the orifice tube and accumulator aren't a bad idea, the former is highly recommended. Did the compressor fail? Parts for older GM systems aren't terribly expensive.

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >